Wii puts automatically num-lock in the USB keyboards

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by OriginalHamster, Oct 3, 2010.

  1. OriginalHamster
    OP

    Member OriginalHamster UStealthy

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,293
    Country:
    Chile
    I recently bought a Genius mini keyboard to chat in Monster Hunter 3, every was just fine until realized that the Wii activate the num-lock every time that an application require it, for example Message Board, text input on Internet Channel. num-lock works like a light that indicates when the keyboard is in use.

    The problem is that with num-lock activated some keys like "P", "O", "I" turns into numbers -____-u, and it's kinda annoying to have to deactivate num-lock everytime.

    Someone could help me with this? Maybe remaping my keys, there must be somekind the direct configuration to the keyboard itself.

    Please =(
     
  2. TwinRetro

    Global Moderator TwinRetro Don't start nothin', Won't be nothin'

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    6,181
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    Country:
    United States
    Did you try pressing the num-lock key?
     
  3. TheTwoR's

    Member TheTwoR's Yay I can finally edit this thingy :D

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    670
    Country:
    Belgium
    Mate, the EXACT same thing happens with me. Except that my keyboard is one of those rubber ones you can squish, throw, or sit on.

    Besides, I can't imagine why anyone would use a keyboard with a Wii, cause like, internet browsing is really bad on that thing.
     
  4. OriginalHamster
    OP

    Member OriginalHamster UStealthy

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,293
    Country:
    Chile
    @TwinRetro
    Yes, the num-lock light turn off, but like I said, it's annoying having to deactivate num-lock everytime...

    @TheTwoR's
    I use the keyboard mainly for Monster Hunter 3, typing with the controller is a pain.
     
  5. DryYoshi

    Member DryYoshi Love child of Dry Bones and Yoshi

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    654
    Location:
    Yoshi's Island
    Country:
    Netherlands
    You can use a keyboard with DOSBox Wii [​IMG]
     
  6. thesund0g

    Member thesund0g GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Messages:
    452
    Location:
    The Boonies
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Do your keyboard settings/region match with the keyboard itself? Or are you, say, using an AZERTY layout with a region setting where QWERTY would be the default? Never played MH3, so I don't know if it has its own settings for that in addition or not.
     
  7. OriginalHamster
    OP

    Member OriginalHamster UStealthy

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,293
    Country:
    Chile
    No, I'm using QWERTY layout, I don't have mayor problems with the layout, it's just the Wii system activate the lock-num by default (I don't know why) and that makes my "I", "O", "P" keys SHIFT to "6", "5", "4" etc...

    Monster Hunter Tri use the same configuration as Wii system.
     
  8. thesund0g

    Member thesund0g GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Messages:
    452
    Location:
    The Boonies
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Oh, so does the keyboard not have a dedicated num pad, like a laptop keyboard? If that's the case, you have a couple options:

    1) Get a keyboard with a real num pad, or get used to hitting numlock.
    2) Get a USB Gecko, find the instruction that turns on numlock and noop it.
     
  9. OriginalHamster
    OP

    Member OriginalHamster UStealthy

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,293
    Country:
    Chile
    Yep, it doesn't have dedicated num pad, it's pretty small =P
    What's that USB Gecko?
     
  10. thesund0g

    Member thesund0g GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Messages:
    452
    Location:
    The Boonies
    Country:
    Antarctica
    It's a debugger that lets you connect your Wii to your PC. People use it to make Gecko/Ocarina codes, Priiloader patches, etc. You'd basically be making your own Ocarina code to kill the "turn numlock on" instruction.
     
  11. elmoreas

    Member elmoreas GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    274
    Country:
    United States
    Ok I have found this to be true on the Datel Powerboard, Most USB Plug and Play PC boards, and the mat boards too. There is some kind of bug in certain apps and games that causes this to happed on this wii. Since these boards were not licensed by Nintendo they do not work (software wise) perfectly all the time. Also I think Nintendo didnt forsee this when the Wii was released or there would be a Ninty brand KB that works fine. HOWEVER, if you are on 4.1 or higher and use the Nintendo Offically Licensed Wii Keyboard by Logitech (New on Amazon $49.95 USD) this doesn't happen and it has preset buttons to open Opera and do other things. Hope this helps. Talk to you all later.

    Elmoreas

    P.S. Its 4.1 on U/E/J I do not know about K though.
     
  12. Pippin666

    Member Pippin666 SSF43DE Master

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,664
    Location:
    Montreal, Qc
    Country:
    Canada
    Jesus Christ, is your time so precious that you are short on time to press a single button once in a while ??

    Pip'
     

Share This Page