3.3u Softmodded wii, safe to install IOS50,53,55

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Bobbarooskie, Dec 10, 2009.

  1. Bobbarooskie
    OP

    Newcomer Bobbarooskie Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    83
    Country:
    United States
    My 3.3u wii is soft modded with HBC, USB Loader GX, CIO rev 14 and NeoGamma 7.

    I'm trying to get Excitebike wii ware to stop resetting to the main channel screen.
    Is it okay for me to install
    IOS50-64-v4889.wad, IOS53-64-v5149.wad, IOS55-64-v5149.wad via wad manager 1.3?
     
  2. ocdetective

    Member ocdetective GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    601
    Country:
    Malaysia
    AFAIK IOS 50 is for system menu 3.4 only and not needed for games? 38,53 and 55 and possibly 56 are typically the missing IOSes for main wii games - cant speak for WiiWare however
     
  3. vegemikee

    Member vegemikee GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    356
    Country:
    Australia
    yeah, ios53,55 and 56 are the IOS' that are used by a lot of newer games.
    its safe to install IOS files via wad manager on your 3.3
     
  4. Bobbarooskie
    OP

    Newcomer Bobbarooskie Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    83
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you for the help and quick replies! problem solved.
     
  5. CuriousG

    Member CuriousG GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    101
    Country:
    United States
    I'm having a similar problem which affects Wiiware games and Opera Channel. Wiiware games reboot (Excite Bike and Frogger) but I can get around that by loading the channel through GeckOS. The Opera Channel however is weird because it will run but WWW is greyed out and I can't enter any text at all because of it. I'm running 3.1U. All my other games work.

    Will installing 53, 55 and 56 fix this problem?

    Update: Fixed the problem by using DOP-IOS and installing 53 and 55. Already had an older version of 56 and since I don't have anything that required WiiSpeak I just left it alone. I noticed that my System Menu now says 3.2U though which isn't a big deal. Anyway, this fixed the Wiiware games and Opera Channel problems.
     

Share This Page