US Version DSi

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by kyomagi, Apr 5, 2009.

Apr 5, 2009

US Version DSi by kyomagi at 2:46 PM (3,826 Views / 0 Likes) 29 replies

  1. kyomagi
    OP

    Member kyomagi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2009
    Messages:
    211
    Country:
    United States
    I got mine this morning annnndd...it works

    durr

    AK2i works, I updated to 1.3U to get to the store and AK2i still works, safe to update FOR NOW.
     


  2. DeltaBurnt

    Member DeltaBurnt I'm bored

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    3,353
    Location:
    Where intellect matters
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for the input.

    I just hope it stays that way until I get my DSi...which is in 2 months...
     
  3. TwinBlades

    Member TwinBlades GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    778
    Country:
    Korea, South
    I dont want to start a new thread but I've seen on the boxes of the DSI thay you can get free games with 1000 points once you buy it and go onto the online shop (Forgot wats it called). If anyone have the DSI, does it mean buy like those retro games or actual Nintendo DS games like GTA?
     
  4. DeltaBurnt

    Member DeltaBurnt I'm bored

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    3,353
    Location:
    Where intellect matters
    Country:
    United States
    The 1000 points are for DSi Games and the soon to come virtual console.

    You get the 1000 free points if you log into the DSiShop for the first time before October 7th.
     
  5. Pavichokche

    Newcomer Pavichokche Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Messages:
    91
    Country:
    Canada
    they need to make a program (official downloadable stuff I mean) that can
    play videos
    view (at the very least) all sorts of pictures you put on yer sd card
    and they need to update the firmware so you can put other pictures on the homescreen (i get tired of my own face)
     
  6. DeltaBurnt

    Member DeltaBurnt I'm bored

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    3,353
    Location:
    Where intellect matters
    Country:
    United States
    I'm pretty sure you can view your pictures on the DSi, or am I wrong?

    And also Pavi, are you sure you have the latest firmware because alot of people on youtube have custom wallpapers on their DSi's...maybe all those people have the JP version?
     
  7. xDlmaoxD

    Member xDlmaoxD GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    362
    Country:
    United States
    I got mines today also, I updated to 1.3U just to make sure I got the Browser then I'm not updating.
    Until its confirm it works with the AceKard 2i [​IMG]
     
  8. CheatingSoi

    Member CheatingSoi Graphic Designer

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,099
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States
    Same here. I kinda want to use up all of my points incase Nintendo throws out and update that kills Acekard so I wont be able to go on the shop channel anymore. But idk. No good games except Wario.

    Does anyone know how to play .AAC files from the SD? I converted some mp3s and put them on the SD card but my DSi wont find them.
     
  9. Miles

    Member Miles GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Messages:
    367
    Country:
    United States
    You can't view photos and pictures that you didn't take with your DS.
    At least from what I've tried you can't.
     
  10. sevren_d

    Newcomer sevren_d Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    I also updated and my DSTTi still works just fine!!!
     
  11. DeltaBurnt

    Member DeltaBurnt I'm bored

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    3,353
    Location:
    Where intellect matters
    Country:
    United States
    Try converting your songs in iTunes.
     
  12. ricencracker

    Newcomer ricencracker Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    i had to convert mine to .m4a for any of the songs to play on the dsi
     
  13. DMC23

    Newcomer DMC23 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Country:
    United States
    I was relatively sure that the DSi would be compatible with the Acekard 2i when it got released here. If Nintendo had blocked the card with 1.3 (any version since the update seems to do the same thing in all territories), it would have gotten out. Blocking the Acekard or any other DSi compatible card could have lead to lost sells in Europe and the USA - how many people here claimed they wouldn't buy one if it blocked the cards out of the box? An upgradable bios gives them options and time. Smart thing to do is wait a few months and let the systems saturate the market then BAM! release the update that blocks them. Sure, we can refuse to upgrade the system, but they would either block DSi store access or release the upgrade in connection with a hot new release that would require the update to work (ala PSP).
     
  14. gamekool

    Member gamekool GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Messages:
    132
    Country:
    United States
    not surprising...check out the acekard official site,it release the news it works on April 3 of Euro dsi
    http://www.acekard.com/news.php

    anyway...what's the color you got? blue?
     
  15. DeltaBurnt

    Member DeltaBurnt I'm bored

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    3,353
    Location:
    Where intellect matters
    Country:
    United States
    I agree with that...in some ways.

    We all know that the inevitable update that blocks the flash carts will comes soon. But it won't be long after that (or before that maybe) that someone finds an exploit that allows flash carts to work or to get custom firmware.

    It always happens, always.
     
  16. Pavichokche

    Newcomer Pavichokche Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Messages:
    91
    Country:
    Canada
    yeah, I updated my firmware to 1.3, cuz it sort of forces you to (if you want to use the store) since I wanted the browser. and yeah, just like Miles said, you can only view what was taken with the dsi's camera, so I just took a picture of a pic from my computer and used it as my "desktop" (its also the desktop on my computer)! [​IMG]
     
  17. CheatingSoi

    Member CheatingSoi Graphic Designer

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,099
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States
    lol, that what i was thinkning of doing, but i kinda like all the random pics I have of me taken in the photochannel
     
  18. DMC23

    Newcomer DMC23 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Country:
    United States
    Delta, I never meant to imply that Nintendo could permanently block flash cards. As a PSP gamer, I have seen how easy it is to create custom firmwares once an exploit is discovered ... and there are always exploits. No, I was simply pointing out that rushing to find a way to block the AceKard 2i would have cost more in development time, could have lead to a buggy US/European launch, and could of scared away potential customers. So, I was relatively sure that the cards would work.
     
  19. poweroffice

    Newcomer poweroffice Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    Hi, i just got a dsi and im not sure which firmware version i have. I am able to access the shop, but when i go to the system properties, it tells me that there is a new update. Does anybody have any idea what that update is for and whether or not the AK2i works with the latest firmware?
     
  20. Crossing Guardia

    Newcomer Crossing Guardia Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    Read the first post.


    Also I think I'm gonna copy paste my post about region locking here as it won't let me move the thread...:

    "Ok people so I am seriously thinking of importing the ridiculously awesome Gyakuten Kenji DSi but I am aware that this means I will only be able to access the Japanese DSi store, which is of course completely useless to me.

    So, I'm asking: Is there any kind of way to unlock the DSi region coding as the moment? If not does it seem likely there will be quite soon?

    I realize the DSi is JUST out but if someone finds a way of accessing foreign DSi stores then could you please let me know?
    " [​IMG]



    I guess the post is a bit misinformed and I'll just have to wait for exploits (hopefully sooner rather than later) but still if anyone has thoughts....
     

Share This Page