wtf bricked after installing a wad?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Bladexdsl, Oct 16, 2009.

Oct 16, 2009
  1. Bladexdsl
    OP

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,358
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    i've installed dozens of wads before and never once had a problem. just installed a wad made from loadstructor of a boy and his blob now the fucking wii won't boot up... this is BS!! IT'S NOT LOADSTRUCTORS FAULT IT'S THE GAME A BOY AND HIS BLOB IT IS BOOBY TRAPPED DO NOT MAKE A CHANNEL WAD OUT OF THIS GAME AND INSTALL IT!!
     


  2. G0dLiKe

    Member G0dLiKe who needs a title ;)

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,674
    Country:
    United States
    Ouch, that hurts.

    Any chance for you to recover from the brick?
     
  3. Bladexdsl
    OP

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,358
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    i don't see how
     
  4. linuxares

    Member linuxares GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,387
    Country:
    Sweden
    bannerbrick?

    Got Bootmii as Boot2?
     
  5. G0dLiKe

    Member G0dLiKe who needs a title ;)

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,674
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, BootMii on boot2 or preloader which starts BootMii IOS would be a possibility.
     
  6. Bladexdsl
    OP

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,358
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    nope nothing now i have to think of an excuse to tell N. fucking wii has a custom case, chip and shitloads of HB
    BEWARE OF LOADSTRUCTOR
     
  7. G0dLiKe

    Member G0dLiKe who needs a title ;)

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,674
    Country:
    United States
    I´ve got an idea, put the wad manager dol or elf on root of your SD Card and start it with bannerbomb.

    Then uninstall the wad which bricked your Wii.
     
  8. Bladexdsl
    OP

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,358
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    bannerbomb isn't installed though
     
  9. G0dLiKe

    Member G0dLiKe who needs a title ;)

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,674
    Country:
    United States
    Doesnt matter, bannerbomb can not be "installed" like a wad, it executes a program, so just try out what I suggested to see if it works.
     
  10. Bladexdsl
    OP

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,358
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    so i just put bannerbomb on the sd card and insert it?
     
  11. G0dLiKe

    Member G0dLiKe who needs a title ;)

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,674
    Country:
    United States
    http://rapidshare.com/files/293680676/put_...s_root.zip.html

    Well, try to do it, if it doesnt work you have tried it.

    You dont have preloader? That would make it a lot easier.

    EDIT: bannerbrick, black screen? Right? maybe savemiifrii would help... I am not sure if the bannerbomb trick would work ATM because you cannot access the SD card channel menu under your Wii settings...

    EDIT2: Your Wii is chipped, so then you will need to get a Autoboot disc which boots wad manager and with this you can uninstall the wad. Maybe I´ll find one on my HD...

    EDIT3: Uploading wadmanager iso, this should help. It will take 15 mins for me to upload.
     
  12. Bladexdsl
    OP

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,358
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    yeah i can't access the menu at all after i click A after the front screen i get black screen of death.
     
  13. G0dLiKe

    Member G0dLiKe who needs a title ;)

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,674
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, my fault. Bannerbomb works only when SM can be accessed...

    The wad manager autoboot disc should work, uploading finished soon.
     
  14. linuxares

    Member linuxares GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,387
    Country:
    Sweden
    You got a bannerbrick then.

    Do you have a GC controller?
     
  15. Bladexdsl
    OP

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,358
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    K thanks dude so glad i have a chip as backup
    gc controller: i have a wavebird

    are developers booby trapping their games when you make them into wads now?!
     
  16. G0dLiKe

    Member G0dLiKe who needs a title ;)

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,674
    Country:
    United States
  17. Pakatus

    Member Pakatus GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Messages:
    777
    Location:
    Portugal
    Country:
    Portugal
    (sorry...wrong words)...
     
  18. Bladexdsl
    OP

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,358
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
  19. G0dLiKe

    Member G0dLiKe who needs a title ;)

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,674
    Country:
    United States
    We´re gonna get this solved.

    I´ve read somewhere about the savemiifrii method, you need a GC controller(wired one) and have to hit all 4 directions on the direction pad at the same time when the Wii starts up.

    Do a little search here, it is somewhere.

    And sorry to hear that the Autoboot disc wont work.

    Maybe some of the more enlightened members can help.

    Come on guys, help needed.
     
  20. WalkerOfTheDay

    Member WalkerOfTheDay GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    848
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I don't mean to flame, but how come an 'GBAtemp Addict' as you doesn't have some kind of brick protection like preloader installed ?? Everyone who messes with Wads takes a risk of bricking. Hell I bricks twice already with a few themes. This is easily fixed with preloader or bootmii as boot2. I hope you'll be able to fix it m8 !
     

Share This Page