73 inch tv, where to put the DAMN SENSOR BAR?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by MagicDrumSticks, Jun 1, 2009.

  1. MagicDrumSticks
    OP

    Newcomer MagicDrumSticks Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    United States
    I have no idea what to do, 73 inch mitsubishi dlp tv and the only place I can put it so far is on the bottom near the on button, this completely throws off any "accuracy" and I want to able to point AT the tv and the pointer be there.
     


  2. Rayder

    Former Staff Rayder Mostly lurking lately....

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,613
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    Hot damn! 73 inches?! That's HUGE! We have a 52 inch LCD TV and I thought that was pretty big.

    Anyway, along the top or the bottom of the TV in the center is where the sensor bar is supposed to go. Have you tried calibrating your Wiimotes? That's necessary especially if you were using it on a different TV before because it saves that info when it's initially set. Maybe you are too close to the TV when playing?

    There's always a possibility that DLP doesn't work well with the Wiimote or that the TV is just too darn big. I'm not really sure. But I'd assume that it should be possible to make it work since I saw a YT vid once that had people playing the Wii on a giant movie screen.

    Hopefully someone with a huge TV like that and a Wii can help you more if a simple calibration doesn't work.
     
  3. Wiinie

    Newcomer Wiinie Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2008
    Messages:
    50
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    I use a DLP Projector so i have a 101 inch screen. I cam to find out the buying a hd sensor bar was the best solution. They are twice as long and provide better reliability. I ordered this one.
    http://www.videogamebundle.com/sensorbarHD.html
     
  4. Reaper

    Member Reaper Tͩ͒ͥ̈́ͧ̓͑̆̂

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,258
    Country:
    United States
    wat [​IMG]




    But are you sure there is NO OTHER PLACE to put it?
     
  5. kedest

    Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,283
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Try to make your own custom sensor bar. It's just a couple of infrared leds.
     
  6. ZAFDeltaForce

    Member ZAFDeltaForce Specialist

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,786
    Country:
    Singapore
    Or as simple as lit candles. No shit.
     
  7. DEagleson

    Member DEagleson Gamer Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    Messages:
    151
    Location:
    Telemark
    Country:
    Norway
    Im using a 50" Plasma, but changed back to my old 28" LCD cause the image looked all crappy even with component cable. [​IMG]
    Only the PS3 is hooked up to my plasma now, and by putting the sensor bar on top great.
     
  8. 431unknown

    Member 431unknown Greatness Awaits

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,055
    Country:
    United States
    I have an panisonic hd projector i bought just for gaming. Right now i have a 112 inch picture but it has a max output of 200 inches. Its picture is pretty awesome to say the least at 1080p [​IMG] but i keep the wii down stairs in the living room its just easier for when company is over although if i ever get a second wii its going in the game room.



    @ wiinie that sensor bar looks pretty sweet i had had intentions of putting the wii in my game room but the entertainment center i use for holding my systems is too far away from the wall i project to so i bought a cheap wireless bar only thing is it runs off of batteries but the one you have looks like it plugs in to a wall outlet. i might have to get one of those just cause i hate batteries. Do yoiu like it how good is the accuracy?
     
  9. BillandAlisha

    Member BillandAlisha GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Messages:
    185
    Location:
    Michigan
    Country:
    United States
    I figured it out![​IMG]

    Please do take note of my fine MS paint skills.
     
  10. stiansoftcore

    Newcomer stiansoftcore Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    United States
    You need more space between the two infrared lights on the sensorbar with a TV like that. Just make your own, or just put two candles below your screen. Buying two infrared LEDS would be the best tho, costs like 7 bucks or something.
     
  11. spathi-wa

    Newcomer spathi-wa Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    India
    When you place the sensor bar below the screen, do you also change settings to match this? I believe it should just work if you do the following:

    1. change settings to indicate that the sensor bar is below the screen
    2. place the sensor bar (check the manual - they want you to place it at the front edge of the surface your screen stands on. i dont know how you'll manage that but essentially you want the bar to be the same level as the bottom of your screen and clear line of sight from the bar to your wiimote)
    3. re-calibrate your wiimote

    I don't think you will have trouble if you do these things in this order.
     
  12. Uruha

    Member Uruha GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    157
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    im sure anywhere in the middle of the top edge or bottom will work.
    just like any other tv
    73 is an odd number btw lol. not odd as in odd and even.
     
  13. Yukito

    Newcomer Yukito Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    94
    Location:
    Woking
    Country:
    France
    No, like other peoples said, the TV is way too big for the sensor bar, so you've got 2 options, either build a sensor bar with a bigger gap between the 2 light source, or place the sensor bar somewhere like 50cm-1m in front of the TV (I suppose with a TV like that, you don't play right in front of it)
     
  14. spathi-wa

    Newcomer spathi-wa Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    India
    As you can see from this thread, many people have got their Wii working with 50 inch and larger screens. Just because someone is selling product "for larger screens" doesn't mean you need it, or even that it would be better than what you have. Just need to set it up right.
     
  15. bazamuffin

    Member bazamuffin RESIDENT DILF

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2,036
    Location:
    Shmashmortion Clinic
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    String, PMSL!
     
  16. Eclipse01

    Newcomer Eclipse01 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    96
    Location:
    Eau Claire, WI
    Country:
    United States
    double sided tape, tape to the bottom of tv (or top)
     
  17. jonas7611

    Newcomer jonas7611 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    Messages:
    35
    Location:
    Sweden
    Country:
    Sweden
    The simple solution is to move a little further from your TV, I suffered the same fate om my 52" SAGEM DLP tv.
    Rearranging the living room did the trick, hope you have a big enough room though [​IMG]

    The light emitted from the sensor bar IR led:s are of spread type; meaning that the further away (not to far though offcourse)
    the wider is the area of light beeing sent to wiimote.

    And the sensor bar consists of ten ir leds in total, five on each side, three of the five are directed straight out from the TV, two of the are shot at an angle towards each side.

    And use the stand for the bar, when lying flat on a surface the ir light spreading down gets obstructed by the tv

    Good luck:)
     
  18. vergilite

    Member vergilite GBATemps Regular Clown

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    737
    Location:
    Liv-Liv-Liverpool YEAH!
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    WTF [​IMG] 73" thats f*cking huge, how much did it cost ???
    oh and to all the people using projectors are they any good (i know they must be alright if you went out and bought one) like how do they display under lighting and how sharp is the image?
     
  19. KennyLeam

    Newcomer KennyLeam Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2008
    Messages:
    39
    Country:
    United States
    I have a 67" tv and mine works just fine stock. I place the sensor bar at the bottom of the TV in the dead center. Then set the wii options to below TV. Same range rules apply as with a small TV, it just "feels" different. I stand 8-10 feet away for IR sensor stuff. Any closer and accuracy goes to crap.
     
  20. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,347
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    i have a 60" have it in the center on top of the tv and it works fine i'm about 11 ft away from the tv.
     

Share This Page