Hacking What does 3DS mean for homebrew?

iceissocold

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Homebrew on the 3DS is inevitable and so I was wondering what could be done. Obviously its a big hardware difference from the DS and PSP. How difficult will it be to create Homebrew software that utilizes the 3D function of the 3DS?

iceissocold

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Pippin666 said:
... jesus ... *sigh*

Pip'
Lol? Is there a problem? It's an honest question. I have no knowledge on how the 3D imaging works. Does the hardware do all the work or is there extra programming that has to be done.

MelodieOctavia

Just your friendly neighborhood Transbian.
Former Staff
Trophies
Website
yourmom.com
XP
Country
Djibouti
iceissocold said:
Pippin666 said:
... jesus ... *sigh*

Pip'
Lol? Is there a problem? It's an honest question. I have no knowledge on how the 3D imaging works. Does the hardware do all the work or is there extra programming that has to be done.

Unless someone here has a crystal ball, no one will be able to give you a straight answer without giving you a complete lie.

Ravenius

Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
Finland
I'm pretty sure when we get to do homebrew there'll be some sort of library that does all the work for you. I haven't seen a lot of 3D homebrew on the DS though, I wonder if people are more interested to do it for the 3DS.

ultimatt42

Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
3D on the 3DS is most likely done by loading all the geometry into the GPU and then rendering the same scene from two slightly offset cameras, simulating your two eyes. The two frames are then combined into a single display that alternates pixels from each frame, and the parallax barrier on top of the screen makes sure that light from even-numbered rows goes to your right eye and light from odd-numbered rows goes to your left eye (or maybe vice-versa, my eyes aren't good enough to tell).