Hacking WiiFlow - an open source GUI USB-Loader

Luriden

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2008
Messages
427
Trophies
0
Age
36
Location
Topeka, KS
XP
230
Country
United States
I had this working before, uninstalled it for some reason, and now I'm having problems. I'm using r42 249 and a FAT32 hard drive. Wiiflow isn't saving the settings or creating a wiiflow.ini. Everytime I start Wiiflow, I have to go and change the partition to FAT32 again, and there's no covers whatsoever. It will say it's downloading covers but doesn't save them anywhere on the SD or USB. I checked the USB too, no config or ini anywhere.
 

Kovani

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2009
Messages
168
Trophies
0
XP
86
Country
Canada
Open notepad and save a blank document as wiiflow.ini. Put this file in SD:\apps\WiiFlow. This should solve your problem.

[Edit] I forgot to add that. Run WiiFlow once done and the folders and settings will be created.
 

Luriden

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2008
Messages
427
Trophies
0
Age
36
Location
Topeka, KS
XP
230
Country
United States
Kovani said:
Open notepad and save a blank document as wiiflow.ini. Put this file in SD:\apps\WiiFlow. This should solve your problem.

[Edit] I forgot to add that. Run WiiFlow once done and the folders and settings will be created.

I just tried this and it didn't work. I changed the partition, quit options, went back to HBC, loaded Wiiflow and it's still reverting back to WBFS. I checked the SD card and the Wiiflow.ini I created is still blank. Nothing changed on the USB hard drive either. No folders or files have been created on the SD or USB at all. And no, my SD isn't write protected, I checked that too.
 

Luriden

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2008
Messages
427
Trophies
0
Age
36
Location
Topeka, KS
XP
230
Country
United States
Kovani said:
My bad. Your blank wiiflow.ini should be in USB:\wiiflow. Open WiiFlow and this time you should be good.

Still nothing... Once I saved the Wiiflow.ini in USB:\Wiiflow, I loaded Wiiflow as usual, changed the partition, exited, and it still didn't save. I still don't have any folders or files created.
 

Kovani

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2009
Messages
168
Trophies
0
XP
86
Country
Canada
I just tested it. You have to put a blank wiiflow.ini in USB:\wiiflow\ AND SD:\wiiflow\. Try it at last resort.

Folders and settings will be stored on USB:\wiiflow\.
 

Luriden

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2008
Messages
427
Trophies
0
Age
36
Location
Topeka, KS
XP
230
Country
United States
Kovani said:
I just tested it. You have to put a blank wiiflow.ini in USB:\wiiflow\ AND SD:\wiiflow\. Try it at last resort.

Folders and settings will be stored on USB:\wiiflow\.

Still nothing. I want to say it has something to do with either my hard drive being FAT32 or an IOS problem of some sort... though that's not my expertise whatsoever and I don't even know where to begin on troubleshooting that.

Thanks for your help though. If anyone has any ideas, throw 'em at me. I'm taking my Wii to a party tomorrow and thought I'd set Wiiflow as my initial boot, since it's the most user-friendly for people who aren't good at drunken menu navigating, and it's very fancy. If I can get it working again I'll probably replace CFG with this permanently.
 

Kovani

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2009
Messages
168
Trophies
0
XP
86
Country
Canada
Open notepad and make a new file. This time add this

Code:
[ GENERAL]
data_on_usb=no

and save it as wiiflow.ini. Place this file in SD:\wiiflow\.
 

Luriden

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2008
Messages
427
Trophies
0
Age
36
Location
Topeka, KS
XP
230
Country
United States
Kovani said:
Open notepad and make a new file. This time add this

Code:
[ GENERAL]
data_on_usb=no

and save it as wiiflow.ini. Place this file in SD:\wiiflow\.

BINGO! That worked. Thank you, my good man. You win seven internets.
 

r-win

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
453
Trophies
0
XP
67
Country
Netherlands
Spidy1000 said:
add the following line to the general section in the ini file, or edit the line that exists:

returnto=CHAN
This step is optional. If no returnto is provided here, you can also leave the returnto in the [GAMEID] section.
 

xabby666

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 31, 2010
Messages
91
Trophies
1
Age
57
XP
141
Country
Italy
r-win, you can integrate this code (like NSMB patch) for unpatched prince of persia iso's:

