Wanting to upgrade hard drive in laptop

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by kjb1686, Feb 15, 2011.

Feb 15, 2011
  1. kjb1686
    OP

    Member kjb1686 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    261
    Location:
    Olean New York
    Country:
    United States
    I have a laptop with a 320gb hard drive. It is a toshiba what i was curious was is there are hard drives on newegg and they are 2.5 inches and i don't know if they will fit my laptop. I checked the documentation that came with my computer and that was no help at all. I want a bigger hard drive because i am running out of space rather quickly.
     
  2. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,149
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    AFAIK, PS3 is the only device in which the HDD has to be less than 9.5mm thick. Any 2.5" HDD should work fine inside your laptop. The only thing you to check is if it uses SATA or IDE.

    EDIT: When dealing with the old HDD... you can never have too many external HDDs.
     
  3. whoomph

    Member whoomph GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    191
    Location:
    South Coast of England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Your current hard drive is SATA, rather than the older IDE type connection.
    As long as the new drive is SATA, it should fit. I have swapped countless laptop hard drives.
    [​IMG]
    As you mentioned running out of space, I would suggest you turn your old laptop drive into an external. (External housings are cheap)
    Hope that helps.

    EDIT: I've got to work on my typing speed lol
     
  4. kjb1686
    OP

    Member kjb1686 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    261
    Location:
    Olean New York
    Country:
    United States
    Well i have 2 external hdds already and i should have mentioned that i knew it was sata. The 2 externals are for one my wii and the other backup and that is out of space already also but i probably will do that and turn it into another external.
     

Share This Page