Windows XP or Vista on NDS

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by N1nt3nd0gam3r, Apr 18, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Apr 18, 2009
  1. N1nt3nd0gam3r
    OP

    Banned N1nt3nd0gam3r Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    129
    Location:
    Arizona
    Country:
    United States
    What does it even do I couldnt quite figure that out what is the point is it worth it lol?
     


  2. Rayler

    Newcomer Rayler Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    Australia
    If you mean to have XP or Vista running on the DS, I don't believe it will ever happen, due to the RAM and the Processor specs. They do have linux running there though, but not to its best capabilities.
     
  3. Joey Ravn

    Member Joey Ravn F*** you, Nintendo!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    1,337
    Country:
    Spain
    WTH are you talking about? The nearest thing to Windows on the DS is Win2DS, and that's just an app that shows your desktop on your DS, not a full OS.
     
  4. Raiser

    Member Raiser I am mad scientist.

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    1,565
    Country:
    Canada
    I have no idea what you are talking about. Why in the hell would you want that on your DS? There's no point.. just go to your computer.
     
  5. Edgedancer

    Member Edgedancer Director of Moon based operations

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Canberra
    Country:
    Australia
    Someone has built a windows themed application for the DS but I am unsure of what it actually does.
     
  6. N-TG

    Member N-TG GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    374
    Location:
    Greece, Thessaloniki
    Country:
    Greece
    Well...for ds you better run the first windows ever made...If you can of course
    3,11...I don't remember it's name [​IMG]
     
  7. Findecanno

    Member Findecanno GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    283
    Country:
    United States
    the default theme for moonshell 1 was a windows theme maybe thats what he means.
     
  8. OneMichael

    Newcomer OneMichael Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2008
    Messages:
    98
    Location:
    Manitoba, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    He's probably talking about WintenDoS, which is basically a simulation of XP on the DS, including a start menu and a textpad, along with a couple other programs.

    As for XP itself:
    http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/sysreqs/pro.mspx
    We've got the pointing device, we can use our computer's CD-ROM or DVD drive (for the install disk, I'd assume).
    Nintendo intentionally kept the screen's ppi low, because the higher-resolution screens are more expensive, and most humans seem half-blind. Also, older people WILL be using the system, so it would be unfair to them. 256x192 doesn't even come close to 800x600, or even 640x480 (which some emergency modes seem to run on, and which I believe is also the iPhone's screen).
    How much RAM do we have? 4MB? I think that's less than 64, by quite a margin.
    300MHz is also out of reach.

    I'll check 98:
    -66 MHz
    -16 MB RAM
    -vga
    Much closer, and we could probably use a RAM extension, but it would still tax the system.
    Still, I would have thought that we couldn't get any more than 3.11, which needs:

    -MS-DOS 3.1 or later
    -IBM compatible 80286 or higher (386 recommended)
    -640KB Conventional memory
    -256KB extended memory (XMS v 2.0 or higher)
    -1MB extended memory recommended on 80286
    -2MB extended memory recommended on 80386
    Sounds like it would run perfectly.
     
  9. zuron7

    Member zuron7 RBYG

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,369
    Location:
    GPS not available in this area
    Country:
    India
    you can run windows 98 on the dsi
     
  10. Findecanno

    Member Findecanno GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    283
    Country:
    United States
    doesn't the dsi boot flashkarts in ds mode which uses just 4mb of ram? if so we need to wait until they hack the dsi and make the dsi homebrew channel. Now what somebody should work on is windows for wii
     
  11. pedroion

    Member pedroion GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    134
    Country:
    Brazil

    End of Topic.

    Win 3.11 would be REALLY awesome to see.
    But hey - where can I download my DS port of DOS?
    Oh wait-
     
  12. Sephi

    Member Sephi fool

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,850
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    Country:
    United States
  13. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
  14. pedroion

    Member pedroion GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    134
    Country:
    Brazil
    Dan, is it possible to make it run fullspeed on our little DSes?
    Or the hardware is just different?

    BTW, it's open-source.

    Impossible is nothing.
     
  15. ShamusHand

    Newcomer ShamusHand Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    United States
  16. granville

    Member granville GBAtemp Goat

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,977
    Location:
    Naples, Florida
    Country:
    United States
    That XP on 7 megahertz is pretty epic, but the DS STILL doesn't have enough memory without expansion. Windows 3.11 is more attainable probably.

    MAYBE if you had the sources of all the old games and the requirements were reasonable, you could play some DOS or Windows games on DS. But I really don't see it happening. Who knows? I'd love to play some old games on my DS. For now, ScummVM will do.
     
  17. thedicemaster

    Member thedicemaster GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,412
    Country:
    Netherlands
    you all still forget 1 thing.
    windows is entirely built to only support x86 CPU's.
    it can't handle 2 differently clocked ARM CPU's.
    you'd have to rebuild the core of windows which requires the source, or you'd have to run an emulator which requires more powerful hardware.

    linux could only be ported because it's open source, making it a lot easier to port to different types of CPU.
     
  18. P.S

    Newcomer P.S Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Messages:
    96
    Country:
    Sweden
    Hmm.
    Linux on the ds, sounds fun [​IMG]
     
  19. Tokiopop

    Member Tokiopop Caffeine fiend

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,833
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    There is DSLinux. It exists because Linux is good. This is also the reason why there is no, has been to attempt to port a Windows OS to the DS. Why in gods name would anyone want Microsoft bullcrap on their DS is a mystery to me.
     
  20. OneMichael

    Newcomer OneMichael Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2008
    Messages:
    98
    Location:
    Manitoba, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Programmers have tried porting XP to the DS. It was more of a simulation than a port, but yeah.

    As for the dual cores, I'd suppose the idea would be to run it on the one 66 MHz core, which alone could run Windows 98. It's a 32-bit chip, but it's different from a standard architecture, so I'm not sure what that implies.
    At any rate, you'd have to wonder what the use would be.

    Speaking of DSLinux, is there a GUI desktop on that?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page