Upgrading to an Ixtreme LT 2.0

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Hacking & Homebrew' started by Magus, Oct 31, 2011.

Oct 31, 2011

Upgrading to an Ixtreme LT 2.0 by Magus at 12:35 PM (1,008 Views / 0 Likes) 7 replies

  1. Magus
    OP

    Member Magus GBATEMP RPG MANIAC

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,258
    Country:
    hello... so here's the deal,i own a 360 with a somewhat old firmware (the one that came with dynasty warriors 7) and also a pretty old version of ixtreme... i was thinking to upgrade to ixtreme 2.0 to play xgd3 games but have no idea about what i should do... i know there are several guide on the web but i was thinking

    don't game that come with the latest firmware reflash your dvd drive? if that's so,if i wanted to install ixtreme 2.0 should i flash my drive,update my firmware and then flash my drive again?

    oh and two other questions...

    1) any guide you guys suggest in particular?
    2) what's the deal with xgd2 games? can i run those without 2.0?
     
  2. godsakes

    Member godsakes GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    346
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    1. if it's a liteon have a read at my guide http://gbatemp.net/topic/311203-need-help-updating-to-lt-20/page__view__findpost__p__3934992

    2. XGD3 is a larger 8.7GB disc format (and requires 2.0 to work) for the time being using imgburn (latest version) you can do a truncated burn which seems to work - future games might check for the missing padded data... also it's possible now do proper XGD3 burns but you have to use verbatim disc and use a certain liteon burner (iHAS124B) with custom firmware.
     
  3. Magus
    OP

    Member Magus GBATEMP RPG MANIAC

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,258
    Country:
    err but i was asking about XGD2 not XGD3
    oh and is there a way to know which drive i have without dismounting the whole thing?
     
  4. godsakes

    Member godsakes GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    346
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    XGD2 is the original (regular DL DVD) format used on the 360... so yes they work on pre-2.0 firmware but some games have AP checks (don't ask, just update to 2.0 and everything will work)

    perhaps the person who flashed your 360 could tell you
     
  5. Magus
    OP

    Member Magus GBATEMP RPG MANIAC

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,258
    Country:
    alas i bought a second hand 360 that was already flashed when i bought it

    and beside the idea was to do the flashing job myself... is it supposed to be hard?
     
  6. estebangh

    Newcomer estebangh Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    Colombia
    You must open your console in order to know exactly what version your drive is. Some drives are easier to flash than others and some require special tools. But the standard procedure is to extract keys, flash it to stock, update to latest dashboard and flash it again with LT.

    BTW, going straight from 1.9 to 2.0 would flag me?
     
  7. mudbone

    Newcomer mudbone Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Country:
    United States
    You can simply pop off your faceplate to see what kind of drive you have!

    There is a small window near the synch button that you can see two wires if you look in with good light.

    [​IMG]
     
  8. Magus
    OP

    Member Magus GBATEMP RPG MANIAC

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,258
    Country:
    oh gee thanks that's usefull to know
     

Share This Page