Anyone else get slow downs in Geometry Wars

Discussion in 'NDS - Console and Game Discussions' started by Kael1, Jan 21, 2008.

Jan 21, 2008
  1. Kael1
    OP

    Newcomer Kael1 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    39
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Austria
    Just wondering if it is my microSD card .. Are slowdowns in this game normal ? Only other one I get this issue in is Metroid Prime Hunters but that was only two hunter fights the rest of the game was smooth...
     
  2. cupajoe

    Member cupajoe Have a cup of joe!

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,143
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Country:
    United States
    When there are tons of enemies on my screen I get some slowdown. I think that's the game's fault.
     
  3. Trulen

    Member Trulen GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Messages:
    445
    Country:
    United States
    I'd like to see someone who DOESN'T get slowdowns in Geometry Wars.

    The game's too hectic to be smooth.


    Let's you watch your inevitable death in slow motion.
     
  4. Szyslak

    Member Szyslak Nudibranch Lover

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,442
    Location:
    NY
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, it's not just you or your microSD. When the screen gets full of enemies/bullets, there is definitely some lag.

    I notice it's especially bad when you have your drone as a high level turret. There's just too much on the screen at once.
     
  5. Dio

    Member Dio WRYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    556
    Location:
    Mount Vernon, WA
    Country:
    United States
    I've gotten slowdowns from having a high level turret with so many enemies on the screen too. But I never died, it actually made the game easier XD If it bugs you, just use a bomb.
     
  6. cupajoe

    Member cupajoe Have a cup of joe!

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,143
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Country:
    United States
    Did anyone actually buy this game? If you did, tell us if you had slow down on the actual cart...
     
  7. TaintedWisdom

    Newcomer TaintedWisdom Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    Add me to the the list.
    On galaxies with the turret once I'm over 15 to 20 million on certain planets/maps I get total lag.

    I thought it was my card, or just hardware issue.

    -TW
     
  8. Fieryshadowz

    Member Fieryshadowz GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2007
    Messages:
    398
    Country:
    United States
    It actually seems to help me as well, like slow-mo Matrix dodging. . . but in this case shooting and or bombing.
     
  9. silent sniper

    Member silent sniper !dennaB

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,392
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    if you have a slot -2 ram card (like the browser ram card or ez flash 3in1, etc etc) it should run more smooth, it does for me.
     
  10. amptor

    Banned amptor Banned

    Joined:
    May 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,554
    Country:
    United States
    I don't get slowdowns cos I play it on my xbox360 [​IMG]

    This has been discussed ages ago that the game has slowdowns on DS.
     
  11. damnet

    Member damnet GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Messages:
    110
    Country:
    Brazil

    ......actually that's completely incorrect, the game was not meant to use any ram expansion at all, it makes absolutely NO difference whether you have a ram expansion on slot 2 or not.

    the problem with the game it's the DS itself, it's very, very, veeeery weak on processing, so when you have a lot going on at the same time( enemies moving in, particles being shot all over etc...) it slows down, simple......
     

Share This Page