Zelda savegame hack released

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by manias, Feb 11, 2008.

Feb 11, 2008

Zelda savegame hack released by manias at 10:57 AM (3,880 Views / 0 Likes) 22 replies

  1. manias
    OP

    Member manias GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,258
    Country:
    Netherlands


  2. MarcoZ

    Newcomer MarcoZ Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Messages:
    72
    Location:
    Italy
    Country:
    Italy
    Looking good. imo softmod is on the way to turn in a psp-like battle. "Donation @ /dev/null", lol.
     
  3. Redsquirrel

    Member Redsquirrel GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    615
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Looks definatly interesting! Although doing this everytime i want to run homebrew would pretty much turn me off..
     
  4. rej156

    Newcomer rej156 Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    *Watches as newsgroups + retail stores having no bandwidth or stock*
    Why doesn't every game just have this exploit =D
     
  5. superrob

    Member superrob H4X H4X H4X!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,465
    Location:
    GBATemp factory.
    Country:
    Denmark
    Works [​IMG]
    Shows that more than just 4 lines of code can be done!
     
  6. SinR

    Member SinR The Terribad Gamer

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    111
    Location:
    Somewhere
    Country:
    United States
    im quite impressed... i think we are on the verge of a major breakthrough as far as Wii "homebrew" is concerned... im not saying run Wii-isos off an external HDD... but Linux on Wii... bust out a wireless keyboard/mouse, or use the Wiimote as a mouse...

    all the Wii needs now is a media center program that would run videos/mp3s and shit... too bad Nintendo didnt think of something like that [​IMG]
     
  7. manias
    OP

    Member manias GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,258
    Country:
    Netherlands
    well the wii isn't powerful enough to do media center stuff I recon.. and no HD gives it no advantage over the old xbox.. :/
     
  8. Rammoth

    Member Rammoth GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Messages:
    463
    Country:
    United States
    What the hell is there so special about this =\

    Datel did this pretty much at the launch of the Wii with their powersave tool..

    Or am I missing the point?
     
  9. ProdigySim

    Member ProdigySim GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Messages:
    191
    Country:
    United States
    You're probably missing the point.

    I don't know what Datel did, but it was probably not running unsigned code through a savegame exploit, sorry.
     
  10. HaloBenish

    Member HaloBenish GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    383
    Country:
    Canada
    Did some testing on launch Wii NTSC-U no mod chip, along with an original copy of launch TP.
    1: Cursor works fine even after booting hacked save file.
    2: You do not need to talk to that guy, leaving the area makes it crash and boot into the new code.
    3: When pausing the game and attempting to enter options the game crashes without booting the new code.
    4: A new save game can be created on Slot 2 or 3 and will run normally.
     
  11. Rammoth

    Member Rammoth GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Messages:
    463
    Country:
    United States
    Nah just a hacked savegame with all stats to max and all equipment and such.

    Guess I should just stay out of wii hacking related topics [​IMG]
     
  12. ProdigySim

    Member ProdigySim GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Messages:
    191
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah. The black screen with text at the end of the video is actually showing up on the Wii. That's video captured from the Wii. If you download the save and try it on your own wii, that black screen complete with the linux penguin will show up on your TV.
    It's a little different.
     
  13. fugazi

    Newcomer fugazi Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Messages:
    70
    Country:
    Spain
    512Mb flash ram, wiifi, bluetooth, the wiimote, usb ports, SD reader, the size!!! Yes, definitevelly the wii dosent have any advantage over the xbox [​IMG]
     
  14. Pikachu025

    Member Pikachu025 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    960
    Location:
    Austria
    Country:
    Austria
    For media center stuff, he's right, there wouldn't be a big advantage.

    Especially considering the Wii's 512 MB flash compared to the Xbox's 8GB HDD.
     
  15. DeepFriedAsian

    Member DeepFriedAsian GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    318
    Location:
    Michigan
    Country:
    United States
    That sounds really creepy......

    I'll go try this later, seems like some major stuff will come from this.
     
  16. CockroachMan

    Member CockroachMan Scribbling around GBATemp's kitchen.

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Messages:
    3,889
    Location:
    Brazil
    Country:
    Brazil
    Using Wii's storage for a media center.. not a good idea..
    BUT the Wii has Wifi access! Shouldn't be too hard to make the Wii access your PC's hard disk through Wifi and play movies and music from there [​IMG]

    Also.. a DVD/DivX player would be cool!
     
  17. SinR

    Member SinR The Terribad Gamer

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    111
    Location:
    Somewhere
    Country:
    United States
    problem is, IIRC, the Wii lense is not made to constantly read data, just burst data

    but, XBMC on the Xbox had a network browser, could stream music/videos from another computer. also, remember that the Wii ALSO has an SD slot, load a 1gb up with a movie, a few hundred MP3s and you're good to go. XBox only had 64megs of RAM(iirc), compared to the Wii's 512
     
  18. stingfist

    Newcomer stingfist Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    86
    Country:
    Turkey
    And what about USB drives? I have a 320gb hard drive that I could happily use on my Wii [​IMG]
     
  19. Tweaked

    Member Tweaked GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    141
    Country:
    Canada
    Very newbish question here.

    Are they going to be able to isolate the section of code that allows this to happen?


    Or are us RVL-RZDE-0A-2 usa disc-holders out of luck, because this is not possible with that version of the game?
     
  20. Pikachu025

    Member Pikachu025 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    960
    Location:
    Austria
    Country:
    Austria
    Wii has 512 MB RAM? I seriously doubt that.
     

Share This Page