Where to get Moonshell for Acekard 2?

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by randommaker, Feb 10, 2009.

Feb 10, 2009
  1. randommaker
    OP

    Banned randommaker Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    Canada
    Where and how do I install moonshell for acekard?
     
  2. Splych

    Member Splych GBAtemp's Lurker

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Canada, Ontario.
    Country:
    Philippines
    I already answered this, but might as well answer it again.

    1. Download moonshell here: MoonShell 2.0 (from GBAtemp)
    2. Put the "MoonShell 2.00 Beta 5.nds" file anywhere in your SD Card
    3. Copy the moonshl2 folder into the root of your SD Card (So basically, the section where everything starts at)

    That goes for this certain version of Moonshell. Hope it helped you out.
     
  3. supersonic124

    Member supersonic124 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    134
    Country:
    United States
    how do you use it? when i try it it pops up with chinese writing and wont start
     
  4. Splych

    Member Splych GBAtemp's Lurker

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Canada, Ontario.
    Country:
    Philippines
    lol yea, same problem for me xD

    look for a few threads, that show a proper moonshell that will work on your AceKard 2.1.
     
  5. Briankealing

    Member Briankealing GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    641
    Country:
    United States
    The latest WORKING version of Moonshell for the Acekard can be found on the AK website in the DL section, right under the firmware.
     
  6. Splych

    Member Splych GBAtemp's Lurker

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Canada, Ontario.
    Country:
    Philippines
    Someone was eventually going to bring that back up. Bleh ><

    I won't be using moonshell much, since I don't really listen to music. I really wanted to use that new moonshell too...
     
  7. Ballistic

    Member Ballistic GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Messages:
    195
    Country:
    United States
  8. huds_n

    Newcomer huds_n Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Japan
    Need help..trouble booting up moonshell2 beta 5. I think I did all the correct things i.e. put the folder n .nds files in TF root, also autodldi patch but i get error when try to start moonshell. I get the
    "Fatal error : The cluster size that exceeds 32kbytes is not supported. Application halted ! "

    I'm using Acekard2.1 with Kingston 4GB SDHC class 4.
     
  9. supersonic124

    Member supersonic124 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    134
    Country:
    United States
    use moonshell 2 beta 1 i had the soame problem so i downloaded beta 1 and it worked
     
  10. Kiriashi

    Member Kiriashi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    126
    Country:
    United States
    Hey guys, what do I have to convert my MPEG4s and MP3s to in order to play them on Moonshell? All I get is a frozen DS, an error, or weird noises that sound like somebody bending a rabbit's torso 1080..

    And what movie format does the Moonshell found on Acekard.com support id any at all? Should I just get the DS iPod, dsvideo, and open pictures with DSOrganize? Moonshell is such a hassle...
     
  11. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    moonshell only supports the playback of dpg encoded videos. do a google search for it. there are many apps, SUPER has had some great results for the new moonshell which has better playback support. mp3s work just fine. i encode using audiograbber and the lame codec with vbr standards. i've been told by some people that they get weird noise, but all of these people are using inferior (not standard) software and codecs.

    there are other alternatives to video playback but none which appear to have the same results as dpg. with avi/xvid you are looking at low framerate and sometimes sound issues. i have not messed with dsvideo at all, but from what i remember they use their own format.

    -another world
     
  12. Kiriashi

    Member Kiriashi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    126
    Country:
    United States
    So far I'm not to happy with Moonshell. I can't use the newer one 'cause I don't know how to set it up. I have the one from the Acekard site under downloads. Does DSOrganize play music? Because it reads text files and show pictures! Maybe I can get Moonshell to work...
     
  13. Briankealing

    Member Briankealing GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    641
    Country:
    United States
    Moonshell and DSO both play music.
     
  14. Kiriashi

    Member Kiriashi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    126
    Country:
    United States

    Alright, sweet!

    Thanks. I'm going to try them all out and see what I want the most...
     
  15. logical thinker

    Member logical thinker GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    567
    Country:
    Japan
    Use Panasonic SDFormatter to format your microSDHC. I have the same microSDHC and Moonshell 2 works perfectly on it.
     
  16. huds_n

    Newcomer huds_n Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Japan
    Finally [​IMG] got the moonshell2 beta 5 running .. download the version from "http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=129990", able to run it without DLDI autopatch. Same error when running the rom with dldi autopatch. [​IMG] like the new layout, especially the player. [​IMG]
     
  17. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    hm what firmware are you using? are you sure you have the dldi files in there and that they aren't corrupt? i've never had an issue with any of my acekards using any of the firmwares (and i've tested them all) as far as dldi goes =/.

    -another world
     
  18. huds_n

    Newcomer huds_n Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Japan
    My specs as followed:

    Acekard 2.1
    Kingston 4GB SDHC Class 4
    AKAIO 1.3 Final

    The DLDI autopatch file is the one included in the download "misc tools".

    First I dl the file frm "http://gbatemp.net/index.php?download=4765".
    Installed direct, no dldi patch, got error message ask whether rom is patched correctly.
    When I tried autopatched using file in misc tools, "Fatal error : The cluster size that exceeds 32kbytes is not supported. Application halted ! "

    The I dl from "http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=129990".
    Installed with DLDI autopatched,"Fatal error : The cluster size that exceeds 32kbytes is not supported. Application halted ! "
    Direct installed without DLDI patch, work fine.

    All in all, i copy the rom and moonshell2 directory straight to TF root.
    Anyway, it's working now and I'm glad it did.

    Thanks. [​IMG]
     

Share This Page