AceKard 2i Crapped out!!!

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by Elephant1982, Dec 6, 2009.

Dec 6, 2009

AceKard 2i Crapped out!!! by Elephant1982 at 7:16 PM (1,961 Views / 0 Likes) 23 replies

  1. Elephant1982
    OP

    Newcomer Elephant1982 Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hey Guys

    My Acekard 2i no longer shows up on my DSi ver 1.3E or my NDL.. I was playing the new Zelda this morning did a save and exited out of the game, Came back to it and played it for about a hour then it freezed on me so i rebooted DSi and the Acekard is no longer showing up.. I have reloaded Akaio 1.5 about 6 times but that hasn't done anything.
    I thought it might be the contacts so I have used a bit of paper to wedge the card in and no luck...
    My daughters Acekard (updated to run on Dsi ver1.4E) works fine and so does my wifes NDSTT Card, just mine doesn't.

    Now Dare I ask the question if Zelda had anything to do with this??? Or has my Acekard just died at the age of 8 months?? I have had no problems with it before but maybe its just not my lucky day!! lol

    If I cant get it working I want to get another Flashcard and really like the AceKard, can anyone tell me where I can get a real Acekard 2i from. I know dealextreme comes highly recommended but with Chrismas coming up and the State of the UK postal service I rather order from a UK Shop..

    Thanks for any help guys!!

    Chris
     


  2. penthaler

    Member penthaler GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    357
    Location:
    mystique
    Country:
    Czech Republic
    Your AK2i died... It happens - nothing stands forever...
     
  3. Danny600kill

    Member Danny600kill xD

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,664
    Location:
    Manchester
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just keep trying, try reformatting ur Sd?

    If your guna buy a new one id go with 0shippingzone, ive had a look at there shop and its great, low prices and i think they do same day dispatch im not sure. if u really want it cheap then go with DX but like u sed u most prob wont get in by christmas

    Hope u fix it
     
  4. emigre

    Member emigre Has complex motives

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    7,917
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It could be the contacts. Try the paper- put your acekard in your DS with some paper underneath it adn see that if comes up.
     
  5. XWolf

    Member XWolf GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    745
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    He has stated that he has already tried the paper trick!

    One thing not mentioned - has a different microSD card been tried in it?
     
  6. penthaler

    Member penthaler GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    357
    Location:
    mystique
    Country:
    Czech Republic
    6times reloaded akaio 1.5 - i think that means he tried to put on his card new os again and again, so microsd must work... when the microsd fails, the nds still detect ak2i but with error screen (like no os)
     
  7. qdog82

    Member qdog82 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    139
    Country:
    United States
    Maybe your daughter or somebody else in the family updated your DSi to 1.4?
     
  8. Elephant1982
    OP

    Newcomer Elephant1982 Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Guys I tried everything.. Its gone!!!! Sob Sob Sob... lol... Has anyone used or heard of ndscardshop.co.uk I found there site and I wanted to know if they alright to use as I dont want a Fakey!!!
    Thanks for all the Help so far!!
    Chris
     
  9. Elephant1982
    OP

    Newcomer Elephant1982 Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    qdog82 thats what I thought to start with but I checked the setting and it still 1.3E..
    Cheers Chris
     
  10. Leonidas

    Member Leonidas GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    479
    Location:
    sLOVEnia
    Country:
    Slovenia
    I'm sorry for your loss, but things happen. And 8 months is not too bad.
     
  11. ericling

    Member ericling GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    523
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Really? 8month not bad?
    Acekard lifespan only around 8month?
     
  12. BoxShot

    Member BoxShot Chiyo-chan :3

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,447
    Location:
    Middle of the ocean.
    Country:
    United States
    It's not bad considering the price but there are a bunch of people with acekards that haven't crapped out yet. So that 8 month lifespan doesn't apply to all.
     
  13. AndreXL

    Member AndreXL GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    514
    Country:
    Philippines
    Maybe cart/DSi contact issue?
    force in some paper/tape on the cart sticker side so that it would be thicker. then insert it on the DSi so it would push the contacts more on the DSi.
    [edit sp]
     
  14. ericling

    Member ericling GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    523
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Oh..Yea..Acekard is really cheap..and worth too..
    I own a acekard now 1month already..
    Ahaha..Any tips to care the card?
    I have some contact problem last 2 days.But now fixed.Wonder will it last..
     
  15. Leonidas

    Member Leonidas GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    479
    Location:
    sLOVEnia
    Country:
    Slovenia
    Maybe we should make a poll. I really wonder...
     
  16. hartleyshc

    Member hartleyshc GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    184
    Location:
    Gainesville, FL
    Country:
    United States
    doesn't acekard have a year warranty?
     
  17. Nilkin

    Newcomer Nilkin Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I had this problem with mine inserted the Acekard in DSI nothing came up found out its a contact issue with the card not the Memory card..

    I fixed mine with cotton bud and some CD/DVD cleaner solution, you want some liquid that will evaporate very quick found my CD/DVD cleaner liquid did this, just wipe the gold contact with a damp cotton bud with the cleaner solution then wipe with the dry end afterwords and its fixed..

    Another way to clean the Gold contacts is with an Pencil rubber but careful not to rub to hard, this can also work..

    I noticed on mine it was not very clean but after I did this not had an issue...
     
  18. scrtmstr

    Member scrtmstr GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Messages:
    839
    Location:
    the Netherregions!
    Country:
    Netherlands
    8 months is bad, my r4 survived longer. But the ak2i comes with a one year warranty, so you could get a new one for free
     
  19. Elephant1982
    OP

    Newcomer Elephant1982 Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well, I have emailed the guy I got it from but his site is no longer around so I'm not holding my breath... I'm not to fussed, the amount I have used it, its paid for itself a 100 times over!! Its just a pain waiting for the new one in the post when I was enjoying Zelda so much!!!

    Would I be able to got direct to Acekard for a replacement, do you think???

    I will give the gold contacts another cleam I found some CPU Cleaner in my man draw so that might work.. I'll keep you posted..
    It might be worth starting a poll on the most reliable cards as I have an Old White R4 Card from Hong Kong that is still working, thats almost 2 and a half years after I brought it..
     
  20. MadClaw

    Member MadClaw GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    327
    Location:
    Usa
    Country:
    United States
    I've had my ak2i for 8 months, I've never had a problem.
     

Share This Page