USB Loader GX Gamecube trouble

Discussion in 'Wii - Emulation and Homebrew' started by alwaysasn, May 29, 2012.

May 29, 2012

USB Loader GX Gamecube trouble by alwaysasn at 6:09 AM (11,900 Views / 0 Likes) 25 replies

  1. alwaysasn
    OP

    Newcomer alwaysasn Newbie

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Canada
    First off I am sorry if this has already been asked:


    I have Burnt my Windwaker game and transfered it to my HDD. USB Loader GX reads it. When I load it I get a screen that says GCloader.

    After a few seconds the text 'Loading Apploader' appears. If I leave a gamecube game in the slot it will only boot to the game in the slot.

    I don't have a PC and can't use the DML exe files. Is there a work around for this?

    Any help would be so appreciated... :)
     


  2. Hielkenator

    Member Hielkenator GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4,176
    Country:
    Netherlands
    should work.
    Do you have the latest DML.wad installed? (1.4b)
    Did you convert the game properly?
     
    1 person likes this.
  3. alwaysasn
    OP

    Newcomer alwaysasn Newbie

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Canada

    I think I have the latest DML.wad. How do I check? I just took the iso and put it in the appropriate folder on my SD card. Is there a way I can convert it using a mac??? Again it is recognizable in Configurable Usb Loader and USB Loader GX. When I attempt to play the game on either it gets stuck on "Loading Apploader" the only other game I have is a spongebob Gamecube game. If I put that game in while "Loading Apploader" is up then the game goes to spongebob and does not go to WindWaker. Otherwise no luck... Again thanks for your taking the time to help me
     
  4. Hielkenator

    Member Hielkenator GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4,176
    Country:
    Netherlands
    In order to acctually run GC games they have to be in the required format.
    YOU CAN ONLY RUN GC DML GAMES FROM YOU SD CARD.
    Playing from usb hdd is not supported ( yet )
    But the loaders can read what is on your HDD, only for storing and/or copying purposes.

    You can find all the files you need right here:

    http://code.google.c.../downloads/list
     
  5. alwaysasn
    OP

    Newcomer alwaysasn Newbie

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Canada

    I have been to that page before. I am only attempting to run off of my SD card.
    Again I am on mac so I have no way of using any exe program ATM. I reinstalled the DML wad and some Mios wad and now all my GC games go straight to a black screen...
    I feel like there is an easy fix for what I am doing wrong... I just don't know what that is.... :/
     
  6. Hielkenator

    Member Hielkenator GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4,176
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Well' you NEED to convert your games to discex format, otherwise it will NOT work.
     
  7. alwaysasn
    OP

    Newcomer alwaysasn Newbie

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Canada
    Hey, so I downloaded virtual box. I used discex on my iso... it went through a process in CMD. It didn't change the filename at all... how can I tell if the conversion worked???

    Thanks :)

    *** I figured out how to work the discex, and still when I pop it in I am on the gamecube screen where it says loading apploader....***
     
  8. Hielkenator

    Member Hielkenator GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4,176
    Country:
    Netherlands
    There should be a folder made named "games" containing a folder with the ID name of the converted game.
    That folder "games"containing that folder with that game should be placed on your sd card.
    You should be able to load the game fine.

    You could try changing the settings in the loader.
    Do not use NNM and try to switch between nodisc and offcourse try having a disc in your wii drive a s some game need a physical disc in the drive to work.

    If all else fails, try a different sd card or an older version of DML.

    If you still have no luck, post in the DML topic sticky here on GBA temp.
     
  9. alwaysasn
    OP

    Newcomer alwaysasn Newbie

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Canada
    Hey, I just got it working on NeoGamma... I appreciate all your help and patience... Have a great day :)
     
  10. Shano56

    Member Shano56 noobie

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    877
    Country:
    United States
    Doesn't ripping in usb loader gx rip to discex format?
     
  11. alwaysasn
    OP

    Newcomer alwaysasn Newbie

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Canada
    Apparently not, plus there are some old ISO files I have that I don't have the discs for anymore... I had ripped them on my old PC a couple years ago.. I just had the files lying around on my HDD...
     
