Hacking 3DS NOOB PARADISE - Ask questions here

  • Thread starter Cyan
  • Start date
  • Views 4,540,447
  • Replies 53,799
  • Likes 43

BobDoleOwndU

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2013
Messages
1,178
Trophies
1
Age
29
XP
2,188
Country
Canada
Path: D:\3ds\Luma3DS\luma3ds.3dsx
Ok, your boot.cfg should look something like this:
Code:
// Boot menu configuration
boot_config =
{
    // Default timeout in secondes
    // If timeout = -1, disable autoboot
    timeout = 3;

    // Some devices (n3ds?) seems to have
    // some timing problems when using timeout=0 (autoboot).
    // You may increase this value to improve boot success rate.
    // Default delay (8) should be good for o3ds, 2 seems good for n3ds
    autobootfix = 8;

    // if timeout = 0 (autoboot),
    // hold this key to enter the menu
    // keycode list : https://goo.gl/4XLDIL
    recovery = 2; // SELECT

    // Default boot entry
    default = 0;

    // Boot menu entries (11 max)
    entries =
    (
        {
            title  = "rxTools";
            path = "/rxTools/sys/code.bin";
            offset = "0x12000";
        },
        {
             title = "PastaCFW";
            path = "/3ds/PastaCFW/PastaCFW.3dsx";
            key = 0; // key to override default boot entry (A)
        },
        {
            title  = "HomeBrewMenu";
            path = "/boot_hb.3dsx";
        },
        {
            title = "Luma3DS"
            path = "/3ds/Luma3DS/luma3ds.3dsx"
            offset = "0x12000"
        }
    );
};
 
Last edited by BobDoleOwndU,

GreenWins

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 28, 2016
Messages
16
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
90
Country
United States
How does one system transfer an a9lh n3ds to another a9lh n3ds?

Do I just do it the normal way or will I need to do something special?
Can I just put in the old SD card into the new system and not worry about anything?
 

BobDoleOwndU

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2013
Messages
1,178
Trophies
1
Age
29
XP
2,188
Country
Canada
How does one system transfer an a9lh n3ds to another a9lh n3ds?

Do I just do it the normal way or will I need to do something special?
Can I just put in the old SD card into the new system and not worry about anything?
You'll need to do a normal system transfer. Simply swapping the SD card won't work.
 

BobDoleOwndU

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2013
Messages
1,178
Trophies
1
Age
29
XP
2,188
Country
Canada
So I do the system transfer then can I just put in the old SD card or would I need to reformat and everything? I'm just trying to keep my NNID and my backup games/saves.
You would need to do the transfer, then move all of the files from the new SD card to the old one.

Been out of the scene for awhile. What's the highest FW that can still have custom firmware, and how is it done?
10.7 and below can be downgraded to 9.2 via software. 11.0 can be downgraded via hardmod. See this guide for setting up Arm9loaderhax and CFW.
 

99%Invisible

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 24, 2016
Messages
37
Trophies
0
Location
Behind you...
XP
77
Country
Hey guys,
Soz for the stupid question. But I have a 3ds on 10.3, with menuhax installed. I have put some custom themes in SD/themes. When I apply them with CHMM2 It works perfectly, except it seems to uninstall menuhax and I have to go through browserhax again. Really love this theme so it would be great if a way to run it and Menuhax at the same time was possible.

Thanks for all help, again soz for the noob question,
 

daddie05

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 22, 2009
Messages
53
Trophies
1
Location
CA
XP
283
Country
United States
Hey guys! I was finally trying to finish up my 3ds tonight, but I encountered another issue on Part 4

"If your RedNAND / EmuNAND has been updated to version 11.0.0 or higher, you must either put the NTR firmware.bin from part 5 into the /luma/ folder or restore your EmuNAND from a backup of an older version to be able to downgrade. This is because 11.0.0's FIRM broke downgrading."

So I launched emunand and tried to restore since I updated to FW 11. What are my options bc I am not sure which "NTR firmware" this guide is referring to. Is it the firmware.bin in part 3 that i need to put in the luma folder? Thanks!
 
Last edited by daddie05,

GreenWins

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 28, 2016
Messages
16
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
90
Country
United States
You would need to do the transfer, then move all of the files from the new SD card to the old one.

That includes the new EmuNAND on the new SD because just moving the files won't be enough right?

Pretty much after system transfer. I need to make a whole copy of the new SD card and move it into the old SD card. Then everything should function correctly or do I not need to worry about moving the EmuNAND?
 

BobDoleOwndU

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2013
Messages
1,178
Trophies
1
Age
29
XP
2,188
Country
Canada
That includes the new EmuNAND on the new SD because just moving the files won't be enough right?

Pretty much after system transfer. I need to make a whole copy of the new SD card and move it into the old SD card. Then everything should function correctly or do I not need to worry about moving the EmuNAND?
If you're using A9lh, you don't really need emuNAND. But if you plan on using emuNAND, then yes, you'll need to transfer it to the old SD as well.

Yes, transfer everything to the old SD. You don't need emuNAND, but if you want it, you should transfer it too.
 

GreenWins

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 28, 2016
Messages
16
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
90
Country
United States
If you're using A9lh, you don't really need emuNAND. But if you plan on using emuNAND, then yes, you'll need to transfer it to the old SD as well.

