Weird Wi-Fi Problem

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by 67birdman, Mar 16, 2010.

Mar 16, 2010

Weird Wi-Fi Problem by 67birdman at 12:55 AM (811 Views / 0 Likes) 11 replies

  1. 67birdman
    OP

    Member 67birdman GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    441
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Country:
    Canada
    Hi everyone [​IMG]
    So today I set up my old PC downstairs, quite old.
    I basically need it for homework and stuff.
    But now I put in my USB Wireless Network Adapter, and it won't sense my access point [​IMG]
    I have all the latest working drivers and stuff.
    The USB stick is Trendnet 424-UB [​IMG] , and my router is a Linksys WRT-160n.
    What can I do to detect my wireless-n access point, or can I set it up manually??
    Please HELP!!
     
  2. ACDCGAMER

    Member ACDCGAMER GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    188
    Location:
    Hell
    Country:
    United States
    First off, how far is your computer from your router? Is the router downstairs, or upstairs?
     
  3. Tanas

    Member Tanas GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    2,258
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Try changing the channel setting on your router.
     
  4. 67birdman
    OP

    Member 67birdman GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    441
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Country:
    Canada
    OK I changed it to 11-2.462GHZ, but still nothing--does it take long??
     
  5. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    It should change pretty much instantly.

    When's the last time you set up the wireless on your computer?
     
  6. Elritha

    Member Elritha GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    2,037
    Country:
    Canada
    It shouldn't take long to show up. Do you have SSID hidden by any chance on your router? You should also disable any wireless encryption just for troubleshooting. You mention you have a wireless N router also. Have you it on a setting to be backward compatible with b/g?

    I would also test the wireless usb adaptor on another computer to rule out some compatibility issues with your old computer.
     
  7. 67birdman
    OP

    Member 67birdman GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    441
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Country:
    Canada
    I set it up like yesterday..
     
  8. ACDCGAMER

    Member ACDCGAMER GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    188
    Location:
    Hell
    Country:
    United States
    Wait! Do you have any wireless phones in your house? If so, are they 2.4gHz? If so, I heard that it can interfere with your wireless router and cause you to have poor signal quality, not sure if this is in fact true though.
     
  9. 67birdman
    OP

    Member 67birdman GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    441
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Country:
    Canada
    I have DECT 6.0 phones, I don't think that's a problem..
     
  10. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, test the adapter on another computer, and if it works on that one download the driver installer on your computer, then uninstall the drivers and install them again.
     
  11. 67birdman
    OP

    Member 67birdman GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    441
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Country:
    Canada
    Alrite. Thanks

    Edit: I'll get back to you on this...
     
  12. 67birdman
    OP

    Member 67birdman GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    441
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Country:
    Canada
    YESSS!!!
    I did it, It was done by manually configuring the access point.
    And then, I connected to it with my PSP, and that seemed to boost the connection onto the PC.
    THANKS FOR THE HELP GUYS!!:)
     

Share This Page