USB Port 1 options

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by madkrackerz, Dec 16, 2009.

Dec 16, 2009

USB Port 1 options by madkrackerz at 2:54 PM (7,940 Views / 0 Likes) 27 replies

  1. madkrackerz
    OP

    Newcomer madkrackerz Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    I checked out this thread and found a download to a special edition of hermes that allowed the use of usb port 1.

    http://www.gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=193179

    I loaded the cIOS provieded and uloader worked! Awesome! I had done some checking around and posted once and someone said that I should try IOS36 rev10...they said it should support port 1. I just couldn't get it to work.

    So my point being here...What are the options for us folks that have a broken port 0?

    cIOS versions?
    Loaders?

    While uLoader is cool...but I was use to Configureable USB Loader.

    Will other loaders work with the Hermes IOS?
    Or does the loader have to look specifically for port 1?
    Or does it just depend on the loader?

    Sorry for all the questions...but this will be helpful to me and other too! Thanks
     


  2. Krestent

    Member Krestent What to post?

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952
    Country:
    United States
    USB Loader GX works with hermes


    EDIT:So does configurable
     
  3. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    all the other loaders use port 0, if ur port 0 is busted u have 2 options.., use uloader, or edit the source code of another loader to use port 1 instead of port 0
     
  4. oggzee

    Member oggzee GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    2,335
    Country:
    Slovenia
    I think the only difference wrt ports is in ehcmodule, and with cfg loader an external one can be specified in:
    /usb-loader/ehcmodule4.elf
     
  5. madkrackerz
    OP

    Newcomer madkrackerz Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    Same here...can an ELF file be edited with any text editor...or would we need something else?
     
  6. oggzee

    Member oggzee GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    2,335
    Country:
    Slovenia
    Try downloading this:
    http://cfg-loader.googlecode.com/files/ehcmodule4.elf_port1
    then rename it to ehcmodule4.elf and copy it to sd:/usb-loader/ehcmodule4.elf
    Let me know if it works, I haven't tested it.

    edit: note that the above ehmodule will not let you run games from FAT/NTFS, only WBFS.
     
  7. giantpune

    Member giantpune GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,860
    Country:
    United States
    same with GX. it checks for a echi elf on the SD card. if there isnt one there, it loads its own. once you find one that does what you want, slop it in the folder for whatever loader you are using and it should be used instead of the one that the loader is defaulted to use.
     
  8. madkrackerz
    OP

    Newcomer madkrackerz Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    Sorry...I just need to get a couple of things straight...
    I downloaded the cfg_usb_loader_50.zip files,
    There is not an ehcmodule4.elf in that directory and I have not loaded it on my wii SD card yet.
    Is the ELF created on the first run of the application?
    There is a codes directory that has some GCT files in there...but I do not see ELF files?
    Thanks again.
     
  9. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    the ehcmodule is typically internal (embedded in the boot.dol)... but from what i understand, the app will look for an external ehcmodule (in sd:/usb-loader/ehcmodule4.elf) before using the internal ehcmodule.

    so basically there should not be an ehcmodule in sd:/usb-loader/ when u download the latest rev of CFG loader. Just download oggzee's ehcmodule4.elf_port1 (rename it ehcmodule4.elf) and add it to that directory... plug in your USB into port1 and it should work (hard drive must be wbfs format).
     
  10. oggzee

    Member oggzee GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    2,335
    Country:
    Slovenia
    No, there are no ehcmodule files supplied with the normal cfg50 package.
    And they are not created by the loader.
    You have to copy it there by hand, from the link i posted above.
     
  11. madkrackerz
    OP

    Newcomer madkrackerz Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    Will do. Thank you again. I will report later on how it worked.

    Also...if there are some editors out there...I would like to try them. I am a .NET programmer by profession and I am curious about how all of this works.
    Thanks
     
  12. madkrackerz
    OP

    Newcomer madkrackerz Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    Well...I tried to do that. I renamed the file and copied it to to 'SDRoot\usb-loader\ehcmodule4.elf' and the drive could not be found. Just for good measure I made sure that uloader was still working and it did.
    The drive is WBFS too (if there was a question of that)
    Let me know if there is something else we can try. I still like your loader the best...so it would be awesome if I could get it to work again with my beat up Wii.
    Thanks
     
  13. oggzee

    Member oggzee GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    2,335
    Country:
    Slovenia
    you have to copy it to \usb-loader\ehcmodule4.elf On your SD card
    also, you have to use the -fat version which uses ios222 by default
    or specify ios=222-mload in config.txt
    If it still doesn't work, i might try it tomorrow
     
  14. madkrackerz
    OP

    Newcomer madkrackerz Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    I am unsure of...
    Are you saying the drive has to be fat? I didn't know that loaders could mount drives other than WBFS..(but I guess thats another discussion)
    As for the IOS...I found that configuration in the utility and set it.
    Thanks again.
     
  15. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    this seems to contradict you're advice of using that fat version....????
     
  16. Hogmeister

    Member Hogmeister GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Messages:
    144
    Country:
    United States
    hes saying use the fat version simply for the fact that it automatically uses ios2222 instead of 249, 249 apparantly doesn't support the use of USB port 1 like 222 does.

    OR you could set ios=222-mload in config.txt if you choose to use the nonfat version.

    doesn't contradict anything
     
  17. oggzee

    Member oggzee GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    2,335
    Country:
    Slovenia
    The main difference with that the -fat version uses ios222 by default, which is what he is trying to do...
    But both should work, just try one and the other and see if you can make it work...
     
  18. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    ahh, i think i get it.... so to get this to work using the first usb port, u need to use ios222 and have a wbfs formatted drive (and have that module saved to the sd card)?

    very interesting
     
  19. madkrackerz
    OP

    Newcomer madkrackerz Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    I will try both ways. I did not realize that you could mount FAT drives with a loader (or at least some loaders. Is that correct?)...I guess I should read some more.
    My drive is partitioned so...half WBFS and half NTFS.
    I will try to create another FAT partiton and test it as well. ( I hope there is support for 3 partitons! )
    If my thinking is wrong...shoot me down. But I would prefere FAT over WBFS.
    Unless...hmmm...
    I thought FAT32 didn't support files over 4.xx gigabytes..Is that right?
     
  20. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    yes that is correct, but there is a workaround for games larger than 4 gigs, u need to read up on it for more info (there's a lot).

    Configurable usb loader was the first to implement launching games off fat32 and NTFS (although ntfs does not support ripping games to usb yet) so u will probably find the most information on fat32 loading in the configurable thread (have fun looking through 400+ pages, lol, check out the changelog, it may save u some time). USB Loader GX also supports fat32 loading, and in my opinion these 2 loaders are the top of their class.
     

Share This Page