Yes, transfer everything to the old SD. You don't need emuNAND, but if you want it, you should transfer it too.

Oh I meant the n3ds only boots when you have NAND after changing to a9lh.
I meant do I need to transfer the hidden partition on the new SD card to the old SD card.
This was the part I was confused about.
 

BobDoleOwndU

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2013
Messages
1,178
Trophies
1
Age
29
XP
2,188
Country
Canada
Oh I meant the n3ds only boots when you have NAND after changing to a9lh.
I meant do I need to transfer the hidden partition on the new SD card to the old SD card.
This was the part I was confused about.
The hidden partition is emuNAND, which you don't need with A9lh. You only need the A9lh files for your 3DS on the SD card for the 3DS to boot.
 

Emenaria

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2015
Messages
272
Trophies
0
XP
1,426
Country
Japan
Is anyone having a problem when you try to launch FBI 2.2.1 injected into the H&S app? I get an fatal error "Failed to open text color config: no such file or directory"
Plailect's Guide has you download the latest release of FBI(As of now 2.2.1) and inject it into the H&S app, so it should be able to work...
https://github.com/Plailect/Guide/wiki/Part-4-(Getting-the-OTP)
I know this isn't really a problem because you can still inject FBI 1.4.17 into the H&S app, use it to install FBI 2.2.1, and have 2 instances of FBI. But still...
 

NoSmokingBandit

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2009
Messages
451
Trophies
0
XP
648
Country
United States
CTRBootManager or BootCTR might help in increase your bootrate if you want to remain on a menuhax+emunand setup.

As for CFW, Rxtools is pretty outdated by now, it's currently being reworked, but I don't know to what extent, though you can find details on it's new progress here:
http://gbatemp.net/threads/pre-release-wip-yet-another-rxtools.426092/

I would personally suggest Luma3DS though, but again it's your choice.

However, if you want 100% bootrate, you'll need to look into an A9LH setup. Though it can be quite lenghtly and take a good 2-8 hours to setup.
Guide: https://github.com/Plailect/Guide/wiki

Thanks for the info, it is incredibly helpful.

I was looking at the A9LH setup and the guide is so well written. A lot of homebrew/hacks are poorly documented and that guide is refreshing.

I think I'm going to do that and use it to boot Luma. My sysnand is already 9.2.0 so I can skip a lot of the process already.
 

BenoitRen

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 1, 2015
Messages
40
Trophies
0
Age
38
XP
142
Country
Belgium
Having used the Homebrew Channel on the Wii before, I figured that removing an application's folder would 'uninstall' it. However, this doesn't work for everything. Ironhax has some files in /3ds instead of a folder, and removing those files didn't remove the Ironhax entry in the channel. I'm also wondering how to remove other things, like the head tracking demo, for which I have no need.

How do I uninstall this stuff?
 

Tcheeliin

New Member
Newbie
Joined
May 17, 2016
Messages
2
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
54
Country
Brazil
I'd installed the Code Name S.T.E.A.M on my 3DS with Luma3DS + coldboot + menuhax in version 11.0.0 and when i start the game, after the logo from Nintendo 3DS shows off, the game game crashes and says to hold the power button until the console is off. Any other game that i installed had worked pretty well.

Luma3DS version 5.4
CIAngel version 0.76

attachment.php


What i did wrong or what am i supposed to do?

Thank you!
 

shengoro86

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 6, 2015
Messages
13
Trophies
0
Age
35
XP
82
Country
United States
1. It does for most games, but some games and dlc actually require emulation for some reason. Not to sure on the details.
2. That's really odd, not sure what the issue could be sorry. :(

The Girls Mode game works now. I just checked the Luma3DS documentation and saw that I completely missed reading the section on this. Sorry for the redundant question :)
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • S @ salazarcosplay:
    the author has the final aproval
  • S @ salazarcosplay:
    hunter x hunter
  • S @ salazarcosplay:
    he has not allowed anyone to continue it for him for example
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    @salazarcosplay, theres a dragon ball af mod for budokai 3
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    updated ship of harkinian, gonna install some hd texture pack
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    I might download rayman revolution for my ps3
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I may try the new ram site, and download more RAM to my Switch. Not sure if ddr3 is the right ram
    for it tho. Edit- no it uses floppy Ram, just like @AncientBoi
    +1
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    aeiou
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    And sometimes Z
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    @K3Nv2, MAGA supporters be wearing tin foil hats lol.
    +1
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    @SylverReZ, whats maga?
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    It stands for Maniacs Against General Acceptance
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    @BigOnYa, people rejecting general consensus about stuff?
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Yup, nuh its really just Trump followers
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    @BigOnYa, im not american so i dont care about trump
    +1
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    or us elections
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Me niether, us north Koreans don't care
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    good night
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    i don't care either, even if i'm american
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    truth be told, i agree with psi, i dislike both candidates, but i'd probably vote trump simply because the economy was better during his presidency
  • AngryCinnabon @ AngryCinnabon:
    Just be careful, if trump ends up winning and using project 2025 America might really change...for the worse.
  • AngryCinnabon @ AngryCinnabon:
    I'm not american and even that sends shivers down my spine.
  • AngryCinnabon @ AngryCinnabon:
    anything that offers trump an opportunity to become an actual dictator
    is bad in my book, i could care less if it wasn't for that...
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Canada: America's Russia
    K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2: Canada: America's Russia