Vista 32bit or 64bit for gaming?

Discussion in 'Computer Software and Operating Systems' started by Foxstar, Dec 20, 2007.

Dec 20, 2007
  1. Foxstar
    OP

    Member Foxstar GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Messages:
    127
    Country:
    Australia
    Hello,

    I just ordered myself another hard drive as I am going to dual boot with windows Xp (which is what i will use for everything apart from playing games) and Windows Vista (which is ONLY for games).

    Now which version, the 32bit or 64bit, is better for pure gaming? Or should i just stick with windows XP as i have heard vista can impair performance and that directX10 will only have a slight improvement in graphics but lower FPS's.

    My PC setup is

    Graphics card: Soon to be 8800gt 512mb
    CPU: AMD X2 5000+
    2x1gb Ram

    Cheers.
     
  2. Jiggah

    Member Jiggah GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    1,223
    Country:
    United States
    You're suppose to be able to get both if you're getting the retail version. If you're buying an OEM version...hmmm, I'd say 64-bit. Why? Well, supposedly Crysis, which happens to be the benchmark game right now, outputs about a 10-15% performance increase in the 64-bit version vs. the 32-bit version. Also, if you're running only 2 gb of ram, 64-bit really becomes pointless.

    So, I'd say stick with 32-bit XP for stability for now, and wait out until DX10.1 gets implemented. However, do realize that a lot of games coming out are being optimized for Vista, in the case of Crysis, Vista 64-bit. Supposedly, the .1 version of DX10, will implement something that will give a huge increase in speed to games utilizing DX10 graphics, that's just the word on the street, haven't seen anything conclusive. Also, the 8800GT will not be able to utilize the 10.1 feature.
     
  3. cruddybuddy

    Banned cruddybuddy Group: Banned!

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    2,864
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    Win XP, but if you must, Vista 32.
     
  4. WeaponXxX

    Member WeaponXxX Too F'in Blonde

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,868
    Location:
    Currently in Chicagoooooooo
    Country:
    United States
    I'm running a quad core Intel on an ATI HD3870XT and it runs UT2k7 at 1680X1050 with Hardware Physcs and Vsync enabled on Vista 32Bit and it runs flawless....

    Same rig ran like shit on XP...soo....not sure...my Dual Core systems run fine on XP though...but your on AMD so...I got no friggin clue....
     
  5. BigX

    Member BigX GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    292
    Location:
    over there
    Country:
    Canada
    If you can get all the driver for Vista 64 you need on your system, go for it...worst case would be to run as fast as 32 Bit Version...
    But if you only miss one driver, prepare to have a lot of problems playing games...
    Its allways time to move on...of nobody uses new technology, It wont improve!
     

Share This Page