ROM Hack whats the point of classic mode

aenoch

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2015
Messages
748
Trophies
0
Age
33
Location
Ludington, Michigan
XP
300
Country
United States
i think i just figured it out wile typing the title. if sysand is to low of a firmware for certain retail carts then classic mod in emunand will play them.


i don't think this really affects me my sysnand is on 9.0 and all the retail games i own work on sysnand

I guess my new question is which is more recommended to use sys or classic mode when playing the physical games.
 

sup3rgh0st

Top Tier Ghost
Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2010
Messages
451
Trophies
1
XP
2,301
Country
United States
Well it'll help in the future if you have a retail game that doesn't work on sysnand.. Also, it's also there from the days when people were forced to stay on 4.5, which wasn't supported by all of the never games.

Play your retail games on the system nand, unless you want online play, then go on classic mode.
 

SickPuppy

New Member
Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2009
Messages
1,830
Trophies
0
XP
722
Country
United States
I have a 4.1 3DS and it allows me to play newer retail carts that require higher firmware, it also blocks the update on those carts too. Sometimes have to wait for gateway to release an update to get newer games fully compatible.
 

Apache Thunder

I have cameras in your head!
Member
Joined
Oct 7, 2007
Messages
4,294
Trophies
3
Age
35
Location
Levelland, Texas
Website
www.mariopc.co.nr
XP
6,249
Country
United States
It would be better if Classic Mode and Gateway mode are merged together and retail carts can boot while in gateway mode as well as allowing the new save keys if you are on a sysnand that supports it. (classic mode already uses the new save keys if you are on 6.x or higher sysnand).

Perhaps just have gateway mode go into a more limited mode if booted without the gateway card inserted. Otherwise, Classic Mode is increasingly becoming pointless in this day and age. :P

Either that or they fix Classic Mode so that CIAs work in it. They can just have that part of it not work if the gateway card isn't inserted. What's stopping them? Would be great to be able to use SaveDataFiler on retail carts using the new save crypto. :P
 
  • Like
Reactions: Zidapi

Blue Lamb

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2007
Messages
108
Trophies
1
XP
384
Country
United States
Now I'm a little bit confused. I have a 3DS XL on SysNAND 9.2.

I updated an EmuNAND from GW3DS 9.2 to 9.5.

When I load Gateway Mode, a NAND on GW3DS 9.5 is loaded. Can I play my ROMS online from there safely (assuming I have my own header)?
 

Apache Thunder

I have cameras in your head!
Member
Joined
Oct 7, 2007
Messages
4,294
Trophies
3
Age
35
Location
Levelland, Texas
Website
www.mariopc.co.nr
XP
6,249
Country
United States
Roms from gateway card and anything you installed with DevMan/BigBlueMenu/BigRedMenu will only work in Gateway mode. Classic Mode is for region free and is limited to official retail carts and legit stuff you downloaded from eShop. You can use legit eShop stuff in Gateway mode as well. So you have little reason to use Classic Mode if the majority of your stuff is installed to SD card. If you use roms on the gateway card, public headers might get you banned. Though the bans Nintendo currently is handing out appear to be temporary and last only a few weeks. There have been no confirmed bans from users using only CIA based games online and I have personally never gotten the ban message. I've intentionally avoided running any of my games from the gateway card. Even my legit dump of my Alpha Sapphire game has now been converted to CIA once I had resold that one to GameStop. (did that to pay for fixing a bricked 3DS. I would have otherwise kept it)
 

Apache Thunder

I have cameras in your head!
Member
Joined
Oct 7, 2007
Messages
4,294
Trophies
3
Age
35
Location
Levelland, Texas
Website
www.mariopc.co.nr
XP
6,249
Country
United States
Well if retail carts worked in Gateway mode that wouldn't be an issue. Besides you can convert your games to CIA so you don't have to have your gateway cart inserted. (it only has to be there during the initial bootup into gateway mode). CIAs also only work in Gateway mode.
 

Blue Lamb

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2007
Messages
108
Trophies
1
XP
384
Country
United States
Amazing. I just got my GW today, set it up and backed up my games, importing their headers into other back ups. I should have learned that sooner T^T
 

aenoch

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2015
Messages
748
Trophies
0
Age
33
Location
Ludington, Michigan
XP
300
Country
United States
So cia play nicely. Online? Which card do. They install to, and can i use morw then one microsd card for holding the backup .3ds/cia. Files. Sorry i thaught i posted this in the flash cart forum
 

aenoch

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2015
Messages
748
Trophies
0
Age
33
Location
Ludington, Michigan
XP
300
Country
United States
Well if retail carts worked in Gateway mode that wouldn't be an issue. Besides you can convert your games to CIA so you don't have to have your gateway cart inserted. (it only has to be there during the initial bootup into gateway mode). CIAs also only work in Gateway mode.
When im using the gateway card i usualy leave it in the slot. I dont see the point in taking it out. Inless im putting a different game cart in
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    Veho @ Veho: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1zsbXosf5FM