Hacking [vWii] 3-core hack

Status
Not open for further replies.

thekarter104

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2013
Messages
1,816
Trophies
0
XP
2,087
Country
United States
If it's possible and it comes out, will it be possible to run an N64 emulator at full speed?
Then I can finally play Super Mario 64 Star Road! This ROM hack doesn't even work on real Nintendo 64 for some reason...

EDIT: Can the thread be renamed to [vWii] 3-core hack question?
I forgot to put 'question' behind it..
 

Walker D

I have a hat
Member
Joined
Nov 15, 2009
Messages
1,334
Trophies
0
Location
My home
XP
748
Country
Brazil
If it's possible and it comes out, will it be possible to run an N64 emulator at full speed?
Then I can finally play Super Mario 64 Star Road! This ROM hack doesn't even work on real Nintendo 64 for some reason...

EDIT: Can the thread be renamed to [vWii] 3-core hack question?
I forgot to put 'question' behind it..

Um... just a minute .....

Let me seee.....

bola-de-cristal.jpg
 
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
21,095
Trophies
0
Location
Alola
XP
11,913
Country
Norway
If it's possible and it comes out, will it be possible to run an N64 emulator at full speed?
Then I can finally play Super Mario 64 Star Road! This ROM hack doesn't even work on real Nintendo 64 for some reason...

EDIT: Can the thread be renamed to [vWii] 3-core hack question?
I forgot to put 'question' behind it..
No offense but Super Mario 64 Star Road is crap. The levels are not well designed and it all seems like a rush job. I didn't find it fun at all.
Agree on the thread renaming. I was hoping the hack was released :(
But to answer your question, it may not make any difference at all since N64 emulation normally happens on a single core and modifying the emulator to make use of multiple cores takes some serious effort and will introduce new bugs and incompatibilities, whether anyone will bother to modify it knowing that is hard to say. Even then, the speed increase will not be huge as all it'll be doing is moving certain parts of emulation to its own thread, like sound emulation.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Slamicite

Ninja_Carver

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2012
Messages
364
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
632
Country
United States
As others have previously stated, there's really no telling what the capabilities of the system will be.

If Linux is the platform used, the emulators will need to support Symmetrical Multi-Processor systems in order to get the best out of the hardware.
Even then, without a full WiiU hack, we'd be limited to the memory of the vWii (64MB?) which an emulator would just laugh at.

So at this point in time, don't get your hopes up. But personally I would love to see console emulation brought along with this project.
 

Ray Lewis

Banned!
Banned
Joined
Dec 30, 2012
Messages
1,518
Trophies
0
XP
408
Country
United States
Marcan's espresso blog mentioned Wii u ram, right? Hinted at tri-core being a good start. Well, running 3 cores.
 

Ninja_Carver

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2012
Messages
364
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
632
Country
United States
To clarify, this only yields access to the extra cores, not the extra RAM and the rest of the hardware. For that, you’ll need a Wii U mode exploit. We do have such an exploit, but right now I believe that, if it were released, there wouldn’t be enough developer interest to kickstart a healthy homebrew ecosystem; if e.g. a Linux port to vWii-mode Espresso is developed, I will gladly stand corrected (and such a Linux port would be directly applicable to Wii U mode, modulo a few minor memory mapping differences, so it’s not wasted effort).
 
  • Like
Reactions: Deletedmember331810

KazoWAR

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 12, 2008
Messages
1,949
Trophies
0
Age
33
Location
Winter Haven
XP
1,957
Country
United States
speaking of tri-core. i wonder if it would ever get added to devkitpro, so all you need to do is call one simple function to enable it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.

Site & Scene News

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • VartioArtel @ VartioArtel:
    Don't tell me the site's designed with 4k in mind and not lower resolutions..
  • VartioArtel @ VartioArtel:
    (Or at least the chatbox isn't)
  • linuxares @ linuxares:
    yes we have had IRC for since forever... for some reason it's still alive
  • ZeroT21 @ ZeroT21:
    Maybe it was meant for a gba screen?
    +1
  • Olmectron @ Olmectron:
    It looks great on my GBA's web browser.
    +1
  • IanSkinner1982 @ IanSkinner1982:
    unknown.png

    I like this feature.
  • Dionicio3 @ Dionicio3:
    so is this the new shoutbox?
  • IanSkinner1982 @ IanSkinner1982:
    Seems so.
  • VartioArtel @ VartioArtel:
    Oh some of you are actually looking at the chatbox via the main page and not the corner tab
    , that might explain it a bit
  • JuanMena @ JuanMena:
    It's on every page.
  • ZeroT21 @ ZeroT21:
    It's nice tho
  • VartioArtel @ VartioArtel:
    When I said main page I meant the gbatemp.net/chat page not the site head page.
  • JuanMena @ JuanMena:
    There's a chat page?
  • VartioArtel @ VartioArtel:
    *points at top of the side*
  • JuanMena @ JuanMena:
    Oh nice!
  • IanSkinner1982 @ IanSkinner1982:
    Yeah, it just leads to here.
  • VartioArtel @ VartioArtel:
    Still the chat but different perspective.
  • JuanMena @ JuanMena:
    So. You could disable chat, but have the chat open as a page?
  • IanSkinner1982 @ IanSkinner1982:
    Probably.
  • VartioArtel @ VartioArtel:
    My issue comes with the corner tab version which looks like it wasn't really thought out as well.
  • JuanMena @ JuanMena:
    Yes it works. You can disable chat but have it as it's own page.
  • IanSkinner1982 @ IanSkinner1982:
    I think I am only really going to use this in it's own window.
    IanSkinner1982 @ IanSkinner1982: I think I am only really going to use this in it's own window.