X2VGA image quality

Discussion in 'Wii - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by wiki, Dec 8, 2007.

Dec 8, 2007

X2VGA image quality by wiki at 7:36 AM (1,575 Views / 0 Likes) 6 replies

  1. wiki
    OP

    Member wiki GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    120
    Country:
    Australia
    I'm thinking of getting a X2VGA2 so that I can plug my Wii into a 22inch lcd monitor. Does anyone know what the image quality is like? I've been browsing through various forums, and i'm getting mixed results. For example, some claim that there is red banding on the screen, the colours are washed out with a green tint.

    If you have one, please give me your feedback and let me know if it's worth getting it. I don't expect superior hdmi quality, but i do expect component/vga level quality.

    Also, as I live in Australia, does the company provide the appropriate power supply connector?

    Thanks.
     
  2. robi

    Member robi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    264
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Country:
    France
    I couldn't know what the image quality is like since I've never used a X2VGA but for the power supply connection you can do 1 of two things...

    After looking at their website the thing is powered by DC (I couldn't find the voltage) but you can buy an Australian AC to DC adapter that takes the 220V and outputs the DC voltage it requires.

    Even easier would be if the device already supports 110/220 voltages and all you would need is a cheap adapter to change the US plug type to the AUS plug type. (note this is not a step-down converter---it's much cheaper than those)
     
  3. wiki
    OP

    Member wiki GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    120
    Country:
    Australia
    Thanks, ill definitely refer back to this if i do get one.
    As the x2vga uses DC input, would simply buying an australian dc adapter work, as opposed to what you have suggested? Eg, when i purchased a router from the US i simply replaced the adapter with an australian one. Worked perfectly.

    the method you suggested seems to convert the voltage output of the supplied power adapter.

    edit: It seems that the company provides the appropriate adapter. "The input of the power adapter we provide is AC 100~240V, and we will include an appropriate adapter plug to you according to where you located." So i guess i won't have to worry about that anymore. Thanks for helping though.
     
  4. robi

    Member robi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    264
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Country:
    France
    That australian dc adapter was the first solution I said. Good to know the company looks out for their International customers though.
     
  5. jelbo

    Member jelbo Ōkami!

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    807
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I can hook you up on some pics later. Image quality is top notch btw, but it only supports progressive signals.
     
  6. DarkLG

    Member DarkLG Wow One Shiny Ribbon!!!!

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,401
    Location:
    Indiana
    Country:
    United States
    hey jsut download WinDVR and install it.then connect your wii to the composite cable input on the back of your pc(if you have a tv tuner card).Then just launch WinDVR and go to settings and under tv i think change it from s-video to composite and it should work.
     
  7. ArAcHnId

    Newcomer ArAcHnId Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    Belgium
    hehe funny, they listed the ps3 in their list, i thought ps3 only has high definition connectors, no regurlar ones

    btw jelbo, goddamit, i thought something was walking on my screen
     

Share This Page