Gaming What cable speed should I get?

SkyintheSea

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Hello, I was using wifi off my neighbors router.
Now they have a password for the wifi.

I have no other choice, but to get cable.
Should I get 1mbps or 5mbps?

I game a lot, download a lot, streaming videos/music and surf the web a lot.
What speed would be sufficient for gaming without high ping?

(is cable faster than a wireless router?)
Should I add $10 more for wireless?
I heard that wireless is much better than cable. Is it true?

I don't want to pay to over $30, because I am a student paying bills and only working part time.

Charter:
5mbps = $30 monthly 6 months
1mbps = $20 monthly 6 months
Adding wireless is $10

Please help! Thanks!

SkyintheSea

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Well, Charter let's you add the wireless feature in for $10 is it worth it?
So you say 1 mbps should do well enough or should I get 5 mpbs for the long run?

ZeWarrior

TheWarrior
Trophies
Website
Visit site
XP
Country
Brazil
WTF? I'm sorry but 1Mb/s is not good at all. You say you download a lot, and game a lot, with that kind of speed you can still and probably will lag on some servers. Opt out for the 5Mbps. Its much better.

upbumpo190

Trophies
Website
ethericwarriors.eu
XP
Country
France
5 Megs is even slow... I've found 8 Megs to be acceptable in my eyes.

My advice, get 8 megs, and buy your own router (get one that's DD-WRT compatible) and setup your own wi-fi.

Why pay 10 bucks a month for something you can get for life for 30 bucks?

ISP's hardware sucks in any case...

Cermage

Trophies
Website
Visit site
XP
Country
translation for you

at 1mpbs you'll be downloading at about 100kb/sec~
at 5mpbs you'll be downloading at about 600kb/sec~