3DS Ram for DS Homebrew?

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by Octos, Apr 23, 2013.

Apr 23, 2013

3DS Ram for DS Homebrew? by Octos at 8:01 AM (1,316 Views / 0 Likes) 2 replies

  1. Octos
    OP

    Newcomer Octos Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    I am aware that there is no 3DS cart, so on and so forth. But for DS homebrew, are these carts able to use the full 128MB of Ram available? That is, games/applications that previously required a Slot-2 Ram Expansion no longer needing it. As an aside, if that is the case are there any projects utilizing the 3DS Ram increase, while of course only running through the DS/i cart?
     
  2. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    DS flash carts run in DS-mode, which means they run as if they were in an original 2004 model DS.
    Use of the additional RAM would require 3DS-mode to be hacked, which it's not.
     
  3. Pong20302000

    Member Pong20302000 making notes on everything

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    8,076
    Location:
    One's inner self
    Country:
    Japan
    well picture the DS mode and DSi mode like an emulator running on a locked system

    you can burst the parameters of what you are given

    and as only DS is hacked, your restricted to what the DS Emulator can do

    same as the PSVita, they have hacked PSP mode, but the Vita is locked out
     

Share This Page