Gaming Are there any games that NEED to be installed to play?

The_Hulkster

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 25, 2008
Messages
306
Trophies
1
XP
1,445
Country
Hey there!

Well, with the current ban wave there are obviously some set backs when banned eventually.

One of these is the inability to install games to your xbox HDD.
Now, I was wondering if there are any games out there that need to be installed to the HDD for them to be able to work?
Like game expansions on the second disc that sometimes come with a GOTY edition of some sort.

In other words, are there any games that you can't play anymore because of the HDD install option not functioning anymore?
Might be a good thing to know.

Thank you for taking the time to read this and perhaps reply!
 

Joe88

[λ]
Global Moderator
Joined
Jan 6, 2008
Messages
12,734
Trophies
2
Age
35
XP
7,360
Country
United States
Oblivion GOTY
Fallout 3 GOTY

you cant install DLC from either

GTA will run like crap without HDD install
 

Armadillo

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2003
Messages
4,258
Trophies
3
XP
5,139
Country
United Kingdom
Nope, disc 2 can't be run by itself. Goty just have the dlc on disc, so you have to install it, and forza disc 2 is just cars and tracks, so has to be installed.
 

cardyology

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 2, 2007
Messages
573
Trophies
1
Age
41
Location
Chorley Uk
XP
300
Country
United Kingdom
Where does it state i nthe Xbox live terms of service that if I violate those terms I will lose theability to install games to my hard disk?

Even though the feature was retro-added to the console, I now consider it a "key functionality" of my Xbox.

Im not banned (yet, dont know how I;ve survied tbh) but it is without a doubt a spiteful way for microsoft to punish iXtreme users and it is wholly unacceptable the they remove the installation feature from your console.

*FUCK* Microsoft.
 

Magoo222

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 22, 2009
Messages
111
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
142
Country
Slightly OT, but at the various times I've not been able to get onto Xbox Live over the past year or so, I couldn't play Forza 2 as it always needed an update from Live. If your console is banned and you can't access Live, have you just lost a game?
 

The_Hulkster

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 25, 2008
Messages
306
Trophies
1
XP
1,445
Country
Anyone know if Star Wars: The Force Unleashed Ultimate Sith Edition needs to be installed to the HDD?
The second disc I mean.
 

ZeWarrior

TheWarrior
Member
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
2,810
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
298
Country
Brazil
Armadillo said:
Forza 3 needs disc 2 installed to have access to all cars and tracks.

Forza 3's Disc 2 can be installed on a banned console. I know, mine was. You don't install it from the Dashboard, but in-game it asks you to insert Disk-2 and starts installing and works just fine.

So no, there aren't any games that NEED to be installed to be playable.
 

BiscuitBee

Semi-Resident Cookie-Bug
Member
Joined
Jul 30, 2008
Messages
690
Trophies
1
Location
Canada
Website
Visit site
XP
326
Country
Canada
ZeWarrior said:
Armadillo said:
Forza 3 needs disc 2 installed to have access to all cars and tracks.

Forza 3's Disc 2 can be installed on a banned console. I know, mine was. You don't install it from the Dashboard, but in-game it asks you to insert Disk-2 and starts installing and works just fine.

So no, there aren't any games that NEED to be installed to be playable.
+1 one to this. You can install if it isn't a dashboard install.
 

The_Hulkster

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 25, 2008
Messages
306
Trophies
1
XP
1,445
Country
ZeWarrior said:
Armadillo said:
Forza 3 needs disc 2 installed to have access to all cars and tracks.

Forza 3's Disc 2 can be installed on a banned console. I know, mine was. You don't install it from the Dashboard, but in-game it asks you to insert Disk-2 and starts installing and works just fine.

So no, there aren't any games that NEED to be installed to be playable.



BiscuitBee said:
ZeWarrior said:
QUOTE(Armadillo @ Nov 9 2009, 11:23 PM)
Forza 3 needs disc 2 installed to have access to all cars and tracks.

Forza 3's Disc 2 can be installed on a banned console. I know, mine was. You don't install it from the Dashboard, but in-game it asks you to insert Disk-2 and starts installing and works just fine.

So no, there aren't any games that NEED to be installed to be playable.
+1 one to this. You can install if it isn't a dashboard install.

Really?! Wow... so the HDD isnt completely useless after all!
This totally changes the way I looked at the banning and rendering the HDD useless.

Thanks guys! Ill be trying out Forza tonight!
biggrin.gif
 

sweenish

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2008
Messages
704
Trophies
0
Location
WA
XP
112
Country
United States
i consider the last remnant and fable 2 to be games that need to be installed to be played properly.

running off the disc is way too laggy to be considered enjoyable.
 

The_Hulkster

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 25, 2008
Messages
306
Trophies
1
XP
1,445
Country
sweenish said:
i consider the last remnant and fable 2 to be games that need to be installed to be played properly.

running off the disc is way too laggy to be considered enjoyable.

Can this be installed from within the game and not by using the dashboard install option?
I.e can this be installed on a banned console?

Also, does every DLC game have an install option that doesnt require the dashboard install option? For instance the GTA Episodes perhaps and Star Wars: TFU-USE?
 

Joe88

[λ]
Global Moderator
Joined
Jan 6, 2008
Messages
12,734
Trophies
2
Age
35
XP
7,360
Country
United States
yes, textures dont load sometimes and your just driving on air due to it cant keep up
thats why im gonna buy it since my other 360 is banned and cant instal games anymore (I dl'd it already and runs like crap without it)
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    Its 9 in the morning for me, everybody is heading off to sleep.
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    4 AM here
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    Damn. Get some sleep dude.
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    I always stay up late. And then gotta wake up at 9 for work lmao
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    @wolffangalchemist, What programmer did you use for this?
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    Make sure that the OSC value does not change when you load the hex, as it can brick the chip.
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    @Sicklyboy, Ngl, insomnia sucks for me.
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    Last night I have gotten better at sleeping than usual.
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    My insomnia has gotten a bit better since quitting my last job. Probably the reduction in stress
    +1
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    I think I've discovered recently that even though caffeine doesn't have much of a noticeable effect on me, I think it does completely stop me from going to sleep if I drink any late enough. So I'm being a bit more cautious about that now
    +1
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    My insomnia has to do with how my anxiety and stress worsened up in the past few weeks.
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    I don't drink as much caffeine like I used to.
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    There have been days where I feel refreshed, then a couple or so hours in, my mood starts to take a toll.
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    I've had stuff like that happen to me from time to time. Shit sucks
    +1
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    Damn yeah true
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    It does suck a lot
  • ZeroT21 @ ZeroT21:
    Guess I'm not the only one suffering from insomnia
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    One of the uncensored voice clips for Sailor Mouth leaked.
    +1
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    krabs is a motherfucker?
    +1
  • AncientBoi @ AncientBoi:
    :huh::O:ohnoes: Stay Away ! :(:angry:
  • AncientBoi @ AncientBoi:
    🦀 🦀 BakerMan has 🦀 🦀 🦀 !
    +1
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    wdym i have crabs?
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    no i don't
    BakerMan @ BakerMan: no i don't