About playing DS games on a 3DS

Discussion in '3DS - Games & Content' started by Feels Good Man, May 8, 2011.

May 8, 2011
  1. Feels Good Man
    OP

    Member Feels Good Man GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,643
    Country:
    Canada
    This is probably a really noob question but i'll ask anyway.

    Let's say the DS game you're playing on the 3DS has had performance problems when playing on a normal DS. Would playing it on the 3DS address the performance problems and run smoother?
     


  2. Snailface

    Member Snailface My frothing demand for 3ds homebrew is increasing

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4,324
    Location:
    Engine Room with Cyan, watching him learn.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    No. The graphics will be the same. The sound might be a little bit better because the 3Ds has better speakers, though.
     
  3. Ikki

    Member Ikki GBATemp's grumpy panda.

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,797
    Location:
    Montevideo
    Country:
    Uruguay
    Wat.
    Since when performance = graphics?


    There's been a report of lag issues in Okamiden being lessened. But other than that, I heard nothing.
     
  4. Feels Good Man
    OP

    Member Feels Good Man GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,643
    Country:
    Canada
    No, I meant would the game experience slow down still? Or will playing it on a 3DS make the game smooth throughout?
     
  5. WiiUBricker

    Member WiiUBricker Insert Custom Title

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Messages:
    5,827
    Location:
    Espresso
    Country:
    Argentina
    Not true. Graphics looks blurred due to the higher resolution of the 3DS screens and decreasing the size of the output screen is not a proper option.
     
  6. WiiUBricker

    Member WiiUBricker Insert Custom Title

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Messages:
    5,827
    Location:
    Espresso
    Country:
    Argentina
    DS games on 3DS have longer loading times.
     
  7. Snailface

    Member Snailface My frothing demand for 3ds homebrew is increasing

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4,324
    Location:
    Engine Room with Cyan, watching him learn.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Only on the initial boot-up.

    However, that's only what I heard. My experience is that there is no difference.

    Back to the original question; the 3DS does not improve the smoothness (or framerate) of any game. It does add a 'smoothing filter' that blurs the pixels somewhat. You may or may not like this effect -- doesn't bother me.
     
  8. Feels Good Man
    OP

    Member Feels Good Man GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,643
    Country:
    Canada
    Okay, guys, im not talking about the filter as I am well aware of that already. I just want to know about any performance boosts that the 3DS could or could not offer [​IMG]
     
  9. WiiUBricker

    Member WiiUBricker Insert Custom Title

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Messages:
    5,827
    Location:
    Espresso
    Country:
    Argentina
    Again not true.
    http://www.pocket-lint.com/news/39064/nint...loads-slower-ds
     
  10. Nollog

    Member Nollog GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    2,691
    Country:
    Ireland
    If you mean games that were DSi Enhanced to get the little extra boost from the slightly better cpu in the DSi, then yeah. But it'll be DSi level.
    There's no 3DS Enhanced games. And most likely never will.
     
  11. Ikki

    Member Ikki GBATemp's grumpy panda.

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,797
    Location:
    Montevideo
    Country:
    Uruguay
  12. WiiUBricker

    Member WiiUBricker Insert Custom Title

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Messages:
    5,827
    Location:
    Espresso
    Country:
    Argentina
    No, since the DS mode of the 3DS is basically the same as the one of DS/DSi.
     
  13. Snailface

    Member Snailface My frothing demand for 3ds homebrew is increasing

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4,324
    Location:
    Engine Room with Cyan, watching him learn.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    No, there are no performance boosts. DS games are emulated, but not enhanced.

    I own a 3DS and I know this. If a DS game has 15 fps on the DS lite, it will have 15 fps on the 3DS. I hope that answers your question.

    Edit: @ Ikki --Maybe I'm wrong? I've got to try this out!
     
  14. Feels Good Man
    OP

    Member Feels Good Man GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,643
    Country:
    Canada
    No, i'm talking about the better hardware overall. Let's compare this to a computer. When you buy a new CPU, GPU and whatnot, you get a performance upgrade in games thus leading to a better framerate.

    Is it the same for the 3DS when playing DS games on it?
     
  15. 8BitWalugi

    Member 8BitWalugi Taiyohhhhhh!

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,271
    Location:
    Side 7
    Country:
    Australia
    He's talking about if there's too many objects on screen, will the game lag slightly?

    My guess is that it will. As stated earlier, the 3DS emulates DS.
     
  16. m3rox

    Member m3rox GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,673
    Location:
    WA
    Country:
    United States
    No, it doesn't lag. Also, I'd like to see some proof that it's emulation. All I've seen thus far is people making assumptions.
     
  17. Feels Good Man
    OP

    Member Feels Good Man GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,643
    Country:
    Canada
    Even if it does emulate it I would imagine it benefiting from the improved hardware... like a computer, again.
     
  18. WiiUBricker

    Member WiiUBricker Insert Custom Title

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Messages:
    5,827
    Location:
    Espresso
    Country:
    Argentina
    A computer doenst clock the system down to a specific game mode like the 3DS does.
     
  19. 8BitWalugi

    Member 8BitWalugi Taiyohhhhhh!

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,271
    Location:
    Side 7
    Country:
    Australia
    I can't give a proper one, but this works.

    Wii (Cube mode)- Wii accessories+controllers disabled. Reverts back to 480i.
    3DS (DS mode)- Limits it's CPU+GPU, motion sensors disabled, home button works.

    It might be small, but it's the main clue.
     
  20. m3rox

    Member m3rox GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,673
    Location:
    WA
    Country:
    United States
    The home button working isn't a clue to anything. The home button on the PSP works while in-game. Does that mean that the PSP is emulating PSP games?
     

Share This Page