Homebrew Question What's with wii u on switch not being possible

64bitmodels

Professional Nintendo Hater
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 1, 2019
Messages
1,450
Trophies
1
Age
18
XP
2,875
Country
United States
If the switch can emulate Wii and GameCube games, why not Wii U games?
The only thing really stopping it is gamepad support.
The Wii u uses the same hardware the Wii does. Why do so many people claim it's a pipe dream/impossible when the scene is already able to emulate the hardware the U is based off of?
 

AmandaRose

Do what I do. Hold tight and pretend it’s a plan
Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2015
Messages
10,154
Trophies
1
Location
Glasgow
Website
www.rockstarnorth.com
XP
15,983
Country
United Kingdom
The Wii U comes with a 1.243GHz Triple-core PowerPC-based Espresso microprocessor. The Wii, on the other hand, was a 729MHz single core device with a Broadway microprocessor. The Wii had 88 MB system memory, whereas the WiiU has a 2GB RAM with 1GB reserved for the operating system and there is many other differences between the two systems
 
  • Like
Reactions: KlariNoX

Yamathedestroyer

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2016
Messages
149
Trophies
0
Age
27
Location
Beim Terrorprofi aus der BRD
XP
1,590
Country
Germany
The Wii U uses the Espresso CPU which has some similarities to the XBOX 360 CPU but keeps compatibility with the wii's Broadway. The GPU is an completely New Chip developed by AMD.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

The Wii U comes with a 1.243GHz Triple-core PowerPC-based Espresso microprocessor. The Wii, on the other hand, was a 729MHz single core device with a Broadway microprocessor. The Wii had 88 MB system memory, whereas the WiiU has a 2GB RAM with 1GB reserved for the operating system and there is many other differences between the two systems

WTF, the whole CPU is named Broadway.
 

64bitmodels

Professional Nintendo Hater
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 1, 2019
Messages
1,450
Trophies
1
Age
18
XP
2,875
Country
United States
I see.
Still it doesn't seem too far fetched some the switch seems that much more powerful than the Wii u... Is it?
 

ChibiMofo

Elon Musk is my dog
Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2019
Messages
670
Trophies
0
XP
2,772
Country
Canada
There are a lot of differences. By comparison, the Wii and GC were quite similar.

The Wii U was not significantly more powerful that the Wii, but it did have a tri-core CPU (verses the single core in the Wii) and more memory/faster graphics. But the CPU was backwards compatible with the Wii and the GPU was more than capable of handling Wii/GC SD graphics. The Wii U uses an actual OS as well (unlike the Wii)
.
The Switch uses a modified Nvidia Tegra X1 processor while the Wii U has a 1.24GHz tri-core IBM CPU and 550MHz Radeon GPU. They are not compatible. Don't expect the Switch to ever run Wii U games.
 

Yamathedestroyer

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2016
Messages
149
Trophies
0
Age
27
Location
Beim Terrorprofi aus der BRD
XP
1,590
Country
Germany
The Switch is more powerful as the Wii U, there is no doubt on that but its not by far more powerful. The Maxwell NV GPU is easily more Powerful than the Terascale AMD GPU in the Wii U. When we come to the CPU it gets more complicated. The Wii U uses an PowerPC tricore CPU which is very different from the Quad Core ARM CPU used by the Switch. Estimates say that the Switch CPU is still around 15 to 20% faster.

There are a lot of differences. By comparison, the
The Switch uses a modified Nvidia Tegra X1 processor .

The Tegra X1 inside the Switch isnt modified. Its an absolute off the shelf part and can also be found inside the Shield TV.
 

AmandaRose

Do what I do. Hold tight and pretend it’s a plan
Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2015
Messages
10,154
Trophies
1
Location
Glasgow
Website
www.rockstarnorth.com
XP
15,983
Country
United Kingdom
WTF, the whole CPU is named Broadway.
The Broadway is a microprocessor or cpu lol they both mean the same thing.

Definition of a microprocessor

an integrated circuit that contains all the functions of a central processing unit of a computer.
 
