Bad CycloDS Black...What to do?

Discussion in 'CycloDS' started by Zeropoint, Jan 24, 2008.

Jan 24, 2008
  1. Zeropoint
    OP

    Newcomer Zeropoint Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    Canada
    I bought two of the CycloDS Black and one of them is not quite good.

    Overall it seems to need a little more force when I'm putting it into the DS.
    And the microSD need ALOT more force to insert and remove.

    It seems to work fine but I could swear it's a bit slower than the good one.
    I don't really know how to measure it.

    I'm just wondering how I should go about exchanging it?
    Should I go through CycloDS or Mod Central (where I bought it).
     
  2. retiredjerk

    Member retiredjerk GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Messages:
    251
    Country:
    modcentral of course.
     
  3. Zeropoint
    OP

    Newcomer Zeropoint Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    Canada
    Thanks, was just wondering who was best to go through first. Most posts I've read had people going through Cyclo team.
     
  4. Avenger

    Member Avenger GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2007
    Messages:
    103
    Location:
    Oakville & Toronto, Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    Not sure if it is really defective - do games run fine? Does Castlevania play fine on one and not the other using the same mem card? Sounds like it is just a tighter fit, not really something consolesource should have to take care of for you, as it DOES function.
     
  5. Spikey

    Member Spikey Your Special Someone

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,284
    Country:
    United States
    consolesource? a bit confused, are you? he was talking about modcentral
     
  6. MadBob

    Member MadBob Nostalgia ain't what it used to be!

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    1,530
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If you return it they will test it, find it works and send it back to you.
     
  7. Zeropoint
    OP

    Newcomer Zeropoint Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    Canada
    Yes it is not totally broken but I'm more worried at the force required when removing the microSD.

    I really really need to dig my nails into it to get it out. Enough force that I am worried about damaging the card.

    Also I've realized the slowness is just in the write speed. Read speed is fine.
    When saving games or using a clean microSD, the speed is about 5 times slower or more than my M3 Simply.

    Anyway, I ask ModCentral and see how it goes.
     
  8. Avenger

    Member Avenger GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2007
    Messages:
    103
    Location:
    Oakville & Toronto, Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    Yes, I was confused and accidentally typed the wrong reseller, but regardless I doubt they will replace it based on the fact it does perform as advertised. Keep us updated!
     
  9. Zeropoint
    OP

    Newcomer Zeropoint Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    Canada
    Yeah I'll see how it goes though and update the thread with the response.
     
  10. Zeropoint
    OP

    Newcomer Zeropoint Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    Canada
    Well here's the update: They took it back and sent me a new one and it works perfectly!!

    Kudos to ModCentral!!

    I paid for shipping to them though but that's no biggie in my opinion.
     
  11. c2ironfist

    Member c2ironfist GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    308
    Country:
    Canada
    congrats on the replacement though I have a hard time believing one lags and the other one doesn't?

    Can you explain how this is done?

    a few things I want to ask.

    Did you use the same microSD on both flashcards?
    Did you flash the cycloDS with the same firmware?

    That is all for now awaits response [​IMG]
     
  12. Zeropoint
    OP

    Newcomer Zeropoint Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    Canada
    I'm no expert but the lags seemed to only happen when writing. Reading and running the games was okay.

    How it is done?! Not sure but I assume the problem was related to other problem of the SD card being hard to insert/remove.
    ie. the card probably was not making proper contact.

    I tested with 2 microSD Kingston (2GB, Japan) cards.
    Both cards have been working fine in my M3 Simply since I got them.

    I didn't flash the CycloDS with updated firmware. Both had the stock firmware v1.2 installed.

    I'm just glad they did the exchange [​IMG] And if they didn't, well I would not have complained.
     
  13. c2ironfist

    Member c2ironfist GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    308
    Country:
    Canada
    oh I see cool I'm going to look into that now on my CycloDS lol... just to make sure [​IMG]

    Thanks for the info
     
  14. c2ironfist

    Member c2ironfist GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    308
    Country:
    Canada
    I forgot to mention I thought my CycloDS was defective at one point.. I bought my 2nd one and it was really slow on boot and loading at first but only on the first time though. The 2nd boot up is faster with less loading.

    It has something to do with how the CycloDS sets up their files.
     

Share This Page