Wifi and Pokemon D/P

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by sethwick, Apr 23, 2007.

Apr 23, 2007

Wifi and Pokemon D/P by sethwick at 5:55 AM (1,418 Views / 0 Likes) 11 replies

  1. sethwick
    OP

    Newcomer sethwick Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    I've been having wifi problems for a while, not been able to get my DS to recognize my campus wireless, but that's with both legit games and roms, and isn't at issue here.

    I got the Pokemon rom yesterday, and a legit copy today. I was at a friend's house who had working wireless and had earlier connected to IRC in DS Organize fine. However, on my rom, when I went into the underground, the connection bars in the upper right hand corner remained empty and red. I was connected to that wireless network on my laptop and the network was still up and fine. I am back on campus and don't have a good wireless connection (laptop works fine, DS can't see it though) so I can't just test my legit copy in the same circumstances. Has anyone else had problemsw ith their D/P and wireless on an R4?
     
  2. Taras

    Member Taras I'm Not Hating, I'm Just Sayin'

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2005
    Messages:
    677
    Location:
    Boxcar #142, Santa Fe rail
    Country:
    United States
    My guess is your campus uses WPA encryption and DS isn't compatible with anything other then WEP. IOW, you're shit-outta-luck. But you're not alone. Same thing affects me.

    [​IMG]
     
  3. myclock

    Member myclock GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    465
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    nothing rong with roms being able to play online for me. only problem is some games dont game share [​IMG]
     
  4. brn

    Member brn GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    126
    Country:
    Sweden
    Isn't the underground-mode only DS to DS?
     
  5. Regiiko

    Member Regiiko GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    326
    Location:
    Örebro
    Country:
    Sweden
    Wtf? DS doesn't accept WPA?

    Great, now I have to change my wireless router's settings :[

    Is there a thread around about what kind of wireless settings the DS accepts?
     
  6. H8TR

    Member H8TR GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Messages:
    796
    Location:
    t-Dot
    Country:
    Canada
    There isn't a thread because everybody already knows that the DS only works with WEP or don't secure your router.
     
  7. iamwhoiam

    Member iamwhoiam Honorary R4 Fanboy

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,201
    Location:
    Hull/Manchester, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeah, it's a major flaw of the NDS since it's released, 3 years ago. [​IMG]
     
  8. sethwick
    OP

    Newcomer sethwick Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    Ah, the Underground thing had a wireless connection sign, and I thought that was only used for DS to Access point, not DS to DS.

    As for the campus wireless, I don't think it uses any protection, just doesn't broadcast it's SSID. I know I don't have to key in anything on my computer to connect, just tell it the SSID and it works.
     
  9. blunty

    Newcomer blunty Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    52
    Country:
    United States
    Buy the Nintendo wifi usb dongle and connected to your laptop that gets internet access. The dongle acts like an ap for your DS. Problem solved.
     
  10. Taras

    Member Taras I'm Not Hating, I'm Just Sayin'

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2005
    Messages:
    677
    Location:
    Boxcar #142, Santa Fe rail
    Country:
    United States
    I've been wondering about that. The usb dongle allows only nintendo devices to connect. Can some fool with DSlinux hack into your wireless network? Anyone?
     
  11. Louse76

    Member Louse76 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Messages:
    640
    Location:
    Deltona, FL USA
    Country:
    United States
    Get a router. Even free after rebate ones will do the trick.
     
  12. DShunter

    Newcomer DShunter Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2006
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    LOL it has been known that the DS supports only the old 802.11b or the newer 802.11g. Currently most consumer based routers normally supports the wireless-G protocol and only the WEP security encryption not WPA or higher is supported by the DS. Also get yourself a Wireless Router its gonna be very worth it in the long run since already quite a number of electronic devices supports Wi-Fi so you can not only use it for your DS but other devices as well.
     

Share This Page