Last edited by AmandaRose,

Yamathedestroyer

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2016
Messages
149
Trophies
0
Age
27
Location
Beim Terrorprofi aus der BRD
XP
1,590
Country
Germany
The Broadway is a microprocessor or cpu lol they both mean the same thing.

Definition of a cpu

an integrated circuit that contains all the functions of a central processing unit of a computer.

Sorry then. Im not an Native English Speaker and i thought you talked bs. Didnt want to insult you.
 

AmandaRose

Do what I do. Hold tight and pretend it’s a plan
Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2015
Messages
10,154
Trophies
1
Location
Glasgow
Website
www.rockstarnorth.com
XP
15,983
Country
United Kingdom
Sorry then. Im not an Native English Speaker and i thought you talked bs. Didnt want to insult you.
Just so you know I'm not talking bs look at this.


Screenshot_20191017_020852_com.sec.android.app.sbrowser.jpg
 

MikaDubbz

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2017
Messages
3,829
Trophies
1
Age
36
XP
7,121
Country
United States
I see.
Still it doesn't seem too far fetched some the switch seems that much more powerful than the Wii u... Is it?

The Wii U is more powerful than the PS2, and Xbox (OG), yet understandably no one is waiting on the system to be able to play games from those systems. Just because a system is more powerful doesn't mean that it can easily play any less powerful system before it. Heck, you'll still be hard pressed to find any system that can play a Sega Saturn emulator at a satisfactory speed.
 

EmulateLife

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 30, 2016
Messages
3,981
Trophies
0
Age
42
XP
1,888
Country
United States
Most of the good Wii U games have or are coming to Swich anyway. Best you're going to get otherwise buy a Wii U.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

The Wii U is more powerful than the PS2, and Xbox (OG), yet understandably no one is waiting on the system to be able to play games from those systems. Just because a system is more powerful doesn't mean that it can easily play any less powerful system before it. Heck, you'll still be hard pressed to find any system that can play a Sega Saturn emulator at a satisfactory speed.

You must be out of the loop Saturn emulation is coming to Switch https://gbatemp.net/threads/yaba-sanshiro-optimised-sega-saturn-emulator-coming-soon.549776/ and is already playable on Lakka Switch and Android Switch.
 

MikaDubbz

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2017
Messages
3,829
Trophies
1
Age
36
XP
7,121
Country
United States
Most of the good Wii U games have or are coming to Swich anyway. Best you're going to get otherwise buy a Wii U.

They're inexpensive, and really are worth it if you hack them out.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

You must be out of the loop Saturn emulation is coming to Switch https://gbatemp.net/threads/yaba-sanshiro-optimised-sega-saturn-emulator-coming-soon.549776/ and is already playable on Lakka Switch and Android Switch.

But is the emulation any good? Technically there is a Saturn emulator for the Wii but it's so terrible that it's not even worth using. I'm sure that Switch Saturn emulator is better, but I'd be shocked if it's even close to full speed due to how strange the architecture of that system was making it hard to develop for in general, let alone emulate on system with very different hardware, even if they are significantly more powerful.
 

EmulateLife

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 30, 2016
Messages
3,981
Trophies
0
Age
42
XP
1,888
Country
United States
Yes all games are full speed playable on Lakka and Android and the dev m4xw did N64 PSP and Dreamcast is doing it for native Switch, it'll be perfect or at least near perfect.

Yaba Sanshiro is perfect on PC it's laughable to compare it to the Wii Saturn emulator. Like I said you're out of the loop.
 
Last edited by EmulateLife,

MikaDubbz

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2017
Messages
3,829
Trophies
1
Age
36
XP
7,121
Country
United States
Yes all games are full speed playable on Lakka and Android and the dev m4xw did N64 PSP and Dreamcast is doing it for native Switch, it'll be perfect or at least near perfect.

Yaba Sanshiro is perfect on PC it's laughable to compare it to the Wii Saturn emulator. Like I said you're out of the loop.

Well then congrats guys, 4 gens later, and we can finally emulate the Saturn on modern consoles. Perhaps that helps illustrate all the more why asking for full speed compatability with a system from only one gen earlier isn't always as simple as it may sound (which of course isn't to say that it can't be rather simple from one gen to the next, just depends on how different the architecture is).
 

