2 questions about Wood R4.....

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by chaoscreater, Dec 11, 2010.

Dec 11, 2010
  1. chaoscreater
    OP

    Newcomer chaoscreater Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    New Zealand
    Hi guys, I've been searching around for ages and couldn't find anything on this.

    How do I change the brightness while playing a game?? I can do that fine when I'm in the Wood R4 menu where you can select your games and other settings, I can click the brightness icon to change it or press the "R" key. But when I'm playing a game, there doesn't seem to be a shortcut to do it??

    Also, same thing with cheats. What combinations do I need to press to load up the cheats?? I already put the cheat files in the correct folder btw.

    The only combination I know is soft reset which is L+R+A+B+Down, and that basically takes you back to the Wood R4 menu where you can select your games.
     
  2. jurassicplayer

    Member jurassicplayer Completionist Themer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,280
    Location:
    Pantsuland
    Country:
    United States
    Just what flashcart are you coming from o.0 (the flashcarts with those features...are sort of better than the R4)...most of the flashcarts I know of can't do either of those by a shortcut...There should be a cheat for every game that allows you to change the brightness in-game anyways.

    The softreset is SUPPOSED to be for just that, softreseting back to the WoodR4 menu...you set the cheats before you load the game.
     
  3. chaoscreater
    OP

    Newcomer chaoscreater Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    New Zealand
    I'm using the R4 Revolution.

    I thought the features come from the firmware/kernel itself?

    So we can't set the cheats during the game? Like an option to toggle it on and off?
     
  4. jurassicplayer

    Member jurassicplayer Completionist Themer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,280
    Location:
    Pantsuland
    Country:
    United States
    lol You are expecting too much from a basic flashcart. The only flashcarts that I know of that have the ability to do what you are asking is probably stuff like the DSTWO, iSMM, and maybe DSOne (?).
     
  5. chaoscreater
    OP

    Newcomer chaoscreater Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    New Zealand
    oh well I know some DSTT and R4 carts can do that, maybe even those clone ones can......

    I thought those features are only a matter or what kernel or firmware the carts use, and the carts themselves just uses AP or exploit to load the roms?

    I just read this topic here:
    http://gbatemp.net/t227742-new-users-guide...ting-up-wood-r4

    and it doesn't seem to mention anything about changing brightness during game.

    Ah well...
     
  6. RoMee

    Member RoMee ??

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,316
    Location:
    ??
    Country:
    United States

    are you talking about real time cheats??

    because only a few carts can do that, dstwo is one of them

    as for brightness, it can only be done while at the menu
     
  7. chaoscreater
    OP

    Newcomer chaoscreater Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    New Zealand
    ya, cheats that you can enable/disable anytime you want while you're playing the game.
     
  8. RoMee

    Member RoMee ??

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,316
    Location:
    ??
    Country:
    United States

    I don't know too many carts that have real time cheats, and I own quite a few carts
    I've never owned a dstt but I don't think it has real time cheats
     
  9. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    There's a cheat that lets you change the brightness in-game on a DS Lite with a shortcut key, it's in the official gbatemp cheats database, and it's in the cheats list for every single game that has cheats.

    http://cheats.gbatemp.net/
     
  10. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    Soft Reset (A+B+L+R+Down in Wood) and In-Game Reset (Usually A+B+X+Y+L+R) are two different things.
    Soft Reset is something from the flashcart and returns you to the cart's menu.
    In-Game Reset is from the game and resets the game menu, not all games have this.
     
  11. appledrank

    Newcomer appledrank Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    United States
    Can you soft reset from emulators (nes and snes)?
     
  12. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    If your card/card's menu supports homebrew soft reset.
    I'm pretty sure Wood does not, but AKAIO does and lets you choose two methods for doing it.
     
  13. chaoscreater
    OP

    Newcomer chaoscreater Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    New Zealand
    i already have it and yup that option is at the very bottom of every cheat of every game, the thing is i dunno the combinations......

    and guys i know what soft-reset and in-game reset does, i'm NOT asking about what they do or what the combinations are. Please just focus on my question itself.....
     
  14. Alex658

    Member Alex658 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    668
    Location:
    Venezuela
    Country:
    Venezuela
    1. YOU CAN'T. You cannot change the brightness INSIDE of a game by itself.. However if you enable the DSlite backlight control AR cheat. you can do it.. this can cause random crashes in the game though.. the combination is: L+R+SELECT then UP to increase the brightness. and L+R+SELECT then DOWN to decrease the brightness..

    2. YOU CAN ONLY DO IT IN THE MAIN MENU OF WOODR4. you select a game and BEFORE you start it you press Y and then X. You CAN'T bring the cheat menu when you are playing the game. WoodR4 Does NOT support Real time cheats.

    Does that answer your questions?
     
  15. chaoscreater
    OP

    Newcomer chaoscreater Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    New Zealand

    yup thanks a lot. I already got the cheats working fine yesterday, now i'll just need to test out the brightness combination [​IMG]


    Oh btw, has anyone used cheats on RPG games like Golden Sun Dark Dawn? They don't seem to work properly. I enabled cheats for Max LVL and Max Status, and sure they work and showed 9999 stats for everything such as your HP, Attack etc......but once you restart the game, you have to reapply them again, you can still see that your EXP is fully maxed out but it doesn't seem like the characters are leveled up properly, it's not like you defeat the enemies in a battle and gain EXP properly that way. I hope this made sense.....
     

Share This Page