Windows 7 help

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by darksnow, Jun 1, 2009.

Jun 1, 2009

Windows 7 help by darksnow at 5:01 AM (1,162 Views / 0 Likes) 10 replies

  1. darksnow
    OP

    Newcomer darksnow Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    United States
    i just did a clean install of windows 7 on a separate partition for dual booting.
    however, when i start windows 7, everything is gone.
    so i manually start dragging stuff out from my c drive, and then i noticed that it had no antivirus.
    i use norton 360 and when i go to the norton 360 folder, i cant find a exe file or anything along the lines of that.
    do i have to redownload norton or something? any help is appreciated
     
  2. Cermage

    Member Cermage GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,702
    Country:
    Australia
    you'll have to reinstall everything. when you install a new OS it doesn't transfer all the programs you had on your previous OS, its going to be a clean slate.
     
  3. notnarb

    Member notnarb Not narbing it up

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,086
    Country:
    also - solution for your problem with Norton:

    Don't use Norton.
     
  4. Athlon-pv

    Member Athlon-pv GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2005
    Messages:
    621
    Country:
    United States
    Tried and tested by billions of happy not users of Norton [​IMG]
     
  5. sweenish

    Member sweenish GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    704
    Location:
    WA
    Country:
    United States
    more like learn to use a computer

    programs need to be installed, you canNOT just drag folders from your c: drive and expect them to work.

    (unless they're all portable apps, but doubt this is the case)

    this is computer basics 101 here
     
  6. Athlon-pv

    Member Athlon-pv GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2005
    Messages:
    621
    Country:
    United States
    Well okay but atleast you might have explained to him that Windows is such a piece of crap when having applications installed they do more then just take a physicle folder [​IMG] i mean that explains things more then just saying to him he misses the basics [​IMG]

    So when you install applications you have some settings that windows keeps in a place called registry.

    Not all applications use them tho , something like World of Warcraft you can just happily copy to your new program files and run it without the registry needing to get updated on windows 7.

    But most applications arent as flexible ...
     
  7. Strider

    Member Strider Next to the mainstream

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2002
    Messages:
    901
    Country:
    I don't call that flexible, I call that well-behaved [​IMG]

    But well, you know, it's Windows...... [​IMG]
    (It's common and accepted that a program installs it's files everywhere where it's not meant to + registry, argh)
     
  8. darksnow
    OP

    Newcomer darksnow Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    United States
    ugh then this fails >.>...
    i only created a 20 gb partition >.>
    why is it that i have 170 gb of free space left on my c drive but i can only create a partition of 85gb?
     
  9. notnarb

    Member notnarb Not narbing it up

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,086
    Country:
    no idea why you can only create an 85GB partition, sorry

    With a tiny bit of effort (installing GTK for pidgin and gimp for example), most things can be dragged and dropped onto a new computer and work without a problem. Usually the reason you may run into a hitch is because of DRM reasons - Office and GTAIV being the only things that immediately come to mind as not working when reformatting my hard drive. The registry usually plays little to no factor, since almost all applications will automatically create new values, which will cause loss of some saved settings (such as preferred resolution), but most saved data is stored in the application data folder anyways.
     
  10. Findecanno

    Member Findecanno GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    283
    Country:
    United States
    solution: get Linux. Ya dont have to worry about drm or any of that crap that prevent you from doing stuff like this.
     
  11. notnarb

    Member notnarb Not narbing it up

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,086
    Country:
    Almost all linux apps of significance have been ported to windows... In fact, you can't just copy files from your linux install and expect it to work because of dependencies.
     

Share This Page