EmulateLife

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 30, 2016
Messages
3,981
Trophies
0
Age
42
XP
1,888
Country
United States
Don't congratulate me I was simply correcting you on something you clearly had no clue about. It doesn't matter when it happened Saturn emulation is way better than back when someone tried to do it for Wii. I've been emulating Saturn on PC for nearly a decade.
 

MikaDubbz

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2017
Messages
3,829
Trophies
1
Age
36
XP
7,121
Country
United States
Don't congratulate me I was simply correcting you on something you clearly had no clue about. It doesn't matter when it happened Saturn emulation is way better than back when someone tried to do it for Wii. I've been emulating Saturn on PC for nearly a decade.

lol it wasn't directed at you in general.
 

MikaDubbz

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2017
Messages
3,829
Trophies
1
Age
36
XP
7,121
Country
United States
I was simply correcting you on something you clearly had no clue about. It doesn't matter when it happened Saturn emulation is way better than back when someone tried to do it for Wii. I've been emulating Saturn on PC for nearly a decade.

Also what do you mean by correcting? I wasn't wrong, Saturn emulation was a pain and only now 2 decades later are we getting decent emulation. In no way does that negatively affect my point, but only reinforces it.
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    The scenario in question is to do disk erases on some storage servers at my job that have I think 12x 14TB spinners, SATA SSDs, and nvme disks. The process I'm using to erase the spinners is to kick off an ATA Security Erase in the disk's firmware, then once that's done do a dd zero-fill as a second pass.
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    These spinners take like 22h per each of those operations
  • Veho @ Veho:
    I'll admit sometimes it takes me longer to write and debug a script that will do that for me, than it would take me to make the changes manually, but this is more fun.
    +1
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    And running it over a serial console I'd either have to spin up a dozen and a half screen sessions or just run one operation at a time
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    Wrote a horrifyingly long one-liner to do all of that - spin up a shitload of screen sessions, run these commands to it, pipe output to kmsg so it shows up in the default tty's shell, and some other shit on top of that.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Can't you run pssh?
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    Some day I'll write out a properly formatted shell script that lives on our firmware server or git repo and just call that, and have that handle every kind of server we run much more gracefully than my hobbled together atrocity does right now
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    pssh - nope. 1, what I'm doing gets done from our bootable provisioning environment, and you can only interface with that via serial console - we don't accept ssh connections on the servers in that state, and 2, I don't even know if our bootable environment has pssh baked into it
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    3, I've never even heard of it before lol
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    Anyway I can open serial console sessions to multiple devices at the same time, and broadcast my input to all of them (iTerm on Mac is the terminal emulator I'm using). It's just a matter of how many commands I'd have to run by hand, and how long they'd take otherwise lol
  • Veho @ Veho:
    I just assumed you were working via SSH. I know my way around that. If a server is only accessible locally it's waaay beyond saving from my end so I let the DC team work on that :tpi:
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    I *am* the DC team :P the remote arm of it, anyway
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    Trust me, I wish I could do everything I need to do via ssh. Working through these serial console servers suuuuuucks in comparison
  • HiradeGirl @ HiradeGirl:
    SSH rules
    +1
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    I love that there's a network filesystem that runs on top of ssh - sshfs
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    I use it in most of my home network for mounting network storage in various *nix VMs
  • Veho @ Veho:
    sshfs you say...
  • Veho @ Veho:
    I use SFTP but it doesn't have the bells and whistles.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Dumb dx11 and lutris
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    sshfs allows you to mount networked storage on a machine as a FUSE filesystem. It's sftp under the hood but has all of the interactivity and usability you'd expect of a locally mounted filesystem. Downside, it can slow down a little bit with massive directories, but I haven't personally run into that yet
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    This perspective is all linux oriented fwiw. I believe there's an sshfs driver for Windows, but I haven't used it yet. and no idea for MacOS
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Ftp is life if not on wifi
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    yeah ftp and occasionally samba at the house.
  • impeeza @ impeeza:
    By the way under Windows you can use Total Commander to access so many sources as drives, SFTP, FTP, WebDav, Cloud shares, etc.
    +1
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Total Commander rules.
    Veho @ Veho: Total Commander rules.