Any way of getting a fresh, new Wii System

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by darkangel5000, Feb 1, 2009.

Feb 1, 2009
  1. darkangel5000
    OP

    Member darkangel5000 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    355
    Location:
    Unna, ~Dortmund :3
    Country:
    Germany
    Hay thar, dear tempers. Since my Wii has started acting weird since this morning, I searched the web for a possibility to install a clean wii system (a system without any cIOS or customized shit. Like wiping the FS and install a fresh version of 3.2E) and haven't found anything yet. So I'm asking here if there is any way to do this except with anytitle deleter?
    And if there isn't - has anybody a list of the app files, which I should under no circumstances touch under the 3.2E system?

    ~darki
     
  2. spawn844

    Member spawn844 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    179
    Country:
    Canada
    update,downgrade....tada
     
  3. HaniKazmi

    Member HaniKazmi GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,657
    Location:
    Manchester
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    just upgrade [​IMG]

    simple, no?
     
  4. slaphappygamer

    Member slaphappygamer GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    535
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    why dont you want to use cios downgrader? no wireless? i use cios downgrader whenever i have to get back to a "fresh" 3.2 system. most other people get to a fresh system the same. so it is safe.
     
  5. darkangel5000
    OP

    Member darkangel5000 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    355
    Location:
    Unna, ~Dortmund :3
    Country:
    Germany
    The problem with the upgrade/downgrade is that Starfall, Preloader and some other programs will still tell me, that the FS has some kind of an error. So I thought there was a way to format and repair the whole fs like you can do on the PSP (blargh, I know that the Wii is no PSP ==") and install the new systemmenu over it ._.
     
  6. Playgame38

    Newcomer Playgame38 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    75
    Location:
    Earth
    Country:
    United States
    I recommend it. I wanted to Remove cIOSCORP and did this method, and formated the Wii memory, before all that I backed up everything. [​IMG]
     
  7. darkangel5000
    OP

    Member darkangel5000 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    355
    Location:
    Unna, ~Dortmund :3
    Country:
    Germany
    Whee. I've just updated to 3.4E, and now no game except GH: World Tour will load. I've cleaned the laser, disconnected the wii from the power source, but that's it. Nothing works. Which means, that I can't use TP hack now ;___;
     
  8. Adr990

    Member Adr990 To boldly go where no man has gone before!

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,469
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Why Just format only doesn't clean your whole Wii?

    Why need to upgrade?...
     
  9. Beatchu

    Member Beatchu GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    347
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Get rid of cIOS I think
    correct me if I'm wrong
     
  10. HaniKazmi

    Member HaniKazmi GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,657
    Location:
    Manchester
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    format delets channel, it doesnt change ios's
     
  11. WiiShizzza

    Member WiiShizzza Graphics juggler

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,201
    Country:
    Germany
    I guess upgrading and downgrading won't make your wii like it came out of the box.
    There could still files resist in NAND.

    so some NAND restore/rebuild utility would be awsome
     
  12. syst3merror

    Member syst3merror GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    248
    Location:
    Indiana
    Country:
    United States
    I JUST did this on my Wii 2 days ago. What I did was go into the system settings, go to the last area and select upgrade. I let it upgrade to 3.4U and then when it finished, I went back into system settings to the last area and told it to reformat the Wii.

    Once you do that, your Wii will be like it had never had ANYTHING custom on it at all and you can do the TP hack on it again and downgrade it to whatever you want.
     

Share This Page