"What Is Wrong With My Computer?" Thread.

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by Nujui, Jun 1, 2011.

Jun 1, 2011
  1. Nujui
    OP

    Member Nujui I need something to do.

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,933
    Location:
    Dreamland.
    Country:
    United States
    Post your problem and see if the other members can help you.
     


  2. machomuu

    Member machomuu Drops by occasionally

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    8,437
    Location:
    The Courtroom
    Country:
    United States
    ...Why do we not already have one of these?
     
  3. Nujui
    OP

    Member Nujui I need something to do.

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,933
    Location:
    Dreamland.
    Country:
    United States
    No Idea. [​IMG]
     
  4. Paarish

    Member Paarish Connor's Nublet

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,719
    Location:
    Married to DinohScene
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Exactly what I was gonna ask [​IMG]
     
  5. .Chris

    Member .Chris Pffft.

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,182
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    removed
     
  6. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,151
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    We do already have one of these. The last one was created by Urza, stickied for a while, then taken down because people were reporting threads for not being put in the sticky.

    Either way, people will usually get their questions answered if they ask, so long as they dont ask the same question every month.
     
  7. Sausage Head

    Banned Sausage Head Lord Sausage LXIX

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,677
    Location:
    alanjohn check ur pm
    Country:
    Netherlands
    isn't the computer section supposed to be for questions like "what is wrong with my computer"?
     
  8. Nujui
    OP

    Member Nujui I need something to do.

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,933
    Location:
    Dreamland.
    Country:
    United States
    Actually, if I remember correctly. Urza made the "What Computer should I buy/build thread." That was stickyed and taken down, unless there was another thread that he made saying the same thing. When I put in my title, not much similar things came up with it.

    It was just an idea anyways.

    @Sausage Head: It isn't just for that.
     
  9. SinHarvest24

    Member SinHarvest24 Shiroyasha

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    999
    Location:
    Anywhere you think of me.
    Country:
    Trinidad and Tobago
    I changed my tower casing and now i'm not getting any sound from my on-board audio port. Don't know what happened, was working perfectly and i didn't change anything other than the casing which shouldn't cause any problems in my pc performance. Any trouble-shooting tips?
     
  10. Vulpes Abnocto

    Former Staff Vulpes Abnocto Drinks, Knows Things

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    6,600
    Country:
    United States

    As KirbyBoy pointed out that was a buy/build thread.
    It was removed because there are simply too many variations on what a "computer" is these days to be encompassed by a single thread.
    However, I think this is brilliant!
    Be sure to post exactly what sort of computer you are running (specifications, operating system, browsers, et cetera) if you want help.
     
  11. Hakoda

    Member Hakoda GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,133
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Country:
    United States
    Well that's a bit weird. By onboard audio do you mean the one on the motherboard or the headphone jack integrated into the case? If its the one in the back of the computer right on the motherboard, make sure your BIOS settings are not cleared and are configured correctly as a case change would not alter drivers but perhaps a reinstallation of the drivers are required. If its the headphone jack then you may have not connected the line from the new case to the motherboard correctly. There are usually two audio connections for the headphone jack for the 9-pin connector on your board. You may get the choice of AC'97 or HD Audio.

    Recently, I had to reinstall a new motherboard and a new case and I chose AC'97. To my surprised it didn't work out of the box and I didn't want to deal with new drivers so I switched it to HD Audio and it worked like a charm.
     
  12. BORTZ

    Global Moderator BORTZ wtf, nintendo

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    10,638
    Country:
    United States
    Umm. I have a mac book pro 2008 model. I noticed the optical disk drive spinning slowly. I though that's weird cause there's no disk in there... And it got faster an d faster till it almost sounded dangerous. I panicked and hard shut it down. I booted it back up and as soon as it was on (like when the mac start up noise sounded) the drive was at it again. Any ideas ?
     
  13. purplesludge

    Member purplesludge anyone have any ideas for this space

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,047
    Location:
    wv
    Country:
    United States
    I have a touchsmart tx2 1375dx.
    If I have two operating systems installed Windows bluescreens randomly and Ubuntu freezes.
     
  14. doyama

    Member doyama GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    1,288
    Country:
    United States
    If both OS are crashing like that I suspect your memory is bad.
     
  15. purplesludge

    Member purplesludge anyone have any ideas for this space

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,047
    Location:
    wv
    Country:
    United States
    Doesn't happen when I only have 1 OS installed. Also it would get really hot while doing nothing.
     
  16. doyama

    Member doyama GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    1,288
    Country:
    United States
    Mostly just relaying experience. If you think about what components really make up your system you really only have a few options to 'fix'. On a laptop it's even more narrow.

    1) Hard drive. I had a hard drive choke my entire system so it wouldn't boot one time. And it wasn't even the boot drive! That was weird.... It's probably worth running a full disk check and also see if the MBR is corrupted somehow.
    2) Optical drive. If you can easily eject/remove it you can try that.
    3) RAM. This one pretty much covers 99% of all laptop failures, especially 'weird' stuff that's random-ish

    Basically if a RAM module swap doesn't fix it, you're totally screwed because it's the CPU/mobo in which case you're better off just buying a new laptop than attempting to replace that.
     
  17. purplesludge

    Member purplesludge anyone have any ideas for this space

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,047
    Location:
    wv
    Country:
    United States
    It works 100% fine now.The led would blink twice after it would crash which according to hp is BIOS corruption failure.
     
  18. doyama

    Member doyama GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    1,288
    Country:
    United States
    Well that's good news!

    Since you withheld the blinking LED I'm still going to say I was right with the information given [​IMG] Plus I've only ever seen a BIOS upgrade fix a problem a handful of times. Maybe... twice? [​IMG]
     
  19. SinHarvest24

    Member SinHarvest24 Shiroyasha

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    999
    Location:
    Anywhere you think of me.
    Country:
    Trinidad and Tobago
    Motherboard port, how do i check my BIO settings and what not?
     
  20. Quietlyawesome94

    Member Quietlyawesome94 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,146
    Location:
    The Internet
    Country:
    United States
    Hello, Crisis 2 refuses to run on my computer.

    Aspire one D255
    CPU Intel Atom 1.55 GHZ
    1GB DDR3 RAM

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]
     

Share This Page