any current models besides used have.....

Discussion in 'PS3 - Hacking & Homebrew' started by chrisrlink, Apr 14, 2013.

Apr 14, 2013
  1. chrisrlink
    OP

    Member chrisrlink Rouge Temper

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,222
    Location:
    Unova
    Country:
    United States
    ....ofw 3.55? I know 120,and some 250's can have ofw 3.55 also what special editions have that fw (slim)
     
  2. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
  3. chrisrlink
    OP

    Member chrisrlink Rouge Temper

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,222
    Location:
    Unova
    Country:
    United States
    isn't gamestop required by sony to update used consoles? (to prevent cfw installation of course)
     
  4. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    I've never heard of that. It's likely that a lot of them come in already-updated, since you need to update to access PSN anyways.
     
  5. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,705
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    No game store is required to do console updates and rarely any store does it - employees are just humans and humans are innately lazy. Some do just to test if the console isn't banned on PSN, but that's not a rule.

    None of the Super Slim consoles are hackable in any shape or form, early Slims are easily hackable/downgradable, later ones can be tricky (some soldering skills required) but it can be done. Anything that's not a Super Slim can be modified as far as I know.

    If you want a console that's already on 3.55, you better start browsing EBay or good pre-owned console stores because it's going to take you a while before you find one. If you're lucky, you'll buy a pre-modded one Online.

    I'd use the same method I used when getting PSP's back in the day when not all of them could be modified - walk door to door and demand testing the system before purchasing. No testing, no sale and they usually want to sell stuff that's been on the shelves for over 2 years taking space and collecting dust. That way you'll test the firmware yourself. (I pretty much said that "I need to have a look at battery compartments because I'm collecting particular editions of the PSP... because I'm cool like that. Whenever I found one that was too new, I just said "Oh, sorry, I already have one of those... different colour but same motherboard... so no, do you have other ones?" *insert pretty smile*)
     
  6. matthi321

    Member matthi321 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2013
    Messages:
    133
    Country:
    Denmark
    i remeber i read some where, that the killzone 3 bundel is 3.55 or under
     
  7. tbgtbg

    Member tbgtbg Shaking the ring ropes up in the sky

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,951
    Country:
    United States
    What are they gonna do if they don't? Not send them any more used consoles? Sony can't make GS do it, but it's entirely possible they do it anyway, just to keep someone from coming back yelling at them when a game won't run without an update (and they're dumb and don't know how to do that themselves).
     
  8. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,705
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    To be fair, sometimes it is a pain in the d*ckhole with some systems. For example, after I set up the time on my PSVita first thing after I unboxed it, it asked me to sign in to PSN. Fine, I could do that over 3G. Next, it asked me to update because the firmware was too low to sign in. Naturally I wasn't anywhere near a hotspot so I've decided to cancel and sign into PSN later, but no - it took me back to the beginning of the setup in a perpetual loop and you can only use WiFi to update, rendering the system completely useless until I came back home with no option to use a Guest account. Fortunately they fixed that with a later update but damn - did I waste some time going straight to Uni with it after getting it. And no, we do have WiFi in Uni, it's just an unsuported format (WPA2 Enterprise).
     

Share This Page