  12. dandandan

    Newcomer dandandan Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm having the same problem here. I re-installed USBLoaderGX using the .exe file and I installed the DML wad (latest version) using Multi Mod Manager on IOS249

    I've used discex to format my iso files and put the resulting folders in the "games" folder on the root of the SD card

    And every time I try to load a CG game via USBLoaderGX the screen goes black for about 5 seconds and I get a splash screen for GC Loader 0.4 which then loads whatever is in the disc drive (if there's no disc in the drive I get an error screen with a stack dump)

    So what's going on? I'm a bit of a newb to this (I hacked my Wii ages ago and have only just got around to backing-up my Gamecube games) so please forgive me if it's something really obvious
     
    1 person likes this.
  13. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,390
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    If it loads GC Loader 0.4, then you don't have DIOS MIOS Lite.

    Reinstall DIOS MIOS Lite wad file.

    You can only have one MIOS at a time, if you install another one it replace the previous one.
    If you installed GC Loader after DML, then you don't have DML anymore.

    DIOS MIOS Lite has been updated to v2.2 on August 6th 2012


    Be sure to specify the correct version in USBGX > Settings > Loader settings > DML version : 2.2+
     
  14. dandandan

    Newcomer dandandan Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for the reply. I really don't understand how I don't have DML installed :blink: but hey ho

    Is it strange that the Dios Mios devs are hosting links to DML? In any case, I'm glad because last time I checked all the dowwnloads had been removed from the DML googlecode site

    Are you sure that USBGX lets you specify the DML version? I'm in the loader settings now and the only options I can see (right at the bottom) are:

    DML NMM mode - on/off

    DML LED activity - on/off

    DML PAD Hook - on/off

    DML No Disc - on/off

    DML Debug - on/off

    I know that CFGLoader lets me pick the DML version (not that it's helped so far), but I can't see any option to do that in USBGX

    Also, I don't know if this is relevant but when I try NeoGamma it does actually let me choose games via DML (I can select the titles by pressing left or right) but when I go to load them it either loads the disc in the drive instead (if there's a disc in the drive) or just completely crashes the Wii (I get strange colourful patterns on the screen, no audio, no controller input)
     
  15. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,390
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    maybe you don't have the latest beta, but the latest stable released version?
    Try this one r1201: http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?xqm7m5duu9r5t22

    Look into the Main (global) settings, it's not a per game setting.


    If the version doesn't match, it will try to boot from disc instead of using your game settings and load the ISO.
    Also, r1201 let you see which MIOS is installed (go to settings > Credit).
    It detects DM, DML, QForce. but it's up to you to specify the version in the settings.
     
  16. dandandan

    Newcomer dandandan Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I can't remember what to do with the boot.elf file. I dealt with them before but it was a long time ago.

    I presume the boot.dol file replaces the one in the USBGX app folder?
     
  17. dandandan

    Newcomer dandandan Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    A-ha! Well, I've replaced USBGX's boot.dol file with one from the archive you linked to and I have got more DML options now.

    Left all the settings at default (DML installed version 2.2+, everything else off, GameCube Mode: MIOS (default & customs))

    Aaaand, when I try to load the game I get a black screen

    At least it doesn't try to load the game in the disc drive now. I think I'm making progress :lol:
     
  18. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,390
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    black screen happens :(

    Be sure to put a (Gamecube) disc in your drive before you launch the game too.
    It helps on boot.


    I just tried DML v2.2, and I got a black screen on boot too :(
    maybe DML 2.2 is not working?

    If you have a USB, you could try to use DIOS MIOS v2.2 instead of DIOS MIOS Lite v2.2

    Edit:
    the boot.elf is not needed for end users.
    they are included just in case that build needs debugging.
     
  19. dandandan

    Newcomer dandandan Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ah, well at least I'm not the only one :P

    I was going to try Dios Mios (in fact the reason I hadn't bothered setting-up DML all those months ago when I originally hacked my Wii is because I was waiting for the USB version) but I realised that most of my favourite GC games were re-released on the Wii anyway (Metroid Prime, Pikmin 2, RE4) and I could fit the rest on an SD card. And DML seems to have a slightly better compatibility (at the moment) and seems to support 2-disc games (e.g. Metal Gear Solid)

    I think I'm going to take a break for a month or so and try again. Give my brain some time to recuperate. Maybe there will be some updates too :yay:
     
  20. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,390
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    It doesn't support games with two disc without a save prompt yet.
    it might be added later.


    Devolution can load these games with two discs without problem.
     

Share This Page