Would you guys recommend this pc for gaming?

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by triassic911, Feb 24, 2010.

Feb 24, 2010
  1. triassic911
    OP

    Member triassic911 Burst Mode

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,743
    Location:
    NYC, USA
    Country:
    United States


  2. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
  3. Hakoda

    Member Hakoda GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,133
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Country:
    United States
    Wait, nvm. Rydian is right, that would be better except that $330 system has Vista so if you were looking for 7, pirate or buy a copy. [​IMG]

    Offtopic: Nice avatar, Avatar: The Last Airbender FTW.
     
  4. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    The video card scores 229 on passmark.
    The minimum for GTX IV (7900) scores 612.
    The recommended for GTA IV (an HD 3870) scores 964.
     
  5. granville

    Member granville GBAtemp Goat

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,977
    Location:
    Naples, Florida
    Country:
    United States
    I have a 4350, and yeah it's not any good. It will run newer games, but only at low resolution and framerate issues. I personally don't mind that stuff, i'm used to it, but you probably will mind it. It's a fanless card IIRC. Of course, if you can upgrade the GPU after getting the PC, it would be pretty decent. Of course, you'll probably need a better power supply as well.
     
  6. triassic911
    OP

    Member triassic911 Burst Mode

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,743
    Location:
    NYC, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Damn would it really not run anything recent?
     
  7. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, it will play recent games, but that's like saying "Yes, you can have sex with your sister". It will technically work, but it's... not recommended.
     
  8. nitrostemp

    Member nitrostemp GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,265
    Country:
    Australia
    lesson 1 never buy a HP or Compaq system, they break just after the warranty ends
     
  9. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    I call bullshit.
    [Citation needed]
    Where's the proof filling?
    And so on and so forth.
     
  10. nitrostemp

    Member nitrostemp GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,265
    Country:
    Australia
    my dad bought a compaq it broke days after the warranty ended, not to mention that compaqs are just old parts
     
  11. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Once again, please prove it.
     
  12. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,186
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    they dont even last till the warranty most of the time

    consumer reports
    toms hardware
    and pc world

    all have HP on the very bottom of the reliability list
     
  13. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Link to the lists?
     
  14. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,186
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
  15. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you. =D

    Remember kids, you get what you pay for.
     
  16. triassic911
    OP

    Member triassic911 Burst Mode

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,743
    Location:
    NYC, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Wow that sucks, now I'm completely discouraged.

    I should just build one huh?
     
  17. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Either build, or find a cheap prebuilt and replace the PSU and video card like I showed.
     
  18. Cermage

    Member Cermage GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,702
    Country:
    Australia
    If you're going to buy a prebuilt and replace the psu, you pretty much have the skills to build your own.

    i'd go with something like this and use an old harddrive or something. People have unlocked the extra 2 cores of the 550 using that motherboard, so its a potential quadcore for $100. people have also clocked it up to 4.0ghz, cores unlocked. Its great value for money, provided you want to go that far.

    [​IMG]
     
  19. ZeWarrior

    Member ZeWarrior TheWarrior

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,810
    Country:
    Brazil
    Why have a POTENTIAL quad core for $100, when you can get a REAL quad core for $100? (Athlon II X4 620)
     
  20. Cermage

    Member Cermage GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,702
    Country:
    Australia
    athlon II's have no L3 cache. Its literally removed. no where near as good for gaming.
     

Share This Page