ROM Hack [WIP] The Fourth Dimension: A Super Mario 3D land level editor

exelix11

Developer
OP
Developer
Joined
Feb 25, 2015
Messages
915
Trophies
1
Location
C:\users\exelix11\
XP
3,062
Country
Italy
Does someone know, how the boss Bunbun works?
I'm trying, to make a boss battle with him. But whenever Mario enters the SwitchOnArea, which should activate him, the game crashes. Is there something needed, to get him working. I already looked at 2-5: Bumbum will be activated by an Area (SwitchAppear) and when the battle begins, bunbun kills the PlayerControllOff Area (SwitchA). And when he is defeated, he activates a pipe (SwitchDeadOn). I already made it the same way, but it still crashes..
Pretty strange, maybe it's linked to the room or try using the same PreloadFileList1 from 2-5
 

Louis Miles

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2016
Messages
131
Trophies
0
Age
24
XP
759
Country
Germany
Ok. I've tried it with the PreloadFileList1 from 2-5 and it still crashes. What do you mean with linked to the room?
 

Louis Miles

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2016
Messages
131
Trophies
0
Age
24
XP
759
Country
Germany
Still crashes! I've taken the room to bunbun, but the result is the same. In 2-5 there's also a StickSnapOffArea, is this required? Or does bunbun need an viewID or something?
 
  • Like
Reactions: AutumnWolf

Skelux

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 21, 2009
Messages
83
Trophies
0
XP
413
Country
I've noticed that in the free-roam camera type, the camera can pass through walls. Is there any known way to fix this?
 

Skelux

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 21, 2009
Messages
83
Trophies
0
XP
413
Country
I think the only reason It works fine in 3-1 is because the camera mode changes before you can get to any walls.
The problem I'm talking about happens when you walk backwards toward the camera, the camera will move backward through any walls in its path.
Another thing I was wondering, has anyone found a parameter to give you infinite time? This is less important, but It might come in handy.
I'll probably have a video to show in the next couple of weeks.

Here are my settings:
<C0Name="CameraParams">
<C1>
<A0Name="Category" StringValue="Map" />
<A0Name="Class" StringValue="Follow" />
<C1Name="DashAngleTuner">
<D2Name="AddAngleMax" StringValue="15" />
<D2Name="ZoomOutOffsetMax" StringValue="200" />
</C1>
<D2Name="HighAngle" StringValue="25" />
<D1Name="InterpoleFrame" StringValue="-1" />
<C1Name="LimitBoxMax">
<D2Name="X" StringValue="3.402823E+38" />
<D2Name="Y" StringValue="3.402823E+38" />
<D2Name="Z" StringValue="3.402823E+38" />
</C1>
<C1Name="LimitBoxMin">
<D2Name="X" StringValue="-3.402823E+38" />
<D2Name="Y" StringValue="-3.402823E+38" />
<D2Name="Z" StringValue="-3.402823E+38" />
</C1>
<D2Name="LowAngle" StringValue="25" />
<D2Name="PullDistance" StringValue="800" />
<D2Name="PushDistance" StringValue="750" />
<C1Name="Rotator">
<D2Name="AngleMax" StringValue="30" />
</C1>
<D2Name="UpOffset" StringValue="100" />
<D1Name="UserGroupId" StringValue="1" />
<A0Name="UserName" StringValue="CameraArea" />
<C1Name="VerticalAbsorber">
<D0Name="IsInvalidate" StringValue="False" />
</C1>
<C1Name="VisionParam">
<D2Name="FovyDegree" StringValue="45" />
<D2Name="StereovisionDepth" StringValue="0.4" />
<D2Name="StereovisionDistance" StringValue="350" />
</C1>
</C1>
</C0>
 
Last edited by Skelux,
  • Like
Reactions: AtlasFontaine

SunakazeKun

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 19, 2015
Messages
22
Trophies
0
Location
Germany
Website
aurumsmods.com
XP
197
Country
Germany
This is a port of Flip-Swap Galaxy from Super Mario Galaxy 2 in Super Mario 3D Land. You can download it here.
Here are some screenshots:
FlipSwapFinal-02.png
FlipSwapFinal-03.png

FlipSwapFinal-04.png
FlipSwapFinal-07.png
 

Skelux

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 21, 2009
Messages
83
Trophies
0
XP
413
Country
Been playing around with custom objects while working on a level, should have something pretty impressive to show off by Sunday. Still no solution to the camera issues though - I'm thinking I might wind up having to manually alter the camera routines like I did with SM64 and SM64DS. I've also been documenting a bunch off stuff which I'll post.
 
  • Like
Reactions: AtlasFontaine

Louis Miles

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2016
Messages
131
Trophies
0
Age
24
XP
759
Country
Germany
I also found some useful camera types with little instructions, how to set them up in the editor ;)
Maybe they could be implemented as camera generators in the next version :D


Fixed Camera:
A camera, that is fixed (like in w5-2).
Pretty easy to understand. There are coordinates for 2 objects. The camera (CameraPos) and the point, the camera looks at (LookAtPos).

