WD Elements 320GB - no power from Wii after hack?

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by tookie, Feb 16, 2011.

Feb 16, 2011
  1. tookie
    OP

    Newcomer tookie Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have just bought a 320GB WD elements portable HDD for my Wii.

    When I connect it to the USB slot (bottom one) there is no reaction or power at all going into the HDD.
    When I connect it to the USB slot (top one) it receives power and seems to spin up ... but doesn't appear on any of the Wii USB programs.

    I'm using a Wii with 4.3EU software with the HomeBrew latest version .... can anyone help with this? Why does the HDD not even spin up or show that it is receiving power from the Wii ?

    Thanks
     
  2. Incure

    Newcomer Incure Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I got the same problem with my 1TB 2.5" Elements drive. The problem is the quick spindown time of this drive, which you currently can't disable. There are many complaints about this already on the Western Digital forums and now they've finally promised to look into this.

    The workaround I use is to let my Wii start directly with Wiiflow (with a forwarder in Priiloader). The first time it will say it cannot find a hard drive. Then I'll power down the Wii, with holding the power down button for a few seconds and turn it back on again. With this method the drive will wake up long enough of to let Wiifllow recognize it. When selecting a game it is possible that it seems like Wiiflow hangs, but just wait some time and it gonna respond again and you play you're games like normal.
     
  3. luckwii

    Member luckwii GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    388
    Country:
    United States
    I have never had any troubles with my WD Elements drives spinning down. I am formatted to FAT32, and Configurable USB loader. Never had any issues at all in fact.
     
  4. shortz1994

    Member shortz1994 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,341
    Country:
    United States
    i jst got the 500 gb, western digital, got it home, plugged it in an reformatted it with out installing the vcd. so mine doesn't have the spinndown feature. you get that when you plugg it in an open all the folders. just reformatt it an write all zero's to the drive.. usally take two or three tries but it will work, i have two hdd, on the wii, the first one has all my games(wbfs) an the second has all my movies an music,, the second one is in port two yes with a usb splitter. so i don't loose any usb ports.. an every thing works fine..
     

Share This Page