Acekard 2i magically quit working

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by Apk07, Nov 24, 2009.

Nov 24, 2009
  1. Apk07
    OP

    Newcomer Apk07 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    Messages:
    75
    Location:
    Michigan
    Country:
    United States
    I bought an AceKard 2i from dealextreme forever ago, and finally got it... its been running AKAIO 1.5 great, and playing every rom I've needed for about a week now... Well it recently just stopped working. When I put it in my phat DS, the opening "touch to continue" DS screen only shows the first "Ni" in the word nintendo, and everything white and really faded. I can't even get to the normal DS system menu. I tried someone elses AK2i and it works fine with my SD card and works fine in my DS, but my Acekard wont work. Is it broken for good? Why did it break? And is there any known way to fix this?

    I doubt dealextreme will give a damn about me or believe my product broke, as I threw out the packaging forever ago... And their support is horrendous
     
  2. YayMii

    Member YayMii hi

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    4,881
    Location:
    that place
    Country:
    Canada
    Try the paper fix (tape a small piece of paper to the back of the AK for better connection).
     
  3. CannonFoddr

    Member CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,106
    Location:
    Sitting by computer
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've had same problem with AK2i from day one (with a DSLite) - I did the 'paper trick' & (so far) it seems to be working 'better' (It still does 'lock-up' but not as often)

    I've had no trouble at all when using on a DSi
     
  4. Apk07
    OP

    Newcomer Apk07 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    Messages:
    75
    Location:
    Michigan
    Country:
    United States
  5. Leonidas

    Member Leonidas GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    479
    Location:
    sLOVEnia
    Country:
    Slovenia
    Your DS is not detecting the cart properly. Clean up the contacts with a soft cloth & also stick it into the slot more gently.
     
  6. Apk07
    OP

    Newcomer Apk07 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    Messages:
    75
    Location:
    Michigan
    Country:
    United States
    Thats a terribly positive outlook and all, but that doesnt seem to fix anything at all. I can rub it and caress it all I want, it still won't work.
     
  7. Falkentyne

    Member Falkentyne GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Messages:
    193
    Country:
    United States
    I've seen *several* dirty carts do this before; health and warning screen to be frozen and very faded.
    I saw this exact same thing on an old passcard 3 I tried to use a few weeks ago, just to see if it still worked.
    D5 spray fixed it.

    Deoxit D5 Power Booster is what you want. That also fixes even old classic stuff like the original NES and the "blow in the cartridge" issues.
    However, such an issue should be intermittent and not "sudden" and should at least have workarounds when it first starts. Yours has no workaround, so...if blowing your own air from your mouth on the card doesn't help, then I guess it's dead; sounds like a broken contact though.
     
  8. Apk07
    OP

    Newcomer Apk07 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    Messages:
    75
    Location:
    Michigan
    Country:
    United States
    I tried rubbing off the contacts with various cleaners and q-tips, blew my lungs out on it and the DS... Other flash carts work fine, even with my SD card, and ordinary DS games work fine. No paper/etc seems to have helped. I contemplate opening it up to see if anythings broken... but I have no experience repairing wires or chips or anything...
     
  9. XWolf

    Member XWolf GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    745
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Blowing into anything like this is a REALLY bad idea! Moisture in your breath will cause issues. I have seen many a dead SNES from it.
     
  10. Apk07
    OP

    Newcomer Apk07 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    Messages:
    75
    Location:
    Michigan
    Country:
    United States
    I suppose I'm stuck buying a new Acekard now, as DX is skillfully ignoring me, as I expected

    I'm a bit afraid to buy another in case the build quality is equally bad...
     
  11. EmperorOfCanada

    Member EmperorOfCanada GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,478
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Can you prove that it was actually magic that made it stop working?
     
  12. Apk07
    OP

    Newcomer Apk07 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    Messages:
    75
    Location:
    Michigan
    Country:
    United States
    It never really left my DS for the few days I've had it. Turned it on and it just didnt work? I don't know what else to blame
     
  13. Apk07
    OP

    Newcomer Apk07 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    Messages:
    75
    Location:
    Michigan
    Country:
    United States
    I peeled back the sticker today, and while there is no giant square bump on the cart, there is a noticable small round hill that rises up in the middle of the cart... idk anything about fakes and whatnot
     
  14. unknownsoul

    Newcomer unknownsoul Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Country:
    United States
    It's real, mine's the same. Must be a defective AK2i.
     
  15. Leonidas

    Member Leonidas GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    479
    Location:
    sLOVEnia
    Country:
    Slovenia
    My magic says your cart is faulty.
     
  16. Apk07
    OP

    Newcomer Apk07 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    Messages:
    75
    Location:
    Michigan
    Country:
    United States
    One last question, I heard when doing the DSi 1.4 update on an acekard 2i, you can swap out a working cart to a defective cart, then continue the firmware update. Might that help anything?

    Btw DX agreed to send me a new AK2i thankfully. At this point I'm just interested in trying to salvage the old one for the next 3 weeks while DX slowly ships...
     
  17. Leonidas

    Member Leonidas GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    479
    Location:
    sLOVEnia
    Country:
    Slovenia
    As long as you have the means to run a nds file, the DS Lite updater will work, but you cannot upgrade undetectable Acekards. It will just say there is nothing inserted.
     

Share This Page