3DS will not turn on after updating luma?

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by kevinshorts, Jun 21, 2017.

1. kevinshorts
    OP

kevinshorts Newbie

Newcomer
    May 6, 2017
    Canada
    Richmond Hill
    I recently updated to boot9strap from a9lh, and everything was working fine... until I chose to update luma through the lumaupdater app. Although it said "update successful", when I tried rebooting my 3DS, it would not turn on. As of now, when I press the power button, it turns on for about 1 second and immediately turns off (black screen, no speaker popping). I've tried to boot into safe mode, removing the SD card, taking out the battery, etc. but nothing works. What should I do? (I'm a noob so try to be simple with your answers pls)

2. KunoichiZ

KunoichiZ GBAtemp Guru

Mar 16, 2012
    United States
    How recently did you update from a9lh to b9s?

Last edited by KunoichiZ, Jun 21, 2017
    Quantumcat likes this.
  3. jupitteer

jupitteer byErman™

Feb 17, 2017
    Antarctica
    Subcon
    Delete boot.firm from your sd card and remove the .bak from boot.firm.bak.

Quantumcat likes this.
  4. reminon

reminon Advanced Member

Newcomer
    Feb 7, 2016
    United States
    Yeah. If you are on b9s 1.2, delete the current install, download, and install a fresh copy of Luma 8.

Last edited by reminon, Jun 21, 2017
  5. kevinshorts
    OP

kevinshorts Newbie

Newcomer
    May 6, 2017
    Canada
    Richmond Hill
    Around 2 weeks ago?

6. -G-

-G- Member

Newcomer
    Jun 12, 2017
    United States
    Evading the Nintendo Ninjas
    Last edited by -G-, Jun 21, 2017
  7. kevinshorts
    OP

kevinshorts Newbie

Newcomer
    May 6, 2017
    Canada
    Richmond Hill
    I was able to get my 3DS working again! Can't thank you guys enough!

8. MZ-4

MZ-4 Member

Newcomer
    Nov 9, 2015
    Gambia, The
    Can you explain more detailed what you did to "unbrick"?
    A friend's New3DS shows the same symptoms after updating B9S.