Windows 7 freezing on me

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by Feels Good Man, Oct 31, 2009.

Oct 31, 2009
  1. Feels Good Man
    OP

    Member Feels Good Man GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,643
    Country:
    Canada
    For a while now my Windows 7 has been randomly freezing on me. I dont know what's up or why its doing that but it's annoying. Once it freezes, I have to turn it off manually by holding the power button for a while and reboot it.

    Anyone experiencing this other than me? And anyone know a fix?

    I'm using a pre-installed Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit (6.1, Build 7600)
     
  2. luke_c

    Member luke_c Big Boss

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,587
    Location:
    Land of England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Bad rip maybe? Windows 7 has been working fine for me the last two months.
     
  3. Jiggah

    Member Jiggah GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    1,223
    Country:
    United States
    Bad hardware? Overheating? Driver issues?

    Computer specs will help, too.

    Use the Win 7 DVD to run a memory check.
     
  4. Feels Good Man
    OP

    Member Feels Good Man GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,643
    Country:
    Canada
    Here are my computer specs:

    Code:
    ------------------
    System Information
    ------------------
    Time of this report: 10/24/2009, 19:50:31
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂ Machine name: ----
    ÂÂ Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit (6.1, Build 7600) (7600.win7_rtm.090713-1255)
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
    System Manufacturer: Hewlett-Packard
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂ System Model: HP Pavilion dv6 Notebook PC
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ BIOS: Default System BIOS
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂProcessor: AMD Turion(tm) II Ultra Dual-Core Mobile M640 (2 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ Memory: 4096MB RAM
    Available OS Memory: 4092MB RAM
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂPage File: 1936MB used, 6246MB available
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂWindows Dir: C:\Windows
    ÂÂÂÂDirectX Version: DirectX 11
    DX Setup Parameters: Not found
    ÂÂ User DPI Setting: Using System DPI
    System DPI Setting: 96 DPI (100 percent)
    ÂÂÂÂDWM DPI Scaling: Disabled
    ÂÂÂÂ DxDiag Version: 6.01.7600.16385 32bit Unicode
    
    ---------------
    Display Devices
    ---------------
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂCard name: ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4650 SeriesÂÂ 
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂ Manufacturer: ATI Technologies Inc.
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂChip type: ATI display adapter (0x9480)
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ DAC type: Internal DAC(400MHz)
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_9480&SUBSYS_3637103C&REV_00
    ÂÂÂÂ Display Memory: 2808 MB
    ÂÂ Dedicated Memory: 1018 MB
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂShared Memory: 1790 MB
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂ Current Mode: 1366 x 768 (32 bit) (60Hz)
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂ Monitor Name: Generic PnP Monitor
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂMonitor Model: unknown
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ Monitor Id: AUO20EC
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂNative Mode: 1366 x 768(p) (60.042Hz)
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂOutput Type: Internal
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂDriver Name: atiumd64.dll,atidxx64.dll,atiumdag,atidxx32,atiumdva,atiumd6a.cap,atitmm64.dll
    Driver File Version: 8.14.0010.0678 (English)
    ÂÂÂÂ Driver Version: 8.632.0.0
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂDDI Version: 10.1
    ÂÂÂÂÂÂ Driver Model: WDDM 1.1
    ÂÂDriver Attributes: Final Retail
    ÂÂ Driver Date/Size: 7/2/2009 13:54:54, 4059648 bytes
    I really dont think it's overheating issues because it's not hot at all when im using it. It gets around 50C-62C every time im just browsing and that's when the freezing occurs. I've also reinstalled my drivers and that didnt help either.

    For that memory test, can I just use the one located in the BIOS settings? I dont have the Windows 7 disk available to me right now.

    Also people from GameFAQs seem to be having the same issues as me and I really hope there's a fix to this/
     
  5. da_head

    Member da_head A dying dream..

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Toronto, Canader!
    Country:
    Canada
    are you doing anything in particular when it freezes? mine freezes sometimes when i play starcraft.
     
  6. Feels Good Man
    OP

    Member Feels Good Man GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,643
    Country:
    Canada
    It just froze again. I was just on skype talking to my friend.

    Most of the time, I'm just watching videos or even just making the computer idle
     

Share This Page