usb hub possible

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by REALDEAL, Oct 26, 2010.

Oct 26, 2010

usb hub possible by REALDEAL at 9:15 PM (1,114 Views / 0 Likes) 10 replies

  1. REALDEAL
    OP

    Member REALDEAL GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    132
    Location:
    liverpool
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    right got usb hdd in port 0 and mic in port 1 .........can the wii handle a usb hub now so i can get another mic for the kids...............and if yes any suitable hubs that i need
     
  2. guinness

    Member guinness GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    215
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Rock band uses a hub for the instruments, so I guess the answer is yes. I would imagine any hub would do, I remember using one from the £1 shop on my Wii a while back, but can't remember what was plugged into it other than my hdd.
     
  3. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    It might have to be a powered hub instead of an unpowered one.
     
  4. dexter222

    Member dexter222 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    336
    Location:
    Land of Fruits and Nuts
    Country:
    United States
    I bought my sister a set of two mikes off of ebay that use one USB adapter. They work great. It was less than $20 U.S. including shipping from Hong Kong.
     
  5. george80817

    Newcomer george80817 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Location:
    colorado springs, colorado
    Country:
    United States
    Think the powered hub is the best way to go so you dont fry the WII somehow
     
  6. Nintendo_Chick

    Member Nintendo_Chick GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    Messages:
    386
    Country:
    United States
    How would a usb powered usb hub fry a wii?
     
  7. Presto99

    Member Presto99 You slammin, bro?

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    910
    Location:
    Skyworld
    Country:
    United States
    maybe he means just to be sure.
     
  8. Robj1969

    Newcomer Robj1969 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i run 2 mics off a cheap unpowered hub...works flawlessly
     
  9. nando

    Member nando GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,072
    Country:
    United States

    still, you can't supply power to the wii via usb, it's the other way around. it just wouldn't happen.
     
  10. smuddge

    Newcomer smuddge Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Messages:
    74
    Country:
    United States
    i blew 2 wii power supplies with a usb powered harddrive so i would imagine too much draw can cause issues with the wii. thought it was the enclosure so i tried another one which is why i blew 2 power supplies. i know i would only buy powered if i was to use one!
     
  11. Nintendo_Chick

    Member Nintendo_Chick GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    Messages:
    386
    Country:
    United States
    Only so much power can be sent through usb, it can't draw "too much." A device doesn't try to draw more power, it just limits how much it will take. The worst that could happen is the usb device would not work.
     

Share This Page