Code:
        <C1 Name="CameraPos">
          <D2 Name="X" StringValue="XXXX" />
          <D2 Name="Y" StringValue="YYYY" />
          <D2 Name="Z" StringValue="ZZZZ" />
        </C1>
        <A0 Name="Category" StringValue="Map" />
        <A0 Name="Class" StringValue="FixAll" />
        <C1 Name="LookAtPos">
          <D2 Name="X" StringValue="XXXX" />
          <D2 Name="Y" StringValue="YYYY" />
          <D2 Name="Z" StringValue="ZZZZ" />
        </C1>
        <D1 Name="UserGroupId" StringValue="XY" />
        <A0 Name="UserName" StringValue="CameraArea" />

CameraPos: Camera position with coordinates
LookAtPos: The position the camera looks at
UserGroupId: The camera ID


Here a little tutorial, how to place this camera in the editor at it's best:
Use Inspect as camera mode.
First go to the place, where the camera should look at. Then add an object (doesn't matter which object). Then select it and press Space, to make the camera look at it.
UL1cXCb.png

Now ONLY use the zoom and the right mousebutton, to zoom away from the object, and positioning the look in the editor so, how you want like to look it ingame.
kQkNcWN.png

Now add an object again. Now you can easily copy the position of the two objects into the Camera-code.
2dvikDr.png

This is, how it will looks, compared to editor and ingame:
kQkNcWN.png
RoF2gTC.png


Tower:
Used at towers or outside of toad houses.
Again, it's an easy procedure. The camera looks at an specific point (Position) and rotates around it.

Code:
        <A0 Name="Category" StringValue="Map" />
        <A0 Name="Class" StringValue="Tower" />
        <D2 Name="Distance" StringValue="XYZ" />
        <C1 Name="Position">
          <D2 Name="X" StringValue="XXXX" />
          <D2 Name="Y" StringValue="YYYY" />
          <D2 Name="Z" StringValue="ZZZZ" />
        </C1>
        <D1 Name="UserGroupId" StringValue="XY" />
        <A0 Name="UserName" StringValue="CameraArea" />

Distance: The distance between the camera and Mario
Position: The point's position, where the camera looks at
UserGroupId: The camera ID
 
  • Like
Reactions: mustafag32g

Louis Miles

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2016
Messages
131
Trophies
0
Age
24
XP
759
Country
Germany
Yay. Here is my remake of Shifting Sand Land from Mario 64 :D

RNWp54p.png
qgOvF7Y.png


It's not 100% finished yet, the models need some vertex collours and the quicksand needs to be animated, and i don't know, how to make that o.O
Also i'm searching for an idea, how to get the quicksand working, that it can push Mario to the middle. Oh and i want to add a boss, but it crashes everytime, and i don't know why :/
 

mustafag32g

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 30, 2014
Messages
806
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
2,331
Country
Argentina
Been playing around with custom objects while working on a level, should have something pretty impressive to show off by Sunday. Still no solution to the camera issues though - I'm thinking I might wind up having to manually alter the camera routines like I did with SM64 and SM64DS. I've also been documenting a bunch off stuff which I'll post.
Show us what you have :D
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    But it's a dead end
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    @Psionic Roshambo, people who cant download it can still play the game
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    If your internet speeds are fast enough. Streaming 4k takes alot. I used to only have 20mb sec, and 4k struggled. Now I have 300mb sec and 4k plays fine.
    +1
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    @BigOnYa, i only have like 1 or 2 mb sec
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Did you feed the hamster in your internet router? It prob died and is running slow now.
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    @BigOnYa, why did you start saying my pc has a hamster in the first place?
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Its actua!ly just a old joke, meaning its slow. Was just kidding around with you.
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I bet @AncientBoi has some hamsters hidden somewhere tho....
    +2
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I think Game streaming should work like this.... Local Hardware able the run the game fine, game engine and common assets stored locally, all FMV and music and textures could be streaming
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Some temporary storage
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    also @BigOnYa im making some progress on my gdevelop project, implemented various mechanics
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    They went all in on streaming, should have been more of a hybrid approach
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Or free government supplied high speed internet be nice also. Like Obama care. Xdqwerty that's cool, its time consuming but rewarding once done or playable, to see what you've made from scratch. Animations take forever, but worth it.
    +1
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    @BigOnYa, although the bullets are a bit buggy
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Not to mention this would be a massive pain to pirate
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    @BigOnYa,
    and the visual aspect of the game is quite crude (the sprite that looks best is that of the protagonist just because he is a stickman with sunglasses)
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    There is a bullets behaviour you assign to your character, that makes the code easier, under "behaviours"
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    i meant that when the character is pointing to the right, the bullets spawn where they should, but when he is on the right, they move to the right but the spawn point is incorrect
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Itch.io has lots of free assets also. Under the bullets behavior tab, there is a "rotate bullets" option, can try that. Or in the code can try
    - fire bullet Player.X(PlayerDirection)
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    im taking a break for today anyway
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    YEa gotta after a while, looking at code for long periods will bug your eyes.
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    That's cool tho, I'm proud of you going back to it, not giving up. It is difficult at first to learn, but fun once you get the hang of it. I think I've watched every tutorial video there is, but I still struggle sometimes to get stuff to work right. But gotta keep trying dif things, and eventually you will get it right.
    +1
    Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zT-Cy-hap_Q