Who Here Remembers Quake 2?? (PC)

Discussion in 'General Off-Topic Chat' started by Phillyman, Feb 9, 2008.

Feb 9, 2008
  1. Phillyman
    OP

    Member Phillyman GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    119
    Country:
    United States
    Ok so I just got thinking about Quake 2 tonite, I can only remember very vague memories of Online Multiplayer......I think they were all Slayer type games (maybe free for alls?)

    Anyways I can distinctly remember 3 maps....

    1) Big Gate with a tower in the corner, an elevator goes up to the top and there are tunnels underneath
    2) 3 Big Towers, and a huge elevator. Water down at the bottom
    3) Huge area with a circular stair case, Rockets are on the ledge and a pool out back that if you swim under you will find a Rail gun

    Now the other thing I remember is some hack that was popular back then , that allowed you to place trip mines. I think there were 3 different color trip mines and the white ones were like Nuclear bombs that killed everything in a 100FT radius

    Anyone know the names of the maps, or that modification? Are there Quake 2 servers still up and running?

    Just figured I could use a break from Halo 2/3, and this would take me back 10 years [​IMG]

    Gotta look for my disk and key tomorrow [​IMG]
     
  2. VVoltz

    Member VVoltz The Pirate Lord

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,727
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    Bolivia
    The first PC FPS I played in Multiplayer was actually Unreal Tournament. I remember this one but only in Single Player mode =(
     
  3. CockroachMan

    Member CockroachMan Scribbling around GBATemp's kitchen.

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Messages:
    3,889
    Location:
    Brazil
    Country:
    Brazil
    Played a lot of the first Quake multiplayer when it was out.. I remember it being the first FPS made with online gaming in mind.. all my friends with Dial-up connection played it, good times.. It was really a big revolution at that time, no one used the internet to play games till then and it supported 32 people in the same game [​IMG]
    And for the first time people started buying video cards (or graphics accelerator cards how they were called) to play games..

    Quake 2 was not that great.. I don't think there are server still running, but I think there are ways to simulate a LAN over the Internet and play it (there's a software called Hamachi that does that). Or you can run a server [​IMG]
     
  4. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,672
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    I played Quake3 a lot... Great game.

    I played Quake2 only as single player, nice. Even nicer with Q2MAX installed [​IMG]
    As for servers for Quake2, I think that there's still some server around. There are hardcore fans, out there, you know [​IMG]
     
  5. laminaatplaat

    Member laminaatplaat GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 25, 2007
    Messages:
    605
    Country:
    United States
    I was more the Unreal Tournament Instagib CTF guy [​IMG]
     
  6. Linkiboy

    Member Linkiboy GBAtemp Testing Area

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4,888
    Country:
    United States
    I never played Q2 online, but I still play Q3A today.
     
  7. Urza

    Member Urza hi

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6,493
    Country:
    United States
  8. kikuchiyo

    Member kikuchiyo 大阪に生まれた男

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Messages:
    687
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    God I feel so old.
     
  9. matriculated

    Member matriculated GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Messages:
    598
    Country:
    Canada
    Yeah me too. I used to go to Quake 1 tournaments. I remember playing Quakeworld on a 14.4 modem and was happy when I got on a server with a ping of 300.
     
  10. Orc

    Member Orc ‎(ღ˘⌣˘ღ)

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,963
    Country:
    Hong Kong
    Fuck yeah The Edge.

    Also: Loki's Minions CTF. [​IMG]
     
  11. kikuchiyo

    Member kikuchiyo 大阪に生まれた男

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Messages:
    687
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah. I was even thinking about to high school when we LAN'd some lab machines together and played Doom 2 or NESticle.
     
  12. TanookiSuit

    Member TanookiSuit Game Reviewer/Writer -- formerly Vampire Hunter D

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    2,552
    Location:
    Louisville, KY
    Country:
    United States
    I remember doing a good deal in 1P mode, barely perhaps never in multi...vaguely think I did a 1 on 1 with a friend once who got me the copy. I remember doing a bit more with Q1 though, and did a lot of dial fragfests with DOOM1/2 instead.
     
  13. joe_user

    Newcomer joe_user Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    Germany
    Quake 2 was the first game I played with a Voodoo card. Accelerated 3d graphics! That was amazing! [​IMG]
     
  14. test84

    Member test84 GBAtemp's last ninja 2.

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3,685
    Location:
    Iran, Tehran.
    Country:
    Iran
    oh, the only multiplayers I played in those times were Descent 1 on lan and some Duke 3D, both on LAN at my brother's work.
     
  15. Law

    Member Law rip ninjacat that zarcon made me

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,132
    Location:
    ‭jerkland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I think I have it installed somewhere on my external, but I prefer Quake 1.

    Quake 1 is perfect for LAN games, especially if you have a night to kill.
     

Share This Page