Hardware X2VGA image quality

wiki

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 15, 2006
Messages
120
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
110
Country
I'm thinking of getting a X2VGA2 so that I can plug my Wii into a 22inch lcd monitor. Does anyone know what the image quality is like? I've been browsing through various forums, and i'm getting mixed results. For example, some claim that there is red banding on the screen, the colours are washed out with a green tint.

If you have one, please give me your feedback and let me know if it's worth getting it. I don't expect superior hdmi quality, but i do expect component/vga level quality.

Also, as I live in Australia, does the company provide the appropriate power supply connector?

Thanks.
 

robi

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 29, 2006
Messages
262
Trophies
0
Age
37
Location
Houston, TX
Website
Visit site
XP
88
Country
France
I couldn't know what the image quality is like since I've never used a X2VGA but for the power supply connection you can do 1 of two things...

After looking at their website the thing is powered by DC (I couldn't find the voltage) but you can buy an Australian AC to DC adapter that takes the 220V and outputs the DC voltage it requires.

Even easier would be if the device already supports 110/220 voltages and all you would need is a cheap adapter to change the US plug type to the AUS plug type. (note this is not a step-down converter---it's much cheaper than those)
 

wiki

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 15, 2006
Messages
120
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
110
Country
Thanks, ill definitely refer back to this if i do get one.
As the x2vga uses DC input, would simply buying an australian dc adapter work, as opposed to what you have suggested? Eg, when i purchased a router from the US i simply replaced the adapter with an australian one. Worked perfectly.

the method you suggested seems to convert the voltage output of the supplied power adapter.

edit: It seems that the company provides the appropriate adapter. "The input of the power adapter we provide is AC 100~240V, and we will include an appropriate adapter plug to you according to where you located." So i guess i won't have to worry about that anymore. Thanks for helping though.
 

jelbo

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2003
Messages
877
Trophies
2
XP
896
Country
Netherlands
I can hook you up on some pics later. Image quality is top notch btw, but it only supports progressive signals.
 

DarkLG

Wow One Shiny Ribbon!!!!
Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2007
Messages
1,401
Trophies
0
Age
31
Location
Indiana
XP
175
Country
United States
hey jsut download WinDVR and install it.then connect your wii to the composite cable input on the back of your pc(if you have a tv tuner card).Then just launch WinDVR and go to settings and under tv i think change it from s-video to composite and it should work.
 

ArAcHnId

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 9, 2007
Messages
35
Trophies
0
XP
87
Country
Belgium
hehe funny, they listed the ps3 in their list, i thought ps3 only has high definition connectors, no regurlar ones

btw jelbo, goddamit, i thought something was walking on my screen
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Yay power outages
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    @BigOnYa, I'm your friend
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    There literally no storms in your area, does it go out alot? You need to just send me your slim n ill rgh3 it free.
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Or grow sum balls and do it yourself, not hard. More of a pain to jailbreak a ps4 than it is the 360, other than little soldering.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Problem is my dick gets in the way
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Yea true, would be a pain having that on your forehead
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    The chicks love it
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Every damn time there's a loud noise dudes car alarm goes off freaking annoying
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Stun gun the metal of the car (door, bumper, etc), you won't hear it again, promise.
  • realtimesave @ realtimesave:
    damn accidentally ripped my car cover just now
  • realtimesave @ realtimesave:
    happens
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Or plant drugs get him evicted
  • realtimesave @ realtimesave:
    the one on my other car is all ripped up
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Not your $400 car cover :ohnoes:
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    There you go, thinking with your "dickhead"
  • realtimesave @ realtimesave:
    some day the wind will blow so hard it'll rip in half
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I think in big inches
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    @realtimesave Can you sew it back together? Or is it not worth trying.
  • realtimesave @ realtimesave:
    nah sewing it will make it come apart more :)
  • realtimesave @ realtimesave:
    that one is pretty old
  • realtimesave @ realtimesave:
    the one on my mercedes is a couple years old. these things don't last very long at all
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Are you near sea/salt water, or in general they just don't last. Sounds like if you driving a mercedes, you need a garage. I get snow n ice here so nothing worse than clearing that shit off at 6am rushing to get to work.
  • realtimesave @ realtimesave:
    I'm a few miles away from the salt water
    +1
  • realtimesave @ realtimesave:
    ya I would garage it if there was room in the garage for a car :|
    realtimesave @ realtimesave: ya I would garage it if there was room in the garage for a car :|