Hacking Arduino to provide button inputs

Emptora

New Member
OP
Newbie
Joined
May 10, 2014
Messages
1
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
46
Country
United States
I am beginning a project with an arduino, the first steps of which will be controlling a nintendo 3ds via the arduino's code. I have read a little into it and experimented on my own with some luck but no solution.​
I have seen where somebody has simply soldered a single wire to a contact for each button (A, B, up, down, etc) and control it with pwm. My understanding is that 1.8 volts is the necessary voltage level. Can anyone provide some tips from prior experience? I am afraid of just throwing an attempt at it and destroying my 3ds in the process.​
 
  • Like
Reactions: Celice

FAST6191

Techromancer
Editorial Team
Joined
Nov 21, 2005
Messages
36,798
Trophies
3
XP
28,348
Country
United Kingdom
Do you not have a multimeter with which you can measure this sort of thing?

It occurs at this point I do not actually know the Voltages of the 3ds controller/mainboard logic and I am not inclined to search right now, I do not recall seeing a mess of resistors or something similar previous attempts at controlling a 3ds though. However you have three main options

1) Get an acceptable Voltage in there (and hope/make sure you do not have a relative Voltage issue), whether you get lucky and have the Voltage (or at least one it can take -- it may switch on/use 1.8V but it may be able to handle up to 5V) or actually step things down is up to you.
2) Use a transistor or something similar (optocoupler, relay... the idea remains the same). Here you use the 3ds' own power supply/voltages but have it triggered by the external source, I would really only consider this sort of thing when I have actual Voltages/currents to deal with or if the item being switched sends some kind of signal/pattern I can not be bothered to replicate when connected.
3) Provide the ground instead. Quite often these things are pulled down to ground by the switches being contacted, you then get to pull them low. I do not know if it is the case here but it could well be.
 

Celice

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2008
Messages
1,920
Trophies
1
XP
628
Country
United States
This kind of stuff is way out of my league, but I hope this kind of research will help people like my disabled brother potentially control the 3DS using a second device.
 

The Real Jdbye

*is birb*
Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
23,315
Trophies
4
Location
Space
XP
13,893
Country
Norway
I am beginning a project with an arduino, the first steps of which will be controlling a nintendo 3ds via the arduino's code. I have read a little into it and experimented on my own with some luck but no solution.​
I have seen where somebody has simply soldered a single wire to a contact for each button (A, B, up, down, etc) and control it with pwm. My understanding is that 1.8 volts is the necessary voltage level. Can anyone provide some tips from prior experience? I am afraid of just throwing an attempt at it and destroying my 3ds in the process.​
Remember to connect the 3DS' GND and the Arduino GND together.
Also this should be of help: https://github.com/dekuNukem/3xtDS (arduino code)
Provides code for controlling every regular input: buttons, dpad, circle pad and even the touchscreen.
 

Ryft

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2013
Messages
617
Trophies
1
Age
38
Location
Illinois
XP
1,010
Country
United States
Here is a video where someone hooked an arduino up and automated hatching eggs at the daycare in Pokemon X/Y. He has a link to his code in the description if you want to look at it.



EDIT: Nevermind, his link is dead... you may be able to find it if you look around. His name is dekuNukem
 

matt123337

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2014
Messages
151
Trophies
0
XP
623
Country
Canada
Here is a video where someone hooked an arduino up and automated hatching eggs at the daycare in Pokemon X/Y. He has a link to his code in the description if you want to look at it.



EDIT: Nevermind, his link is dead... you may be able to find it if you look around. His name is dekuNukem

See:
Remember to connect the 3DS' GND and the Arduino GND together.
Also this should be of help: https://github.com/dekuNukem/3xtDS (arduino code)
Provides code for controlling every regular input: buttons, dpad, circle pad and even the touchscreen.
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    ok, because here it's in september, right before the fuckin school year starts
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    good night
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    as to you
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    How do you know if the night will be good when you're asleep
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    because i didn't say i was asleep
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    i said i was sleeping...
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    sleeping with uremum
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Even my mum slept on that uremum
  • TwoSpikedHands @ TwoSpikedHands:
    yall im torn... ive been hacking away at tales of phantasia GBA (the USA version) and have so many documents of reverse engineering i've done
  • TwoSpikedHands @ TwoSpikedHands:
    I just found out that the EU version is better in literally every way, better sound quality, better lighting, and there's even a patch someone made to make the text look nicer
  • TwoSpikedHands @ TwoSpikedHands:
    Do I restart now using what i've learned on the EU version since it's a better overall experience? or do I continue with the US version since that is what ive been using, and if someone decides to play my hack, it would most likely be that version?
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    @TwoSpikedHands, I'll preface this with the fact that I know nothing about the game, but, I think it depends on what your goals are. Are you trying to make a definitive version of the game? You may want to refocus your efforts on the EU version then. Or, are you trying to make a better US version? In which case, the only way to make a better US version is to keep on plugging away at that one ;)
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    I'm not familiar with the technicalities of the differences between the two versions, but I'm wondering if at least some of those differences are things that you could port over to the US version in your patch without having to include copyrighted assets from the EU version
  • TwoSpikedHands @ TwoSpikedHands:
    @Sicklyboy I am wanting to fully change the game and bend it to my will lol. I would like to eventually have the ability to add more characters, enemies, even have a completely different story if i wanted. I already have the ability to change the tilemaps in the US version, so I can basically make my own map and warp to it in game - so I'm pretty far into it!
  • TwoSpikedHands @ TwoSpikedHands:
    I really would like to make a hack that I would enjoy playing, and maybe other people would too. swapping to the EU version would also mean my US friends could not legally play it
  • TwoSpikedHands @ TwoSpikedHands:
    I am definitely considering porting over some of the EU features without using the actual ROM itself, tbh that would probably be the best way to go about it... but i'm sad that the voice acting is so.... not good on the US version. May not be a way around that though
  • TwoSpikedHands @ TwoSpikedHands:
    I appreciate the insight!
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    @TwoSpikedHands just switch, all the knowledge you learned still applies and most of the code and assets should be the same anyway
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    and realistically they wouldn't

    be able to play it legally anyway since they need a ROM and they probably don't have the means to dump it themselves
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    why the shit does the shitbox randomly insert newlines in my messages
  • Veho @ Veho:
    It does that when I edit a post.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    It inserts a newline in a random spot.
    Veho @ Veho: It inserts a newline in a random spot.