Hardware USA/UK console with Japanese Gamepad?

Monty1986

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
Japan
Hi All,

I am very new to the scene and I apologize in advance if this question has come up in the past.

My Problem:
I live in Japan and ended up buying a cheap 8GB wiiU and gamepad here (before researching the region locked crap). Unfortunately, I also am new to Japan so cannot read Japanese.

I have successfully installed Haxchii and got Mocha CFW (with redNAND) set up etc. I have also edited the sys_prod.xml value to 119 to make the WiiU region free. I also have Spiik to help change the language for USA/PAL games which I have installed on the wiiU (via USB hard drive). However, some of the games still crash. So far from the USA games I have tried which crash are Smash Bros, Toad, Mario Kart (However, Mario Kart loads when Spiik is not running in Japanese), Zelda breath of the wild needs an update or something (I cannot read the Japanese in system menu)

My question:
I am willing to try and purchase a US or UK WiiU to enable to have an English system menu but also allow me to just straight up install US/PAL games without having to go through all the other hurdles to hope they will work. However, I don't want to have to buy the whole wiiU package. Will my Japanese gamepad work on a US/PAL console?

Additional question, is there anyway to straight up change the firmware of a Japanese console/gamepad into US/PAL firmware.

Thanks in advance.

lisreal2401

Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Wii U game pad aren't RF - so you'd need a console and gamepad, and yes - changing the firmware outright is possible but not well written.

Zonark

Zonark - Noun - A God
Trophies
XP
Country
United States