Code:
bool PrinceOfPersiaPatch()
{
ÂÂÂÂif (memcmp("SPX", (char *)0x80000000, 3) == 0 || memcmp("RPW", (char *)0x80000000, 3) == 0) {
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂu8 *p = (u8 *)0x807AEB6A;
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ*p++ = 0x6F;
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ*p++ = 0x6A;
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ*p++ = 0x7A;
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ*p++ = 0x6B;
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂp = (u8 *)0x807AEB75;
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ*p++ = 0x69;
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ*p++ = 0x39;
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ*p++ = 0x7C;
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ*p++ = 0x7A;
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂp = (u8 *)0x807AEB82;
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ*p++ = 0x68;
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ*p++ = 0x6B;
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ*p++ = 0x73;
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ*p++ = 0x76;
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂp = (u8 *)0x807AEB92;
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ*p++ = 0x75;
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ*p++ = 0x70;
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ*p++ = 0x80;
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ*p++ = 0x71;
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂp = (u8 *)0x807AEB9D;
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ*p++ = 0x6F;
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ*p++ = 0x3F;
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ*p++ = 0x82;
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂ*p++ = 0x80;
ÂÂÂÂÂÂÂÂreturn true;
ÂÂÂÂ}
ÂÂÂÂreturn false;
}

It works, feel free to integrate.
 

Kovani

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2009
Messages
168
Trophies
0
XP
86
Country
Canada
Thanks xabby666. I edited the source to include this modification and added a line to make it work. I can now play this game without patching the main.dol manually.

It will be easy for r-win to include this one on an official release.
 

Blue-K

No right of appeal.
Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2008
Messages
2,572
Trophies
0
Location
Helvetica
XP
209
Country
Swaziland
Kovani said:
Thanks xabby666. I edited the source to include this modification and added a line to make it work. I can now play this game without patching the main.dol manually.

It will be easy for r-win to include this one on an official release.
IMO, it's easier to install Hermes cIOS 222 v5.1 and play the game with it. Works for me too...
 

r-win

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
453
Trophies
0
XP
67
Country
Netherlands
Blue-K said:
Kovani said:
Thanks xabby666. I edited the source to include this modification and added a line to make it work. I can now play this game without patching the main.dol manually.

It will be easy for r-win to include this one on an official release.
IMO, it's easier to install Hermes cIOS 222 v5.1 and play the game with it. Works for me too...
Not everyone can work with 222, unfortunately...

Compiled 222: http://www.mediafire.com/?lwnziybmdem
Compiled 249: http://www.mediafire.com/?2znijdmztfz

Totally untested. I might have placed the call to this patch on the wrong place
tongue.gif

Also, remember to set disable_dvd_patch=on and returnto=0 in the game specific section in the ini file.
 

WAIKIKI728

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
60
Trophies
0
XP
34
Country
r-win said:
Blue-K said:
Kovani said:
Thanks xabby666. I edited the source to include this modification and added a line to make it work. I can now play this game without patching the main.dol manually.

It will be easy for r-win to include this one on an official release.
IMO, it's easier to install Hermes cIOS 222 v5.1 and play the game with it. Works for me too...
Not everyone can work with 222, unfortunately...

Compiled 222: http://www.mediafire.com/?lwnziybmdem
Compiled 249: http://www.mediafire.com/?2znijdmztfz

Totally untested. I might have placed the call to this patch on the wrong place
tongue.gif

Also, remember to set disable_dvd_patch=on and returnto=0 in the game specific section in the ini file.


Sorry for this newbie question....but for having clear the process...

I am using the lat release for fat32 from R-win but with the bugs ot the covers in the hard disc...(i edited wiiflow.ini ...i changed the rutes to SD ...and it works...)
With this beta .dol file...

1:I overwrite my old .dol file...
2:I charge wiiflow...
3:I edit again wiiflow.ini in usb/apps/wiiflow/
All the covers ..in my sd
disable_dvd_patch=on
returnto=on

Of this way i can play Pop now....Is this correct?¿?
 

Fox888

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
430
Trophies
0
XP
195
Country
I have not used Wiiflow for a long time. because it has no fat support.
i was trying to set it up again. But i cant save any changes or choose themes or language.
Iám using the new r42 dol

My settings Are:

SD/apps/wiiflow
SD/wiiflow

My HD is fat32

What do i miss
 

Blue-K

No right of appeal.
Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2008
Messages
2,572
Trophies
0
Location
Helvetica
XP
209
Country
Swaziland
Fox888 said:
I have not used Wiiflow for a long time. because it has no fat support.
i was trying to set it up again. But i cant save any changes or choose themes or language.
Iám using the new r42 dol

My settings Are:

SD/apps/wiiflow
SD/wiiflow

My HD is fat32

What do i miss
The whole content of the Wiiflow-Folder on the Root has to be in the /apps/wiiflow-Directory. So something like sd:/apps/wiiflow/themes, etc.
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
    Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty: @NicoXChan, welcome