Way to use WPA?

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by DarthYoshi, Feb 5, 2008.

Feb 5, 2008

Way to use WPA? by DarthYoshi at 5:25 PM (2,189 Views / 0 Likes) 14 replies

  1. DarthYoshi
    OP

    Member DarthYoshi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Messages:
    240
    Country:
    United States
    My home network is protected with a WPA passphrase, and as you may know, the DS doesn't support WPA, only WEP. Is there a homebrew or a way that I could make using WPA possible?
     
  2. - Wrath of God -

    Member - Wrath of God - God

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2003
    Messages:
    975
    Country:
    United States
    Not that I know of. And I really doubt that there will be. The reason that it's not available in the first place, is that the DS isn't powerful enough to handle it (at a reasonable speed).
     
  3. noONE

    Member noONE ~~~~~~~~~~~~

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    968
    Location:
    Linköping/Norrköping, Sweden.
    Country:
    Sweden
    That is done/controlled hardware-wise by the network chipset in the DS
    and therefor , not possible to do it software-wise.
    (AFAIK)
     
  4. DarthYoshi
    OP

    Member DarthYoshi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Messages:
    240
    Country:
    United States
    Ah, I see. Didn't know power was involved. Thanks for clearing that up, though.
     
  5. Kingwad

    Newcomer Kingwad Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Messages:
    97
    Location:
    Niagara
    Country:
    Canada
    Two choices you could make:

    1. Reduce the security on your home network to WEP
    2. Use the Nintendo Wi-Fi connector on a computer on your network

    It all depends on how important online gaming is to you in terms of security and money.
     
  6. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    Just a forewarning for other posters: the WPA-enabled replacement firmware was confirmed to be a hoax. It was empty data with a DS loader attached, so it's not a legitimate way to get WPA working on the DS.
     
  7. MagNetCZ

    Member MagNetCZ GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    383
    Location:
    Prague
    Country:
    Czech Republic
    Well the firmware doesn't affect the games anyway, the netcode is hardcoded in 'em anyway => not even a DS revision would fix this (AFAIK). It's definitely an issue but I've read Nintendo's statement on this and it wasn't at all positive, so all you can do is, as already said, either reduce the security (and maybe start using MAC filtering) or use the WiFi connector, which is kinda a ripoff if you've already got WiFi flowing in your place.
     
  8. DarthYoshi
    OP

    Member DarthYoshi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Messages:
    240
    Country:
    United States
    We're using MAC filtering WITH our WPA, just fyi. So, I'm just not gonna worry about it for now. If I really want to use my DS online at home, I'll just change it later.

    Thanks though guys.
     
  9. Linkiboy

    Member Linkiboy GBAtemp Testing Area

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4,888
    Country:
    United States
  10. Unchi-san

    Member Unchi-san Unchi on a stick! yay~

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    526
    Country:
    United States
    isnt that for the psp?
     
  11. Kingwad

    Newcomer Kingwad Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Messages:
    97
    Location:
    Niagara
    Country:
    Canada
     
  12. Unchi-san

    Member Unchi-san Unchi on a stick! yay~

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    526
    Country:
    United States
    yeah but the forum box on the bottom of the item page on dealextreme has people saying not to get it because they aren't able to make it work for the ds...

    so theoretically it "should" work but people are not able to get it to work.

    has anyone ordered this product and gotten it to work?
     
  13. Scorpei

    Member Scorpei GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,295
    Country:
    Netherlands
    You do understand that by adding such a device (something that doesn't support WPA --> network switch back to WEP) to your network you are in essence making your network unsafe again? The easiest / best way to do this I guess is to either A. get a new router (connected to your old network via WPA or cable) or B. get any USB/whatever_connection_here dongle for your PC that can act as an AP; then let either A or B run WEP + MAC filtering. That way if your WEP gets cracked only communication from and to your DS will be open to the public rather then your whole network [​IMG]. Naturally though if someone has your WEP key and your MAC addres and they spoof that they can get in your normal network so I guess safe is still rather relative. Then again sending data over the air waves......
     
  14. Scorpei

    Member Scorpei GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,295
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I had the original Nintendo WiFi adapter, but now as I never internet with my DS anymore only use it on my mother's computer as a wireless network card [​IMG].
     
  15. kiwiboyus

    Newcomer kiwiboyus Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    I have the DS USB connector but it always screwed up my local network settings so I ended up getting an older used wireless router and connected it to my main router. The second router is using WEP and restricted to the MAC addresses of my two DS, I also don't broadcast the SSID so it's less obvious to anyone looking. Next I plan to set up rules in my first router to restrict access to my second router so that if it is ever hacked it will be isolated from my main network and PCs. You could probably find an older 802.11b router at a thrift store for pretty cheap these days. I paid $5 for mine.
     

Share This Page