Wii not seeing HDD

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by Jamstruth, Nov 7, 2010.

Nov 7, 2010

Wii not seeing HDD by Jamstruth at 6:17 PM (1,551 Views / 0 Likes) 17 replies

  1. Jamstruth
    OP

    Member Jamstruth Secondary Feline Anthropomorph

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,456
    Location:
    North East Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Kinda new to this whole backup loading thing.
    My external Harddrive has an 110GB NTFS filesystem and a 50GB WBFS filesystem. As far as I can tell my wii is not seeing either. When I load NeoGamma and try to make it mount the WBFS partition it just uses up all 30 tries.
    I've got a launch Wii that I have used PimpMyWii on, as well as installed an IOS so that WiiMC could read DVDs beforehand. I have cIOSx installed to latest revision. Is there an extra cIOS I must install for USB devices?
     
  2. CannonFoddr

    Member CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,106
    Location:
    Sitting by computer
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well I know I had problems with USB detection when I tried 'PimpMyWii', so I used 'ModMii' instead & that worked first time

    Not sure if it'll see both NTFS and WBFS though - I only have a USB HDD formatted to FAT
     
  3. egurgle

    Member egurgle GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    192
    Country:
    Brazil
    Use this:
    1. FAT 32 with cluster 32k.
    2. IOS 58 unpatched
    3. HBC 1.08 (you will get USB 2.0 support from IOS 58)
    4. CFG USB Loader
    This will fix ur problem.

    I recommend using ModMii: http://gbatemp.net/t171901-modify-any-wii-4-3-below - its easier and safer than PimpMyWii and better results!

    enjoy it [​IMG]
     
  4. Jamstruth
    OP

    Member Jamstruth Secondary Feline Anthropomorph

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,456
    Location:
    North East Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Easier, I doubt. Safer, yes.
    I've got the latest version of Homebrew channel to my knowledge. Not sure how patched my IOS58. I cba reformatting again + FAT32 can't hold files>4GB
     
  5. egurgle

    Member egurgle GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    192
    Country:
    Brazil
    WiiBackupManager autosplit files >4gb. then no problems using FAT to Wii games [​IMG]

    Edited: PimpMyWii version 2.0 was installing a patched IOS 58 before. thats why i told u unpatched IOS 58. But 2.1x version, they changed to unpatched.
     
  6. prowler

    Member prowler Sony

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    9,473
    Location:
    Ragol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  7. PerfectB

    Newcomer PerfectB Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    Messages:
    33
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Maybe a dumb question, but do you have it plugged into the proper port? When the Wii is laying down it's the one that ends up closest to the bottom. As far as I know if it's in the other port it won't be read by anything.
     
  8. Jamstruth
    OP

    Member Jamstruth Secondary Feline Anthropomorph

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,456
    Location:
    North East Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I was using the top port...I shall try in a sec with USB in bottom port (why does it matter though? Seems odd)

    Update: All that hassle and it was the USB port *facepalm*
     
  9. Blue-K

    Member Blue-K No right of appeal.

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,572
    Location:
    Helvetica
    Country:
    Switzerland
    Well, let's start with saying that you shouldn't use GX for the moment. It's buggy, and being cleaned up right now. Until then, I wouldn't recommend to use it. And let's also mention that DVDX and IOS202 are obsolete, and not needed anymore.

    Now, for the main problem, your HD that isn't recognized. I would do the following: Make really shure that you have the HBC 1.0.8, the latest one. If not, install/update. Then, make shure that your HBC uses IOS58 (you should see that in it's settings, in one corner). If not, use THIS to install it. Now also update WiiMC (if not already done), launch it, and try if it recognizes the NTFS-Partition. If not, your drive is incompatible, period. Oh, and like someone said before, use the USB-Port on the Bottom.

    Now, let me ask you a question...was there a special reason for the WBFS-Partition? I would suggest to screw this partition, and use NTFS for loading. Use the latest CFG-Loader or WiiFlow for that, and the latest cIOS, rev20.
     
  10. Fishaman P

    Member Fishaman P Speedrunner

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,176
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States
    DON'T patch IOS58. That may be the problem.
     
  11. Jamstruth
    OP

    Member Jamstruth Secondary Feline Anthropomorph

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,456
    Location:
    North East Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Problem solved boys, I was using the wrong USB port *facepalm*
    Main reason for using a WBFS partition was so that while the box is being used as a External Harddrive I don't have various things cluttering it. I might change it to a 110GB NTFS partition and a 40GB FAT32 partition later though and just label them.
     
  12. prowler

    Member prowler Sony

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    9,473
    Location:
    Ragol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Loads my games so there is no problem over here.
     
  13. CannonFoddr

    Member CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,106
    Location:
    Sitting by computer
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Dammit.... Why did I miss that [​IMG] & why didn't any1 else suggest that [​IMG]
    Still - glad you figured it out
     
  14. Jamstruth
    OP

    Member Jamstruth Secondary Feline Anthropomorph

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,456
    Location:
    North East Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeah, am now using Backup manager to get my games onto a FAT32 partition (reformatted the WBFS drive)
    Only Wii ISOs I have:
    Metroid: Other M (Played a bit, that girl's voice acting is SOOOO wooden!)
    Super Mario Galaxy (I Know, its probably a crime I never owned it)
    Disney: Sing It Family Edition (Got a couple of USB mics so this should be a good laugh with my friends)

    I think I'm gonna like this ISO loading stuff, means I can try out the really crumby games and subject my friends to them for epic lulz... Now where can i find "High School Musical" karaoke [​IMG]
     
  15. egurgle

    Member egurgle GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    192
    Country:
    Brazil
    Simple solution is the best [​IMG]
    but i cant belive u were using a wrong usb port [​IMG]
     
  16. Jamstruth
    OP

    Member Jamstruth Secondary Feline Anthropomorph

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,456
    Location:
    North East Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just plugged it into whatever, that just happened to be the top one. I almost never use the damned things since I got rid of GH:WT on Wii.
     
  17. PerfectB

    Newcomer PerfectB Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    Messages:
    33
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Only reason I knew to suggest it is that's what had me stumped for a day or so when I started doing the whole thing myself. I've never heard an explanation of why it doesn't work in both ports though, as a computer engineer I'd be a little interested in knowing the technical reasons.
     
  18. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    I know there is a way to force cfg usb loader to use the other usb port. If you have a specific module (I really can't remember which) saved to the right place of the hard drive or sd card, it will load it and use the alternate usb port. If u look in the cfg usb loader thread u may find a DL link for it if anyone cares. The only purpose this serves is if the bottom port is busted and the top one still works fine... otherwise, there's no point to doing this.
     

Share This Page