X360 Gets Price-Drop (in America)

Discussion in 'User Submitted News' started by Doomsday Forte, Sep 4, 2008.

Sep 4, 2008
  1. Doomsday Forte
    OP

    Member Doomsday Forte GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,272
    Country:
    United States
    http://www.gamespot.com/news/6197209.html

    Summary?

    Arcade is now $199, the 60GB model is a hundred dollars more for $299, and the 120GB Elite is now $399. This comes hot on the heels of a similar price drop in Japan, meaning that it is now lower in price than the Wii in both NA and JP.

    While the Arcade is "gimped" in a way with the lack of hard drive, but if you want to play X360 games, now would be the time. Though one can't help but ask, with Nintendo now unseated as the lowest-priced system on the market, what would their response be?

    Edit: Removed false information, and anything else I can't confirm (I really need the system in my hands if I'm gonna report on it >_>)
     


  2. Defiance

    Member Defiance oh my god.. it's full of trading cards...

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,504
    Location:
    Terminus
    Country:
    United States
    Wait, the Arcade can't play any Live? Dude, that's the whole reason anyone would buy a 360!
     
  3. Pimpmynintendo

    Member Pimpmynintendo GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    608
    Location:
    Arkansas
    Country:
    United States
    Nobody in their right mind would buy an arcade.
     
  4. Monster On Strin

    Member Monster On Strin GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    332
    Location:
    The other side of the internet
    Country:
    United States
    I want an elite but its still pretty expensive [​IMG]
     
  5. myuusmeow

    Member myuusmeow GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,643
    Country:
    United States
    Is that true?
     
  6. Doomsday Forte
    OP

    Member Doomsday Forte GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,272
    Country:
    United States
    I can be wrong here, since I only bought my dad the Arcade last Christmas, but I'm pretty sure it is Live-incapable somehow. Don't quote me. I may be wrong, and it instead lacks an internal wireless adaptor, meaning you need a wired connection to get it online, which we are lacking. It still acts as though you can get on Live though we have no way at the present.

    My apologies if I am spreading false news. =\

    Edit: Okay, it seems that Live DOES work on an Arcade. My apologies! I'll fix my original post.
     
  7. Pimpmynintendo

    Member Pimpmynintendo GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    608
    Location:
    Arkansas
    Country:
    United States
    You can have x-box live you just need to buy the ethernet cable and have broadband i am pretty sure i think the arcade version even gets 1 month free of xbox live gold
     
  8. myuusmeow

    Member myuusmeow GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,643
    Country:
    United States
    If so, then I might use this against my parents:
    "You seem so willing to buy an underpowered fad called the Wii for $250, so would you consider buying a 360 for only $200 now?"
     
  9. Pimpmynintendo

    Member Pimpmynintendo GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    608
    Location:
    Arkansas
    Country:
    United States
  10. Doomsday Forte
    OP

    Member Doomsday Forte GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,272
    Country:
    United States
    Okay, I think I have everything factual now. I'm trying to figure out just what exactly an Arcade LACKS apart from the HDD. That means you can't play old Xbox titles, save to HDD, and do HDD-installs, but you can still throw one in there at a later time.

    ...right?
     
  11. Defiance

    Member Defiance oh my god.. it's full of trading cards...

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,504
    Location:
    Terminus
    Country:
    United States
    Wait- can't you just buy HD Cables, a Broadband cable, and Live? Or does this type of 360 just not support it?
     
  12. GeekyGuy

    Global Moderator GeekyGuy Professional loafer

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    4,739
    Country:
    United States
    Even at $299, the 60GB version seems like a decent deal, considering what they're charging for the Wii. And I won't go there...

    Only thing that still leaves me cold with the system is its insane failure rate. MS still doesn't have their quality control under control -- at least not to my liking. Even if they replace systems with little hassle, it's still a hassle to deal with shipping systems back and forth two or three (or more) times. That's the kind of shit that frustrates me into a froth. [​IMG]
     
  13. Lumstar

    Member Lumstar Princess

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    3,531
    Location:
    Darling
    Country:
    United States
    The only actual feature of older models that couldn't be added with a first-party add-on, was the HDMI port.

    A headset can be bought. Same with the hard drive, Live, component cable, etc.

    I'm not counting the Elite system color or faceplate as a "feature" for obvious reasons. Since that's cosmetic.
     
  14. The Teej

    Former Staff The Teej Also known as The Tjalian

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Messages:
    4,210
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The arcade version of the 360 is EXACTLY, down to the HDMI port, the same as the other versions of the XBOX 360. The only difference is the lack of a Hard Drive. Yes, you can go online, you just use the 256MB memory card that comes with it. Profiles are hardly memory hoggers. Yes, you can buy a hard drive and use it on the arcade version. The only things you cannot do without a hard drive is XBOX emulation and XBOX Originals. DLC, Demos, Videos, Music and Pictures are all possible (although obviously, some DLC might be too big for your memory card, and you'll run out space eventually for media). Even XBLA titles can be downloaded onto your memory card.

    The arcade version really isn't as gimped as people would make it out to be.
     
  15. Defiance

    Member Defiance oh my god.. it's full of trading cards...

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,504
    Location:
    Terminus
    Country:
    United States
    Is the Xbox Arcade the same thing as the Core?
     
  16. Prime

    Member Prime GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,664
    Location:
    Under your bed
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ffs people. Every 360 model can access live, Doomsday just likes to spread false information.

    You can get online either by a wireless bridge (hooked to the 360 via ethernet), microsoft's wifi adaptor or connect your 360 to your router via ethernet.

    Now Calm down and don't spread flase information unless it is really false doomsday so you don't cause confusion.
     
  17. littlestevie

    Member littlestevie GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    234
    Location:
    under a bridge
    Country:
    Australia
    yes and no

    its the same in the way of what doesnt come with it, the only difference is it comes with 5 free XBLA games, and a 256Mb memory card (oh and 95% of arcades i have seen are all falcon revision boards)
     
  18. Akoji

    Member Akoji +5 internets to psyfira for avatar.

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2002
    Messages:
    1,774
    Location:
    lachine qc. canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Is this price drop works in Canada too?
     
  19. Vater Unser

    Member Vater Unser GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Messages:
    2,184
    Location:
    Pen Island
    Country:
    Germany
    In both NA and JP?
    What about Europe, where it's been cheaper than the Wii for AGES?
     
  20. The Teej

    Former Staff The Teej Also known as The Tjalian

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Messages:
    4,210
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No one cares about Europe, lol [​IMG]
     

Share This Page