2 Acekard 2i's, possible to update one via another

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by IcedDuck, Feb 9, 2013.

  1. IcedDuck
    OP

    Newcomer IcedDuck Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Ireland
    I recently bought 2 Acekard 2i's, one came updated, one did not.

    The second acekard was for a friend, he has the same 3ds firmware as me.

    I was wondering if it is possible to use the working Acekard and update the other acekard
     
  2. YankeeFan802

    Member YankeeFan802 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    256
    Location:
    PA
    Country:
    United States
    As far as I know you cannot. You'd have to find a DS that recognizes it so you can run the updater.
     
  3. bowser

    Member bowser Mwa ha ha ha!

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,178
    Location:
    GBAtemp ↑↑↓↓← → ← →BA
    Country:
    India
    I think you can update it using the cart swap method only if you have a DS/DS Lite.

    EDIT: Actually if you have a DS you can update it directly. Cart swap method is for fixing bricked carts.
     
  4. IcedDuck
    OP

    Newcomer IcedDuck Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Ireland
    Are you both sure? Would it be possible to find a utility (in software form .nds) that I could launch on the updated Acekard 2i that would then prompt me to change the cart to the outdated firmware acekard 2i and then launch it? Wherein I could then update the Acekard from its own menu
     
  5. tbgtbg

    Member tbgtbg Shaking the ring ropes up in the sky

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,951
    Country:
    United States
    Such a thing couldn't work on a 3DS or DSi due to how it handles a hot swap of the cart slot.
     
  6. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    if your AK2i will not boot on your DSi/3DS, then you can't update it on those. In addition to the security checks, they also disabled cart swapping so you can't boot the update from another cart.
     
  7. RukaRoaw

    Newcomer RukaRoaw Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2012
    Messages:
    62
    Country:
    United States
    Yes. I have two Acekard 2i cartridges. My brother's wouldn't update and then became bricked. I popped mine into a DS lite and booted up the latest Acekard 2i update, ran the update on my card which it then told me to insert another card. I inserted my brother's Acekard 2i and it was updated and worked again.

    But like they said before me.. You still need a DS phat or DS lite to update period. Cart swapping or just updating.
     

Share This Page