WinRAR Help

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by BioHazardN00B, May 22, 2008.

May 22, 2008

WinRAR Help by BioHazardN00B at 12:47 AM (900 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. BioHazardN00B
    OP

    Newcomer BioHazardN00B Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    88
    Location:
    Somewhere
    Country:
    United States
    Okay ive got a 1.2 Gb .Rar file and i want to burn it onto 2, 700 Mb Discs, How do i split a .rar into multiple parts because i know it is possible. I Have Winrar PRO or w/e Btw....
     
  2. SavageWaffle

    Member SavageWaffle GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,123
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    I doubt thats possible.
     
  3. Narin

    Former Staff Narin The Cheat Master, kupo!

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,624
    Country:
    United States
    It is, its called spanned archives. You can break files into multiple RAR archives and then decompress them as if they were just one archive. I don't use WinRar so I can't give detailed instructions though on how to do it. I use PowerArchiver.
     
  4. Urza

    Member Urza hi

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6,493
    Country:
    United States
    There should be some sort of option like "max file size" when creating the archive, and thats what you want to set. Then it will automatically parse to a new file when that cap is hit.

    I use 7-Zip though.
     
  5. fischju

    Member fischju Rehabilitated Jaywalker

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,940
    Country:
    United States
    Open WinRar, navigate to the folder with that rar, select it, tools, convert archives, compression
     
  6. BioHazardN00B
    OP

    Newcomer BioHazardN00B Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    88
    Location:
    Somewhere
    Country:
    United States
    Ok i see "Split to volumes, Bytes" but i dont really know what to do from there... i selected the compression i want (CD700Mb) but nothing really happens...
    Edit: Uhh Sorry i spoke too soon, I think ive got it figured out, Thanks!
     
  7. fischju

    Member fischju Rehabilitated Jaywalker

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,940
    Country:
    United States
    Select it, press ok on that screen, and ok on the next. It should split it.
     
  8. BioHazardN00B
    OP

    Newcomer BioHazardN00B Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    88
    Location:
    Somewhere
    Country:
    United States
    I hit "save" on the second screen, is this gonna affect anything? (I hope not...)
     
  9. lewjay

    Member lewjay GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    108
    Country:
    Yeah, this is the way to do it, if you have the time, recompress with this selection from the start.
     

Share This Page