2 GB MicroSD Cards...

Discussion in 'M3 Adapter' started by FuLei, Jan 25, 2007.

Jan 25, 2007

2 GB MicroSD Cards... by FuLei at 2:05 AM (2,469 Views / 0 Likes) 21 replies

  1. FuLei
    OP

    Member FuLei GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    118
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, basically I was wondering what company's 2 gig microSD cards work well for M3 Lite/M3 Simply. What does Japan/Taiwan have to do with it? Anyone with experience?
     


  2. tama_mog

    Member tama_mog Kupo

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,288
    Country:
    United States
    2gb cards are usually kept down in speed due to size....all the ultra versions or fast reading cards are all kept @ 1gig for faster data access. It will work fine with the m3 simply and lite (I should know, I use them now) for every game except one, Castlevania: Portrait of the Ruins. I've tried the sandisk ultra 1 gig and also the kingston micro sd (taiwan made) against it with no luck, still freezes...I'm picking up 2 toshiba cards tonight to do some further tests and I'll report to se if my findings support this idea that the japanese made 1 gig micro sd cards run quick enough so POR runs fine.
     
  3. FuLei
    OP

    Member FuLei GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    118
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    Wait, it's nmot a huge deal for me if one game doesn't run on the 2 gig cards, unless of course, you think there will be many other games in the future that will not. You say that the ultra versions aren't available with 2 gig cards, so are you saying that a regular 2 gig wouldn't run fine? as far as transferring goes, speed doesn't matter to me. The only reason I really want a 2 gig is cause I want one card that I can bring with my ds everywhere and just leave it in there permanently, and put every game that I'll need on it. Thanks.
     
  4. kmihalj

    Newcomer kmihalj Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Messages:
    98
    Location:
    Croatia
    Country:
    Croatia
    I have 2 GB TakeMS MicroSD (in M3 Simply), .... all working fine even Castlevania: POR [​IMG]
     
  5. FuLei
    OP

    Member FuLei GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    118
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    sweet. anybody know if m3 simply is any different than m3 lite running rom-wise?
     
  6. tama_mog

    Member tama_mog Kupo

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,288
    Country:
    United States
    It's different that it's easier to use, and more compatible. I've found a couple Japanese games no one on the wiki bothered to test that didn't work properly with m3 lite (or some boots and it freezes later). The 2gb microsd will work fine for everything else, in fact, Castlevania:POR is a problem because I firmly believe the freezing problem isn't completely resolved even with one of these magical Japanese cards, there's proof of it in another forum as well and I myself was going to test this theory that it still freezes but from the reports others have made, I'd say it's a safe bet that the game will freeze on any card if you overload it enough with enough actions in certain rooms.
     
  7. 111111111

    Member 111111111 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    516
    Country:
    Zimbabwe
    The sandisk 2gb ultra version has been available for a while now.
     
  8. tama_mog

    Member tama_mog Kupo

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,288
    Country:
    United States
    See, the interesting thing is that it's not on their webpage, and they're not sold anywhere right now. I don't know if it was a branding error but I got 2 when I was in a local verizon store, but now I don't see them around, just the regular 2gb sandisk. So I'm not sure what the final say is in regards to if it's really an ultra or not.
     
  9. 111111111

    Member 111111111 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    516
    Country:
    Zimbabwe
    Hmm, well a seller on amazon.co.uk has been selling the ultra II 2gb for a few weeks ( see here, as have a few other official resellers.

    As you say though, it isn't on the website - so no idea if they are official or not (and there are lots of sandisk fakes)..
     
  10. magikalfly

    Newcomer magikalfly Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Messages:
    42
    Country:
    I believe sandisk does have ultra ii 2gbs. I've seen Verizon sell them. Although Sandisk does not list them, they do exist and I believe they are genuine.
     
  11. Firon

    Member Firon GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    Messages:
    116
    Country:
    United States
    Have you ever bought one? THere's a lot of fakes out there.
     
  12. tama_mog

    Member tama_mog Kupo

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,288
    Country:
    United States
    I bought both mine from verizon, I highly doubt a verizon store would carry a fake card of any kind, however, if it does not exist I believe it's a misbadge on sandisk's part.
     
  13. greyhound

    Member greyhound GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    504
    Location:
    Oxford
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    http://www.mymemory.co.uk/SanDisk quite near the bottom. i've had one for a few days now and not had any problems as of yet. I haven't tried Castlevania:POR but i will in the next couple of days
     
  14. sneekysneeky

    Newcomer sneekysneeky Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    These guys also sell them and they are very reputable, so they must be real. I'm going to be getting one at the end of the month.

    HERE

    In fact searching the product ID in Google brings up a few places selling them = SDSDQU-2048-E10M
     
  15. greyhound

    Member greyhound GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    504
    Location:
    Oxford
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    the 2gb sandisk ultra II are all around £40, i got my 1gb ultra II for £35 about 4 months ago.
     
  16. jimminy_kriket

    Newcomer jimminy_kriket Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Canada
    I have a 2 gig Corsair card, works fine. I tried the european POR but it froze [​IMG]. Does it make a difference if its the north american ver. or the european one?
     
  17. js0ul

    Newcomer js0ul Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
  18. DShunter

    Newcomer DShunter Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2006
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    I willing to bet it will work. Any SD cards with a capacity of 4GB or more will be labelled as SDHC (Secure Digital High Capacity) also on the official R4 site they said SD cards from 128MB to 4GB are SUPPORTED. Since the M3 Simply and R4 DS uses the same hardware it will work.
     
  19. magikalfly

    Newcomer magikalfly Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Messages:
    42
    Country:
    I don't know if it will work unless the R4 or Simply support SDHC specifically. Maybe able to do with a firmware update?

    SDHC is a new standard for High Capacity SD cards. Regular old SD cards will work fine in SDHC drives and devices but SDHC cards will/might not work in SD drives and devices.

    Think of SDHC like DVD's and regular SD as CD's. CD's play in new DVD drives but DVD's don't play in old CD drives.

    But don't hold me to this. I think I read that SDHC COULD work with some devices but there might be speed problems, capacity recognition problems and just plain not a good idea.
     
  20. js0ul

    Newcomer js0ul Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    Thanks for the replies. So has anyone bought and tested the 2gb Ultra II Sandisk card? Does it work really well with the M3 simply as in like no freezing and crashing for PoR?
     

Share This Page